We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$269
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hermes Hotel(Kefalos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ionikos Hotel(Kefalos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
53
24
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
24
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreek nightminute walk from the beachcleaned every other daytraditional greek dancingsnack barself cateringsheets changed once a weektoilet rollrelaxing holidaycaptain johnssea frontgood sizeplenty of wardrobe spacethomas cookthe main roadfamily run apartmentsjd tours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Where do I start! Stayed in Kefalos with family and a friend of my sisters came with us, however as she booked late she couldn't stay at the same Hotel, this is how we found this place.

Every night we walked her back to her Apartment and ended up in the bar for a few drinks, the family that own it are lovely, it really is like living in someone else's house!

On the Wednesday they hold a Barbeque night, originally we were going to attend the one at our Hotel ( 10 Euro's each) however Yiannis Apartments charge 5 Euro's, we were going to book in for it then realised we wouldn't be back in time as we were going on an excursion, no problem they said, we will keep you some, turn up when you are ready, we did and it was a feast, I can eat trust me, I will never starve! The plates of food kept coming until the table was full, the food was exceptional, the owners daughter came out half way through and asked if we wanted more food, we simply had to decline as the volumes were so copious, it wasn't a case of quantity over quality though it was all superb. Seven people food and drink and not even 55 Euro's, wow that's good.

We spent most nights here after eating out and they were genuinely lovely people, the one night the mom asked where we were staying then offered to take us back to our Hotel in their car to save us walking!

On our last night at our Hotel we asked the owners if they could cook a little earlier so we could eat before catching our flight, they would but clearly didn't want to, to save rushing we asked the family at Yianis - no problem at all - should have asked them first - absolutely nothing was too much problem, food again was super, the owners came over at the end of the night to thank us all personally for visiting - this was proper family based hospitality.

My sister's friend found nothing to criticize over her accommodation,( she can be a little critical at times) , we had a good look around, it is basic accommodation, it is very clean though, this is not the place you would visit for luxury but as a nice place, friendly owners and exceptional service it ticks all the boxes for me.

Pool is small I would add.

The home made Honey which I brought home is divine, do try some!

Room Tip: Just add air con to any room as it is in the valley and gets hot, hot, hot!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark421748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Nice complex not to far away from the main road and beach. The family that run the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and basic. Air con a must at 6 euro a day as during the night the rooms were unbarable. Pool area very small and hard to get a sun bed, so headed to the beach every day. Kefalos is a very low key resort and suitable for people looking for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for nice views. Also if you are on a late flight home you can keep your room on. 20Euro intil 6pm and 35Euro up to 11pm which is ideal as most of the flights are during the night on the way back.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

the apartments are very very basic but clean and the family that run it are lovely they really couldnt do enough for us. It was very busy for the two weeks we were there which did mean little space at the pool and a bunfight for the sunbeds so we headed off to the beach most days for some peace away from the exceptionally noisy families we had the misfortune to coincide with. The resort itself, Kefalos, was a real let down, it's very run down and dilapidated. If you are looking for a lively little taverna to have a drink or bite to eat in the evenings this is not the place for you. Lots of bars and restaurants but all mostly empty and no atmosphere whatsoever. The locals all seem to blame it on the preference for the all inclusive resorts that have sprung up on the island and had a devastating effect on these smaller resorts. A shame as in its heyday it was probably lovely there. Not quite sure where Thomas Cook got their images of long golden beaches from as in the cold light of day they are far from golden, looking more like concrete dust than sand but once you negotiate the pebbles and sand to get in the sea it is nice and great for the windsurfers. The highlights of our hols were the two nights we spend in KosTown which was gorgeous so would recommend that to anyone. Overall we had an ok time but would never go back as we have seen much prettier and more interesting Greek Islands.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room as some of the ground floor rooms are surrounded by trees and not able to cahc the lovely breezes.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bristolchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our first package holiday and our first time in Greece. I'd looked at all the reviews and the photos before choosing and I agree with most of the previous reviews. We ( me and my 14 year old son and 10 year old daughter) liked the apartment, basic, but clean and had all you really needed, loved the pool, clean and tidy, loved the bar, relaxed and not too busy, liked the food, simple and unfussy, good service, thought yiannis' family were great, especially Tony who was very helpful and friendly. The BBQ on the Tuesday is a must, very good value and lots of fun!

It's a nice quiet location away from kefalos up a quiet road, but still only 10 minutes away from the beach or up to the village above.

Eating out was ok, large portions but not really gourmet, tourist driven menus rather than quality, seafood was good, as were the fresh vegetables.

Water park was fun, not the biggest variety of rides but it wasn't rammed so easy to get about.

Back to Yiannis, a lovely quiet place where they do take care of you, and you have all you really need for a quiet holiday.

The Thomas Cook rep, Rachel was great too, knowledgable and helpful. The only downside to the holiday was the return flight, four hours delay with not a TC rep in sight too keep us informed!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lol9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great apartments run by a great family, we stayed in a studio loads of cupboard & wardrobe space. Kitchen has full size kitchen, kettle, toaster and two rings. Sevvy makes wonderful breakfasts and snacks during the day. Pool lovely, loads of sunbeds and umbrellas, just a short stroll to the main strip in Kefalos. Barbeque on Tuesday great value for money 5 euros and then the family start Greek dancing making the guest join in. Kefalos beach is shingle but a short bus ride is Paradise Beach. Took bus to Kos town only 4.40 euros one way, it stops at Paradise Beach and Airport takes about an hour. Eat out every night using trip advisor restaurant listing no complaints. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews