We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view from Anthoula ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anthoula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anthoula Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great view from Anthoula ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice hotel on a hill, between Kamari and Kefalos.
It's a quiet place, bars and restaurants all in the above mentioned Kamari (down 500 m) and Kefalos (up at 500 m).
For the lazy and tired people , free hotel microbus to Kamari and back
on schedule from 10:00 am to 10:00 pm.
Great and always clean big pool and a snack bar all day .
Modest, but comfortable rooms with shower - toilets, refrigerator, air conditioning (extra charge), hair dryer, TV and wi-fi near the reception.
Standard breakfast: coffee or tea (with milk), a large fresh bun, butter, jam, cheese .
Near the hotel there is a bus stop (handy for trips around the island).
Recommend for those, who like a quiet holiday without noise .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marius Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    62
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I went on holiday here with my sister last summer. The hotel was great value, with everything you would need including a swimming pool, a bar and air conditioning in the room. Anthoula was also well mantained with a cleaner coming to visit the room everyday to make the beds and put on fresh sheets.

The hotel is located in between Kefalos village and the beachfront, which the means the atmosphere is very relaxed and peaceful. The beachfront isn't very far away, you can walk there within 10-15 minutes but it is quite a hill to get back up to the hotel! If you don't fancy the walk Anthoula kindly puts on a shuttle bus that goes to and from the beachfront about 3 to 4 times a day. The view from the hotel is superb, as you get a panoramic view of the beachfront and the surrounding hills on Kos. The village of Kefalos is also only a short walk and if you fancy something different than the beach it is definitely worth a visit.

The only disapointing thing about the Anthoula hotel was the breakfast which consisted of a stale bread roll and an instant coffee. Overall I would definitley recommend the Anthoula to anyone who is looking for a high quality budget hotel. It was a pleasure staying there thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

spent 2 weeks here early September with my wife both mid fifties ok size bedroom with usual greek shower problems water on floor curtain sticking to you but sorted it with 3 days to go! Pool /snack bar area excellent great for proper swim and very peaceful Breakfast very basic but hey you don't really pay for it so no complaints Anthoula runs a mini bus a few times a day down a quite steep hill to beach area but didn't use preferring to walk the 79 steps up and down every day{no i"m not right but its supposed to do you good} Enjoyed Kefalos so chilled and loads of good restaraunts tried 9 different and all good Also used local bus to kos town{a must see} and Mastechari nice village and great beach where we took ferry to Kalymnos island well worth seeing All in all great holiday in more than decent hotel and resort Well done

Room Tip: front rooms fantastic view of kefalos and sea although other rooms good mountain /countryside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We can only continue to praise Anthoula and her family for being such great hosts during our stay, we had two weeks end of June and this week in Sept was as delightful as all the other occasions when visiting KOS.

Such a relaxing holiday which Anthoula always contributes to, not sure how she manages to run the hotel, meet and greet, run her bus service down to Kefalos so many times a day, run the excellent poolside restaurant throughout the day and still have a smile on her face when it comes to late evening - Fantastic Lady

We are intending to have a further two weeks in June next year with Anthoula - she really does deserve a 3* rating, but personally we would say 5* is more like it for the warmth of welcome and the fact that Anthoula her Mother and Anastasia her daughter, Dimitris her Son plus her Father and Husband cannot do enough for you!

Thank you Anthoula, we look forward to seeing you in June 2014

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob_Caz_2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in hotel one week. It is on the hill 20 min from the stone beach, so fourth day we felt quite tired from climbing. Hotel bus takes visitors only till car rent, so it is quite close to hotel and it is still 15 min walking. Sand beach is about 30 min away, but it is not deep there.
Not comfortable was that after 7 PM hot water was missing!

Also hotel is situated near the main road, in the nights it was noisy because of scooters!
Breakfast was very simple and every day the same! (1 bun, 1 small butter/jam pack, tea/coffee, and about 100 ml juice from juice powder! Breakfast not worth 6 Eur!) Pancakes, omelette was on extra charge. Coffee was made from instant coffee packs like Nescafe. One day we ordered black coffee, but got coffee with milk, and it was problem for Ms Anthoula to replace it!!

Despite it, hotel was very clean, comfortable, room had small fridge, balcony with table and chairs, towels, kettle. it was really nice view of mountains and sea from the balcony! Also stone beach was beautiful, water crystal clean.

In general Kefalos is very calm place, with not much to see and visit, restaurants offered greek cuisine quality is very poor! we have found only few places with real good greek food and not usual french fries, pasta or soups from Knorr instant soups packs..

To sum up, Hotel is really worth 3*! it is recomemended for budget travellers, families, and people who like calm places.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Anthoula seems to run the place nearly single handed, she is amazing. Very welcoming and friendly and helped with my case on arrival, didn't take that long from the airport, 30 mins. A couple of problems during the week, which were fixed immediately or the next day (Cracked Toilet seat, broken hairdryer (I was able to borrow one until this was replaced), sticky door unable to close my first night, the latch mechanism at the top was stuck, but if you climb on the stool you can push this back down to resolve the issue. The cleaner showed me the following morning. This only happened a couple of times throughout my week stay.

Rooms are brilliant, fridge and kettle and bathroom of a good standard. Cleaner lady came either every day or every other day, cannot fault this one bit. Rooms were immaculate. Aircon reasonable $45 for 1 week and came in handy, safe deposit $5. Ample storage for clothes and plenty of plugs in the rooms. The beds were very hard for me, so struggled on that front, even putting a blanket underneath.

Reception doesn't always seem to be manned, so sometimes had to wait a while to come back to find someone, but not a problem. You can only get WiFi from the reception (nothing in the rooms or pool area), but this only forces you to relax more. It did not find this an inconvenience much at all.

Breakfast was a cheese and Jam Cob, fruit squash and tea/coffee, I saw this before I went and was a little skeptical, but I did really enjoy it. You can order omelette or other breakfast, but this is not advertised so you can see this clearly. The Ham / Cheese and Mushroom Omlette I had from the Pool Bar was really tasty.

Pool area very clean and spacious, some snacks and drinks available. Frappe (Iced Coffee) is worth trying, they are delicious.

Views from all rooms are really spectacular, I had one overlooking the rear, mountains and trees. The room was quiet and got the sun in the afternoon / evening. The front of the hotel would get the sun in the morning and would overlook Kefalos Bay.

Anthoula also puts on a courtesy bus down the hill and back 4 times a day (10.30, 12, 16.30 an 22.00 - it is very handy especially for those who cannot manage the steps / hill 15 mins down to the Kefalos and 25 mins on the way back up, a well deserved cold Mythos on my return was most welcome $2.50 a can. Hiring a car is also a good alternative, car park is a good size. (Dimitris Car Hire $35 1 day, $60 2 days fully comp. They will pick you up and drop you off too. If you want a Jeep, order in advance or as soon as you get there to avoid disappointment).

Afternoon checkout, courtesy shower room and toilets are available so I found I didn't need to have the room any later than the checkout at 12.

Overall a very quiet and a little out of the way hotel, which was very peaceful and relaxing. You did not get bothered at all and nothing was too much trouble.

I would definitely recommend this Hotel, and it should definitely be more than a 2* rating.
Thanks for a great time :-)

Room Tip: Front of hotel get the sunrise, rear the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangashaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Arrived early afternoon after an early flight from Liverpool with Ryanair(excellent and on time!). Transfer via Green/Dedoconese travel from airport was bit long(1hr 20min as went to Kardemena 1st + Kefalos only 20mins from airport)but reasonable £14 each return, essential on a Sunday as local bus would have been almost a 4hrs wait after landing. When we arrived at Hotel we were told to go to pool bar to see Anthoula to check in. Taken to room and at first(due to 2hrs sleep :( ) was a bit disappointed with the room as had asked for a sea view and was told Hotel full but when I went out on balcony was vvv pleasantly surprised as mountain view and side sea view, phew! Room vvv nice Typically greek, pine beds, bedside tables and dressing table. Wardrobe HUGE! and lots of hangers. Bathroom small but adequate and clean. Handheld shower but water pressure v. powerful. Balcony big enough and amazing views. I did thank Anthoula for the room later. Went straight out to the pool which was large(especially compared to a lot of othesr in the resort) plenty of sun loungers and great views. V quiet and relaxing pool, great for catching up on any reading or just listening to music. Pool open at 10am but Anthoula v relaxed with this as asked her if I could use the pool for a before breakfast swim and was ok with this. Surrounding gardens kept well and clean. Behind hotel vines and farmland so peacefull and lovely sound of crickets and the odd goat bleating. Breakfast has been commented on over and over again, it is one large slice of cheese,roll,butter and jam. Ok not the best brekkie in the world but I'm not a breakfast person and to be honest when you have a kettle, fridge and crockery in room we had yoghurt and honey quite a few times but only so we could relax on the balcony and enjoy the amazing view, but when we did have breakfast I thoroughly enjoyed it(try putting the cheese and jam on the fantastic fresh roll, Yum!) To those people gave this hotel a poor review based on this, well go to and AI hotel in future and GET FAT!!!!! Great relief not to have greasy flabby bacon and crap coffee(Anthoulas coffee hot and strong!) and to have to queue with rude people and have to wait hours for a table which are usually poorly cleaned. This is Greece and would rather have room to frequent the many Tavernas available in both Kefalos and Kamari Bay.
With regards to the location, ok longish walk to resort(apx 1+1/4 miles) but I do hike and it made me appreciate my meal each night and partly walk it off on way home, takes apx 15mins stroll to beach road where the better Tavernas are(this is walking with my 77yr old mother so anyone younger stop moaning!) Best Tavernas to visit are 1.Captain Johns near "Asda" mini market great for traditional feel and decor, great local dishes my favourite sole florentina and occassionally give you soup or dip on the house. 2. Marias, brightly lit taverna opposite the sea vvv busy expect to wait for table but worth it quite cheap and huge portions(pork soulvaki enough for 2). 3.Stop Inn(up the side of Marias) v warm welcome and home cooked food, vine leaves and pumkin crocquets yum. 4. Santa Barbara, if nice night sit up stairs at front amazing sea views, huge portions and vvv good. Reccomend the local meatballs best ever had and the fried corgettes with grated garlic. V cheap and unusually the bottled wine is cheaper than the local carafe wine. Owner v welcoming and likes to come and chat or will ask you to stay for a drink after your meal to chat to you. 5. Cavos far end of beach, has own beach and loungers during the day(5 euros for 2 loungers and brolly + best beach and quietest in resort). Taverna small and friendly. Fish amazing best in resort(whole seabass/white snapper, chips, Greek salad and a glass of wine 8.50Euros) Quiet at night but worth walk. 6. Do try a Gyros while your here v good and cheap(avg 2.50e) Reccomend The Rainbow further along the beach left from Captain johns apx 5-10min walk from here. Best Gyros!! 7. Can't remember name but Taverna just before Rainbow has Saturday Greek night, Bazouki band and dancing.
Best bars Marias bar and Memories. Marias run by 2 crazy biker dudes, vv friendyl. 1st visited 3 years ago after late flight, no where open to eat so had crisps and cocktails and were made so welcome have been back last 3 holidays. Pina colada a must v stong but authentic, on arrival this year greeted with warm handshake and asked if we wanted a Pina colada as usual, what service!. Always waved when walked past and even if saw you out and about in resort. Memories run by husband and wife great long drinks cheap and cheerful. V friendly service. Both bars great for those football fans with only 1hrs sat delay and Memories music concerts esp if ABBA or Queen fan like me.
For Daytrips would reccomend booking locally with the the 2 agencies in the resort. Best one is by Katerinas car/bike rental on main road. Cheap trips good service. Fishing bbq trip 25e fish in bay, ham cheese sandwich on boat then 20min sail to bay for swim and bbq with wine, ouzo pork soulvlaki, greek salad and fish. The island of Nisyros is a must, sea a bit rough but done this the last 4 holidays and wouldn't miss it. Can visit volcano whilst there but just wandering around Mandraki(capital) with it's white washed houses with blue doors and shutters is fantastic. 17e for boat trip only but worth it. apx 1.5hr sail depending on sea condition and you have apx 4.5hrs.
Kos town worth a trip we usually just get local bus apx 4.4e each way. Advise comfy shoes as will do a lot of walking. Recomend the Castle with stunning views to Bodrum across sea. Walking around both Harbours. Blue train to Hypocrates Hospital, views fantastic and worth the visit considering built 3 thousand BC. Home to the first university and hospital. Blue train apx 5e return then you pay separate entry to the site.
Have enjoyed 4 holidays in a row here and would almost certainly be back soon. We usually stay in the Hermes but would certainly come back here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisam72853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#10 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthoula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthoula Hotel

Property: Anthoula Hotel
Address: Kefalos Area, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kefalos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anthoula Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Anthoula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthoula Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing