We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly relaxing holiday in Kefalos/Kamari Bay, Kos.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anthoula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anthoula Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazingly relaxing holiday in Kefalos/Kamari Bay, Kos.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Arrived early afternoon after an early flight from Liverpool with Ryanair(excellent and on time!). Transfer via Green/Dedoconese travel from airport was bit long(1hr 20min as went to Kardemena 1st + Kefalos only 20mins from airport)but reasonable £14 each return, essential on a Sunday as local bus would have been almost a 4hrs wait after landing. When we arrived at Hotel we were told to go to pool bar to see Anthoula to check in. Taken to room and at first(due to 2hrs sleep :( ) was a bit disappointed with the room as had asked for a sea view and was told Hotel full but when I went out on balcony was vvv pleasantly surprised as mountain view and side sea view, phew! Room vvv nice Typically greek, pine beds, bedside tables and dressing table. Wardrobe HUGE! and lots of hangers. Bathroom small but adequate and clean. Handheld shower but water pressure v. powerful. Balcony big enough and amazing views. I did thank Anthoula for the room later. Went straight out to the pool which was large(especially compared to a lot of othesr in the resort) plenty of sun loungers and great views. V quiet and relaxing pool, great for catching up on any reading or just listening to music. Pool open at 10am but Anthoula v relaxed with this as asked her if I could use the pool for a before breakfast swim and was ok with this. Surrounding gardens kept well and clean. Behind hotel vines and farmland so peacefull and lovely sound of crickets and the odd goat bleating. Breakfast has been commented on over and over again, it is one large slice of cheese,roll,butter and jam. Ok not the best brekkie in the world but I'm not a breakfast person and to be honest when you have a kettle, fridge and crockery in room we had yoghurt and honey quite a few times but only so we could relax on the balcony and enjoy the amazing view, but when we did have breakfast I thoroughly enjoyed it(try putting the cheese and jam on the fantastic fresh roll, Yum!) To those people gave this hotel a poor review based on this, well go to and AI hotel in future and GET FAT!!!!! Great relief not to have greasy flabby bacon and crap coffee(Anthoulas coffee hot and strong!) and to have to queue with rude people and have to wait hours for a table which are usually poorly cleaned. This is Greece and would rather have room to frequent the many Tavernas available in both Kefalos and Kamari Bay.
With regards to the location, ok longish walk to resort(apx 1+1/4 miles) but I do hike and it made me appreciate my meal each night and partly walk it off on way home, takes apx 15mins stroll to beach road where the better Tavernas are(this is walking with my 77yr old mother so anyone younger stop moaning!) Best Tavernas to visit are 1.Captain Johns near "Asda" mini market great for traditional feel and decor, great local dishes my favourite sole florentina and occassionally give you soup or dip on the house. 2. Marias, brightly lit taverna opposite the sea vvv busy expect to wait for table but worth it quite cheap and huge portions(pork soulvaki enough for 2). 3.Stop Inn(up the side of Marias) v warm welcome and home cooked food, vine leaves and pumkin crocquets yum. 4. Santa Barbara, if nice night sit up stairs at front amazing sea views, huge portions and vvv good. Reccomend the local meatballs best ever had and the fried corgettes with grated garlic. V cheap and unusually the bottled wine is cheaper than the local carafe wine. Owner v welcoming and likes to come and chat or will ask you to stay for a drink after your meal to chat to you. 5. Cavos far end of beach, has own beach and loungers during the day(5 euros for 2 loungers and brolly + best beach and quietest in resort). Taverna small and friendly. Fish amazing best in resort(whole seabass/white snapper, chips, Greek salad and a glass of wine 8.50Euros) Quiet at night but worth walk. 6. Do try a Gyros while your here v good and cheap(avg 2.50e) Reccomend The Rainbow further along the beach left from Captain johns apx 5-10min walk from here. Best Gyros!! 7. Can't remember name but Taverna just before Rainbow has Saturday Greek night, Bazouki band and dancing.
Best bars Marias bar and Memories. Marias run by 2 crazy biker dudes, vv friendyl. 1st visited 3 years ago after late flight, no where open to eat so had crisps and cocktails and were made so welcome have been back last 3 holidays. Pina colada a must v stong but authentic, on arrival this year greeted with warm handshake and asked if we wanted a Pina colada as usual, what service!. Always waved when walked past and even if saw you out and about in resort. Memories run by husband and wife great long drinks cheap and cheerful. V friendly service. Both bars great for those football fans with only 1hrs sat delay and Memories music concerts esp if ABBA or Queen fan like me.
For Daytrips would reccomend booking locally with the the 2 agencies in the resort. Best one is by Katerinas car/bike rental on main road. Cheap trips good service. Fishing bbq trip 25e fish in bay, ham cheese sandwich on boat then 20min sail to bay for swim and bbq with wine, ouzo pork soulvlaki, greek salad and fish. The island of Nisyros is a must, sea a bit rough but done this the last 4 holidays and wouldn't miss it. Can visit volcano whilst there but just wandering around Mandraki(capital) with it's white washed houses with blue doors and shutters is fantastic. 17e for boat trip only but worth it. apx 1.5hr sail depending on sea condition and you have apx 4.5hrs.
Kos town worth a trip we usually just get local bus apx 4.4e each way. Advise comfy shoes as will do a lot of walking. Recomend the Castle with stunning views to Bodrum across sea. Walking around both Harbours. Blue train to Hypocrates Hospital, views fantastic and worth the visit considering built 3 thousand BC. Home to the first university and hospital. Blue train apx 5e return then you pay separate entry to the site.
Have enjoyed 4 holidays in a row here and would almost certainly be back soon. We usually stay in the Hermes but would certainly come back here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisam72853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    62
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent a week at the Anthoula in mid August and had a great time. Location-wise it was very quiet, the gardens and pool are really worthy of a 5 star establishment rather than the 2 star it actually is. Quite beautiful. Plenty of sunbeds and we only saw one couple bag two early in the morning and then disappear for the rest of the day on one occasion, the rest of the time there were spares throughout the day.

The pool was immaculate, clean and warm, and, situated next to a lovely outdoor cafe with covered seating areas, you really didn't need to go elsewhere. We were happy to support Anthoula by eating at her cafe as she works so hard with help from family - her delightful father serving in the cafe most days. Hotel has bar which is open until midnight and manned by, you guessed it, Anthoula. Boy that lady works hard.

The trek down to the beach should not be under estimated and the reviews I'd read that it was only a hop, skip and a jump down the hill, I've concluded must have been written by a mountain goat as it is quite a distance - especially in 40o heat. Yes, the steps opposite cut off a corner but you still have quite a way after that and that doesn't take account of the walk back up the hill. Definitely not a good spot if you're not very mobile. But all this is academic because Anthoula takes you down and picks you up in her minibus a few times a day which was perfect.

Yes, as has been said a thousand times, the breakfasts are basic but the bread was fabulous and we did plenty of face stuffing the rest of the day so it didn't bother us and was adequate (for us anyway). Food at the poolside cafe was lovely and not overly expensive - especially recommend Anthoula's Greek salad.

Now, in the interests of balance, the downsides. The beds were dreadful. I actually had a bruised hip on one side from sleeping on a huge, hard bump in the mattress. Pillows were likewise hard 'though one of mine did get changed during the week which helped. Sad to say except for travelling in The States, we have yet to find decent beds, especially iin Greece, no matter how much we're spending.

The other downside was the poor shower arrangement. A shower head that is loose in the shower tray so you either need a (very) friendly room mate who will hold it for you or go into DIY mode and find something to tie it up with - thank heavens for luggage straps we say! The tiny space means the shower curtain monster attacks at every opportunity (or at least did until I stopped using the curtain and just soaked the floor instead - drain in floor - but do make sure you move the loo roll first!)

The room was simply furnished but had a wonderful fridge which was vital in the heat for keeping drinks cool. You also have a kettle and some basic cutlery. A good sized wardrobe, with hangers, and a safe which cost us €15 for the week and meant you could lock up cash, passports etc. without fear of losing them on the beach. Air con at €35 for the week was vital for a good nights' sleep. Ours worked perfectly but we know not everyones did.

As to Kefalos (beach). A typical Greek resort, bigger than some reviews had me believe beforehand. There is such a choice of tavernas we lost count but you quickly find your favourites which in our case was the Sydney bar hands down. Its stylish and clean with excellent, friendly, staff and the food was fabulous - not necessarily 'authentic Greek' but very tasty nontheless. No more expensive than the other tavernas from what we could see and we found some Pinot Grigio which was a delight after the Greek (gut rot), sorry, 'wine'.

It is worth taking a trek down the beach away from the harbour as there are some lovely tavernas in that direction - couldn't recommend the Chinese/Indian/Thai combo down the beach as opening the menu we discovered the same Greek menu at the back as we'd enjoyed at lunchtime next door, and served by the same waitress, so authentic Asian it's not. The service there was dreadful too even though waitress was lovely - their Greek part was great so perhaps they should stick to what they know best and not try to be all things to all men.

Husband took a swim out to Kastri Island and it's gorgeous down at the Roman ruin though you won't find any tavernas that far down the beach so take your own food if you plan on staying for the day and don't fancy a walk for lunch. It takes a good brisk 20 minutes to trek from the central car park area to that end of the beach (ditto going in the other direction to the harbour end though that is on road/pavement).

Anyway thats about it. Recommend Anthoula Hotel? - definitely and we would stay again. Kefalos (beach)? - yes. Kefalos (old town)? - definitely not. (OK here goes, I'll try to be charitable - a few tatty cafes with old Greek fellas sat outside on green plastic chairs chewing the cud. The fare is usually advertised on gaudy photo menus showing "full English breakfasts", burgers, hot dogs, chicken nuggets etc. Not our thing but may appeal to the parties with smaller mouths to feed. Not a pretty village/town with little to recommend except for a view).

Room Tip: I think all would be Ok though if you don't have air con and sleep with windows open, road side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsBH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked the hotel because we wanted a budget holiday, in a quiet resort, in a clean hotel & one with a great pool for the children. Which is exactly what we got!

Some of the negative reviews appear rather harsh since this is a 2 star hotel & if you want more amenities, a better breakfast etc you have to pay more!! Really if you're used to toast, coffee & juice in the morning then the breakfast is ample! However, you can buy a cook breakfast if required.

Anthoula and her family are wonderful, really friendly, and go out of their way to be helpful. In fact all the staff do. We arrived at 10.30 pm and on request Anthoula happily provided food, from the pool bar menu. All which we can recommend!

The location is wonderful in the mountains, with a much needed breeze on most days. We easily either walked to the old town or to the beach in the evenings (the hotel does have a free bus to the beach). Agree with the positive comments re Santa Barbara and the Memory cafe. Would also recommend Aphrodite (excellent local dishes) and Sydney.

We only did one trip to Nisyros since we really came for a pool to relax by & keep the children amused. The pool is fab, quiet with plenty of sun lounges & a lovely bar area.

We met several people coming back for 2nd visits and would happily do the same.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSMJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is set up high on the mountain side, our room 25 at the front had a lovely view of the bay and sea below. 3 of us- mum and two teens were a little squeezed in their but didn't spend anytime in it other than sleeping. The room had a fridge and kettle. Essential for keeping fruit and drinks cold. The beds and pillows were hard and once we mastered the air con (5 euros a day) we slept ok. The breakfast was disappointing and we skipped it after first day! Choosing to have something from pool bar at 11 when it opened.
All staff lovely and the whole hotel and grounds very clean and pretty.
Everything outside the room was lovely. The garden and pool really pretty and comfortable and inviting. Anthoula's shuttle back and forth from beach and hotel was a god send!
The beach - mostly shingle. I recommend beach swimming shoes. Water crystal clear with lots to see. Snorkles cheap enough and worth it. Lots of beds on the beach are free if you eat or drink in the restaurant they are in front off. And you can Swim to the reef or the little peacock island.
We ate out every night . Hotel bus takes you down at 7pm and back at 10pm.. so plenty of time.
We recommend Sydney bar and grill- Santa Barbara -captain johns - stamatia in that order. Avoid rainbow !
10 days was just enough. The boys didn't really have a huge amount to do. Good job they love the water! And it was very very hot every day.
Friends stayed at Athenoula down the road. Their room bigger but no fridge and pool set up no where near as pleasant!
We had a good time but glad to be back on a comfy bed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I booked this place on the back of reviews on here and got what I expected. Very nice, quite basic, family run hotel with a wonderful pool. The view from the breakfast terrace is stunning. This is a great base in Kefalos, set slightly up the hill. I don't know if it gets noisy by the beach at night, and didn't want to find out on this holiday. Anthoula was very welcoming, and we were given a studio, with a small kitchen, having booked just a room. This was a great bonus for us. There were some small niggles, these did not bother us enough to report them so the staff did not have the opportunity to rectify them, but given they were generally helpful and attentive i'm sure they would have tried. Our toilet seat was not attached to the loo, the hot water in the shower was gone by 7pm, and we could not get the free wifi in the lobby working. The only problem which did impact our stay was the fact that the beds are two singles pushed together, I had expected this from the reviews but usually this means 2 divans, which is not a problem. On our first holiday together, not being able to cuddle up to my partner properly was a bit miserable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just got back from a relaxing 2 week break, the resort is quiet and sleepy with a handful of restaurants/bars scattered all over the resort.
The hotel has a lovely clean pool but be warned despite the heat it is rather cold.
There is one cleaner for all the rooms who workes extremely hard and is very friendly.
I highly recommend the Memory Bar for cheap cocktails/beers the owners are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for room at the front of the hotel for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walsh9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Had a lovely relaxing 2 weeks at Anthoula hotel in Kefalos. Situation near the top of the hill with fabulous views.

Hotel was very clean and staff welcoming. Rooms are basic with fridge, tv, kettle and hairdryer. The cleaner came into the room on a daily basis and did a superb job (so much so we gave her a well-earned tip on departure). The pool bar serves snacks 11am-5pm which were good quality and reasonably priced.

We hired a car from Manolis Car Hire at €35.00 and they provided a child seat at no extra cost.

Took the boat tour to Nissyros to see the Volcano but felt it was overpriced for what it was.

A visit to Paradise Beach to see the bubbles is worthwhile but the sun beds there are €8 euros for two and if there are 3 in your party they will charge an additional €5 euros on top, but all the other beaches were charging €5 euros and let you have 3 beds for that price! No matter what time you get to any beach you can always find plenty of free sunbeds.

Recommend a visit to Empros Thermi, for the thermal springs the water gets to 40 degrees and is a fabulous experience but it does smell a bit.

Also if you vist Plaka to feed the peacocks (who will take food from your hand) remember to take some food for the many stray cats located in the picnic area and visit the turtles too who come right out of the water to eat.

A visit to Zia is a must, it’s a lovely village up in the mountains consisting of shops and restaurants with pronominal views.

The best restaurant we found to eat was Argo on the sea front and for very cheap drinks we recommend the Memory Bar also on the front. The best crêpes we found were at the Zenith Bar in the village.

If all your party want to each together at the same time then avoid Captain Jacks, they also can’t get the drink orders out prior to the last person in the party finishing their meal which is probably why it has a complaints book as you enter!

If you want a quiet, relaxing break then we recommend the Anthoula Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savage3no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthoula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthoula Hotel

Property: Anthoula Hotel
Address: Kefalos Area, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kefalos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anthoula Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anthoula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthoula Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing