We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anthoula Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Hermes Hotel(Kefalos)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kamari Bay Hotel(Kefalos)(Great Value!)
US$38
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zeus Hotel(Kefalos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ionikos Hotel(Kefalos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
77
68
20
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
68
20
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf wayher daughtersteep hillkefalos villagepool areaair conexotic plantsminibus servicehomemade lemonadewhite rollminibus runslovely terrace to sitfree minibuspool snackstea or coffeelinen changed twice a weekbread rolls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Arrived early afternoon after an early flight from Liverpool with Ryanair(excellent and on time!). Transfer via Green/Dedoconese travel from airport was bit long(1hr 20min as went to Kardemena 1st + Kefalos only 20mins from airport)but reasonable £14 each return, essential on a Sunday as local bus would have been almost a 4hrs wait after landing. When we arrived at Hotel we were told to go to pool bar to see Anthoula to check in. Taken to room and at first(due to 2hrs sleep :( ) was a bit disappointed with the room as had asked for a sea view and was told Hotel full but when I went out on balcony was vvv pleasantly surprised as mountain view and side sea view, phew! Room vvv nice Typically greek, pine beds, bedside tables and dressing table. Wardrobe HUGE! and lots of hangers. Bathroom small but adequate and clean. Handheld shower but water pressure v. powerful. Balcony big enough and amazing views. I did thank Anthoula for the room later. Went straight out to the pool which was large(especially compared to a lot of othesr in the resort) plenty of sun loungers and great views. V quiet and relaxing pool, great for catching up on any reading or just listening to music. Pool open at 10am but Anthoula v relaxed with this as asked her if I could use the pool for a before breakfast swim and was ok with this. Surrounding gardens kept well and clean. Behind hotel vines and farmland so peacefull and lovely sound of crickets and the odd goat bleating. Breakfast has been commented on over and over again, it is one large slice of cheese,roll,butter and jam. Ok not the best brekkie in the world but I'm not a breakfast person and to be honest when you have a kettle, fridge and crockery in room we had yoghurt and honey quite a few times but only so we could relax on the balcony and enjoy the amazing view, but when we did have breakfast I thoroughly enjoyed it(try putting the cheese and jam on the fantastic fresh roll, Yum!) To those people gave this hotel a poor review based on this, well go to and AI hotel in future and GET FAT!!!!! Great relief not to have greasy flabby bacon and crap coffee(Anthoulas coffee hot and strong!) and to have to queue with rude people and have to wait hours for a table which are usually poorly cleaned. This is Greece and would rather have room to frequent the many Tavernas available in both Kefalos and Kamari Bay.
With regards to the location, ok longish walk to resort(apx 1+1/4 miles) but I do hike and it made me appreciate my meal each night and partly walk it off on way home, takes apx 15mins stroll to beach road where the better Tavernas are(this is walking with my 77yr old mother so anyone younger stop moaning!) Best Tavernas to visit are 1.Captain Johns near "Asda" mini market great for traditional feel and decor, great local dishes my favourite sole florentina and occassionally give you soup or dip on the house. 2. Marias, brightly lit taverna opposite the sea vvv busy expect to wait for table but worth it quite cheap and huge portions(pork soulvaki enough for 2). 3.Stop Inn(up the side of Marias) v warm welcome and home cooked food, vine leaves and pumkin crocquets yum. 4. Santa Barbara, if nice night sit up stairs at front amazing sea views, huge portions and vvv good. Reccomend the local meatballs best ever had and the fried corgettes with grated garlic. V cheap and unusually the bottled wine is cheaper than the local carafe wine. Owner v welcoming and likes to come and chat or will ask you to stay for a drink after your meal to chat to you. 5. Cavos far end of beach, has own beach and loungers during the day(5 euros for 2 loungers and brolly + best beach and quietest in resort). Taverna small and friendly. Fish amazing best in resort(whole seabass/white snapper, chips, Greek salad and a glass of wine 8.50Euros) Quiet at night but worth walk. 6. Do try a Gyros while your here v good and cheap(avg 2.50e) Reccomend The Rainbow further along the beach left from Captain johns apx 5-10min walk from here. Best Gyros!! 7. Can't remember name but Taverna just before Rainbow has Saturday Greek night, Bazouki band and dancing.
Best bars Marias bar and Memories. Marias run by 2 crazy biker dudes, vv friendyl. 1st visited 3 years ago after late flight, no where open to eat so had crisps and cocktails and were made so welcome have been back last 3 holidays. Pina colada a must v stong but authentic, on arrival this year greeted with warm handshake and asked if we wanted a Pina colada as usual, what service!. Always waved when walked past and even if saw you out and about in resort. Memories run by husband and wife great long drinks cheap and cheerful. V friendly service. Both bars great for those football fans with only 1hrs sat delay and Memories music concerts esp if ABBA or Queen fan like me.
For Daytrips would reccomend booking locally with the the 2 agencies in the resort. Best one is by Katerinas car/bike rental on main road. Cheap trips good service. Fishing bbq trip 25e fish in bay, ham cheese sandwich on boat then 20min sail to bay for swim and bbq with wine, ouzo pork soulvlaki, greek salad and fish. The island of Nisyros is a must, sea a bit rough but done this the last 4 holidays and wouldn't miss it. Can visit volcano whilst there but just wandering around Mandraki(capital) with it's white washed houses with blue doors and shutters is fantastic. 17e for boat trip only but worth it. apx 1.5hr sail depending on sea condition and you have apx 4.5hrs.
Kos town worth a trip we usually just get local bus apx 4.4e each way. Advise comfy shoes as will do a lot of walking. Recomend the Castle with stunning views to Bodrum across sea. Walking around both Harbours. Blue train to Hypocrates Hospital, views fantastic and worth the visit considering built 3 thousand BC. Home to the first university and hospital. Blue train apx 5e return then you pay separate entry to the site.
Have enjoyed 4 holidays in a row here and would almost certainly be back soon. We usually stay in the Hermes but would certainly come back here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisam72853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent a week at the Anthoula in mid August and had a great time. Location-wise it was very quiet, the gardens and pool are really worthy of a 5 star establishment rather than the 2 star it actually is. Quite beautiful. Plenty of sunbeds and we only saw one couple bag two early in the morning and then disappear for the rest of the day on one occasion, the rest of the time there were spares throughout the day.

The pool was immaculate, clean and warm, and, situated next to a lovely outdoor cafe with covered seating areas, you really didn't need to go elsewhere. We were happy to support Anthoula by eating at her cafe as she works so hard with help from family - her delightful father serving in the cafe most days. Hotel has bar which is open until midnight and manned by, you guessed it, Anthoula. Boy that lady works hard.

The trek down to the beach should not be under estimated and the reviews I'd read that it was only a hop, skip and a jump down the hill, I've concluded must have been written by a mountain goat as it is quite a distance - especially in 40o heat. Yes, the steps opposite cut off a corner but you still have quite a way after that and that doesn't take account of the walk back up the hill. Definitely not a good spot if you're not very mobile. But all this is academic because Anthoula takes you down and picks you up in her minibus a few times a day which was perfect.

Yes, as has been said a thousand times, the breakfasts are basic but the bread was fabulous and we did plenty of face stuffing the rest of the day so it didn't bother us and was adequate (for us anyway). Food at the poolside cafe was lovely and not overly expensive - especially recommend Anthoula's Greek salad.

Now, in the interests of balance, the downsides. The beds were dreadful. I actually had a bruised hip on one side from sleeping on a huge, hard bump in the mattress. Pillows were likewise hard 'though one of mine did get changed during the week which helped. Sad to say except for travelling in The States, we have yet to find decent beds, especially iin Greece, no matter how much we're spending.

The other downside was the poor shower arrangement. A shower head that is loose in the shower tray so you either need a (very) friendly room mate who will hold it for you or go into DIY mode and find something to tie it up with - thank heavens for luggage straps we say! The tiny space means the shower curtain monster attacks at every opportunity (or at least did until I stopped using the curtain and just soaked the floor instead - drain in floor - but do make sure you move the loo roll first!)

The room was simply furnished but had a wonderful fridge which was vital in the heat for keeping drinks cool. You also have a kettle and some basic cutlery. A good sized wardrobe, with hangers, and a safe which cost us €15 for the week and meant you could lock up cash, passports etc. without fear of losing them on the beach. Air con at €35 for the week was vital for a good nights' sleep. Ours worked perfectly but we know not everyones did.

As to Kefalos (beach). A typical Greek resort, bigger than some reviews had me believe beforehand. There is such a choice of tavernas we lost count but you quickly find your favourites which in our case was the Sydney bar hands down. Its stylish and clean with excellent, friendly, staff and the food was fabulous - not necessarily 'authentic Greek' but very tasty nontheless. No more expensive than the other tavernas from what we could see and we found some Pinot Grigio which was a delight after the Greek (gut rot), sorry, 'wine'.

It is worth taking a trek down the beach away from the harbour as there are some lovely tavernas in that direction - couldn't recommend the Chinese/Indian/Thai combo down the beach as opening the menu we discovered the same Greek menu at the back as we'd enjoyed at lunchtime next door, and served by the same waitress, so authentic Asian it's not. The service there was dreadful too even though waitress was lovely - their Greek part was great so perhaps they should stick to what they know best and not try to be all things to all men.

Husband took a swim out to Kastri Island and it's gorgeous down at the Roman ruin though you won't find any tavernas that far down the beach so take your own food if you plan on staying for the day and don't fancy a walk for lunch. It takes a good brisk 20 minutes to trek from the central car park area to that end of the beach (ditto going in the other direction to the harbour end though that is on road/pavement).

Anyway thats about it. Recommend Anthoula Hotel? - definitely and we would stay again. Kefalos (beach)? - yes. Kefalos (old town)? - definitely not. (OK here goes, I'll try to be charitable - a few tatty cafes with old Greek fellas sat outside on green plastic chairs chewing the cud. The fare is usually advertised on gaudy photo menus showing "full English breakfasts", burgers, hot dogs, chicken nuggets etc. Not our thing but may appeal to the parties with smaller mouths to feed. Not a pretty village/town with little to recommend except for a view).

Room Tip: I think all would be Ok though if you don't have air con and sleep with windows open, road side might not be so quiet. Didnt bother us overlooking hill/car park.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsBH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked the hotel because we wanted a budget holiday, in a quiet resort, in a clean hotel & one with a great pool for the children. Which is exactly what we got!

Some of the negative reviews appear rather harsh since this is a 2 star hotel & if you want more amenities, a better breakfast etc you have to pay more!! Really if you're used to toast, coffee & juice in the morning then the breakfast is ample! However, you can buy a cook breakfast if required.

Anthoula and her family are wonderful, really friendly, and go out of their way to be helpful. In fact all the staff do. We arrived at 10.30 pm and on request Anthoula happily provided food, from the pool bar menu. All which we can recommend!

The location is wonderful in the mountains, with a much needed breeze on most days. We easily either walked to the old town or to the beach in the evenings (the hotel does have a free bus to the beach). Agree with the positive comments re Santa Barbara and the Memory cafe. Would also recommend Aphrodite (excellent local dishes) and Sydney.

We only did one trip to Nisyros since we really came for a pool to relax by & keep the children amused. The pool is fab, quiet with plenty of sun lounges & a lovely bar area.

We met several people coming back for 2nd visits and would happily do the same.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSMJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is set up high on the mountain side, our room 25 at the front had a lovely view of the bay and sea below. 3 of us- mum and two teens were a little squeezed in their but didn't spend anytime in it other than sleeping. The room had a fridge and kettle. Essential for keeping fruit and drinks cold. The beds and pillows were hard and once we mastered the air con (5 euros a day) we slept ok. The breakfast was disappointing and we skipped it after first day! Choosing to have something from pool bar at 11 when it opened.
All staff lovely and the whole hotel and grounds very clean and pretty.
Everything outside the room was lovely. The garden and pool really pretty and comfortable and inviting. Anthoula's shuttle back and forth from beach and hotel was a god send!
The beach - mostly shingle. I recommend beach swimming shoes. Water crystal clear with lots to see. Snorkles cheap enough and worth it. Lots of beds on the beach are free if you eat or drink in the restaurant they are in front off. And you can Swim to the reef or the little peacock island.
We ate out every night . Hotel bus takes you down at 7pm and back at 10pm.. so plenty of time.
We recommend Sydney bar and grill- Santa Barbara -captain johns - stamatia in that order. Avoid rainbow !
10 days was just enough. The boys didn't really have a huge amount to do. Good job they love the water! And it was very very hot every day.
Friends stayed at Athenoula down the road. Their room bigger but no fridge and pool set up no where near as pleasant!
We had a good time but glad to be back on a comfy bed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I booked this place on the back of reviews on here and got what I expected. Very nice, quite basic, family run hotel with a wonderful pool. The view from the breakfast terrace is stunning. This is a great base in Kefalos, set slightly up the hill. I don't know if it gets noisy by the beach at night, and didn't want to find out on this holiday. Anthoula was very welcoming, and we were given a studio, with a small kitchen, having booked just a room. This was a great bonus for us. There were some small niggles, these did not bother us enough to report them so the staff did not have the opportunity to rectify them, but given they were generally helpful and attentive i'm sure they would have tried. Our toilet seat was not attached to the loo, the hot water in the shower was gone by 7pm, and we could not get the free wifi in the lobby working. The only problem which did impact our stay was the fact that the beds are two singles pushed together, I had expected this from the reviews but usually this means 2 divans, which is not a problem. On our first holiday together, not being able to cuddle up to my partner properly was a bit miserable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews