We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place for Rest & Relaxation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kefalos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Katherina Apartments
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The place for Rest & Relaxation”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We travelled as a pair of couples and spent 2 weeks staying here. The apartments are family run by Katherina & her brother Antonio.

We had 2 self catering apartments next to each other facing the pool, which was ideal. The accommodation was basic but very clean. If you wanted anything additional the family were happy to help, I asked for an extra pillow and it was waiting on my bed when I got home that evening.

This was a perfect base for our holiday, as we spent most days lounging and recharging our batteries, in the evenings we were able to walk short distance to a few other restaurants and bars. We did hire a car for a few days, which I reccomend. Katherina & Antonio were happy to point out all the best places to visit and where to eat, you can't beat some local insider knowledge!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a very pleasant fortnight here, ideally positioned with a supermarket next door and only a short walk to more shops, bars, restaurants and the beach. Run by Katherina and her brother Antonio, the rooms are basic, nice size with en suite toilet with shower. Meals and drinks available at the pool bar, small but adequate pool with beds and parasols. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RuralRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Booked the Artemis (Katherina's sister apartments) on Saturday 15th Sept 2013 and flew the following day! We were concerned that it might not be up to scratch ....BUT WE WERE WRONG!

The accomodation was basic (2 x ring cooker, kettle and fridge. No toaster, hairdryer or T.V) as expected but was extremely clean and fresh. We had a first floor studio and suffered no problems what so ever. Antonios and Katherina (brother and sister - family run business) were so friendly and helpful that you could be forgiven in thinking that you had made friends with local people and that they were not running a business. The pool area, whilst small, was perfect for this size of complex and the location was ideal for the local beach although, there are better beaches a short distance away.

I would not, however, recommend this complex for children.

We were so pleased with what we found that we are trying to book for next year already. The Thomas Cook rep, Rachel (Rach), was as good as any rep we have dealt with in the past. Already looking forward to our trip next year.

Thanks to all for a great few days.

Pam n Trev Hockley

Room Tip: If possible, get a first floor studio as the views are limited on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The_Hockleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I (42 & 45) have just returned from a week at the Artemis and Katerina apartments in Kefalos, Kos for a week in late June 2013. This was our first visit to this resort and 15 years since visiting Kos. We booked this a late deal with Thomas Cook through NHS discounts for £530 for both of us with flights/ transfers. This was excellent value for the standard of the accommodation. We had a fantastic transfer landing at 7.15pm; we were at the apartments for 8.30pm - brilliant.

The Artemis apartments are clean and comfortable but do not have air-conditioning. We don't always buy it until temperatures hit the high 30's so this was not a problem. We hired a fan for 15 euros, but be aware that the fan created a drone that earplugs dealt with, which was fine for us. We acclimatised well and I enjoyed not having it in the end. Luckily we had shade on our balcony for breakfast and evening sun for a beer before going out. (The Katerina apartments do have air-conditioning for a charge) We were in 108 on the higher floor of the Artemis block and we asked for a high floor at time of booking. The apartment had a kettle, fridge and 2 electric rings. It was too warm for us to cook anything substantial but others in our row did. We took our own cereal. There wasn't a toaster but if you asked they were provided I heard other guests say. There was a safe for 10 euros and a late check out is 25 euros. The bathroom had a reasonable shower by Greek standards. Towels and linen were changed regularly. The pool area was absolutely spotless, we never saw one dead insect and the water was crystal clear all week. There were comfy padded mats for the loungers as well.
Almost all the guests were mature couples with many returning year after year. And this is no surprise. Antonio and Katerina, the brother and sister team who look after front of house were wonderful hosts and speak excellent English - even understanding our British sense of humour. They asked our names straight away and made us welcome - we never felt that there was a clique which can happen sometimes with places with returning guests. In fact their well priced, stylish bar was just right for a night cap each evening and a chat with other guests. They all gave us excellent tips and advice which was welcome as first time visitors. Their mom and dad were bobbing around but looking at previous reviews, they take more of a back seat these days. There is a supermarket next door which was sufficient for the basics but a little lacking in bakery/bread items we felt. Milk is 1.70 a litre, water 80c for a large and beer 80c a can. There is a bigger supermarket by the central bus stop, 5 mins away, if you want a better choice. You will need to buy extra loo roll if you run out. There is an excellent book swap room as well.
Kefalos is spread over a large bay but is busier to the right hand side. From the Artemis cross over down the side travel agency. Turn left and then right by Gosia and you are in the central bus stop area. Here you are roughly in the middle and popular beachside tavernas such as Argo, Captain Johns and Stamatia are infront of you. To the right is the more concentrated area for tavernas and bars including B52 which do genuine cocktails (some bars use syrup mixes so check). A 10 minute walk to the right will take you along what is almost a promenade and popular stroll to the tavernas Sebastian’s, Santa Barbara and the Golden Fleece, and numerous bars. This area was very atmospheric in the evening with a sunset over the hills behind and the moon over the water. Keep going and there is a small harbour.
To the left of the bus stop is the beach front walk towards the ruins at the other end of Kefalos. The tavernas are much more spread out. There is a hotel at the end, Ionkos, whose poolside/snack bar is open to the public, which we used and was lovely. There is a small village at the back of the resort on a hill which is a steep walk - Katerina recommends the bus up and walk back. You can see it from the Artemis There is a travel agent on the front doing very reasonably priced trips. Car hire is available for around 25 euros a day. There is a speedboat service to Paradise Beach – we didn’t go we heard mixed reviews.
We recommend the bus to Kos Town which is 4.40 euros each one way. It takes 50 mins and you stop at Mastahari. Kos town is stunning, very cosmopolitan and compact enough for a day. Take the land train round for 5 euros when you get there. Take a map if you can. We had homemade pizza, wine and water for 16 euros at a harbour restaurant Dionysus, so not expensive either unlike some Greek island capital towns. A local lady runs spotless public toilets in the centre for 50c.

This is was the only thing about Kefalos that was disappointing. The beach is almost all shingle and very stoney in parts. You will need something on your feet to get in and out. However half way through our holiday we discovered that one very small area next to the harbour is much sandier. It is marked “best beach in Kefalos" 5 euros for 2 loungers and a brolly. Try the taverna Faros near there on the headland point for lunch - very good. There are many sandier beaches nearby if you want to hire a car/quad. If you are using loungers on the beach there is a charge for them even though they look like they go with a taverna. We used the Rainbow Taverna ones and they were 5 euros for 2, even though bought drinks from them - you need to ask to be sure. Captain Johns and Bravo bar have signs saying they are free if you eat with them - but check is my advice.
This is one of the best value resorts for eating out we have been to in Greece and a big reason that many guests return. Not one meal cost more then 25 euros with 1 starter to share, bread, 2 huge main courses and ½ litre of wine. We were determined to eat a different restaurant each evening/lunch and we did. We tried Gosia, Stamatia, Captain Johns, Argo, Syrtaki, Kampos, Santa Barbara, Faro, Marias and Sebastian’s. Kampos was the best by far – their Kleftiko in pastry is not to be missed. We only had one bad meal at the Santa Barbara, avoid there in busy periods. It took an hour for our main and very average. Sebastian’s full English breakfast for 6.50 euros is the best I have ever had abroad and I’m not a fan usually but you must try one. Manos 24hr fast food next to the Artemis does great burgers and pitta gyros. Overall this is a resort for foodies who like a generous portion.
There were mosquitoes about and we saw some people with nasty bites. We usually get bitten but this year we followed the advice of the BBC programme Holidays Under Cover and used 50% Deet spray morning and evening and a plug-in in our room - and no bites, our first ever Greek holiday bite free.
Would we go back – yes definitely one day but only to the Artemis to revisit our wonderful hosts Katerina and Antonio – thanks for a great holiday.Mark and Vici

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vici W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at Artemis just behind Katherina's,although it was very late when we arrived Antonios met us & carried a case for us,I had requested a top floor,we were duly given this,room 110,I also need lots of pillows so I asked for 3 more which he promptly went for.
He told us which supermarket to go to that was still open(till midnight) so we could get water & other basics to see us through to the next day.He was most helpful.
We met Katherina & her mum the next day,lovely people.
Unfortunately we had a disagreement with the father(Nick) as it was the last 2 weeks of the season he seemed to be mooching about a lot finding jobs to do,he always seemed to be on his own roof(next to ours) or on ours,or painting the side of our apartment) I felt intimidated by him & afraid had a few harsh words as the noise he made was not acceptable,he didn't seem to like it & never spoke to us again the whole holiday.
I asked for a toaster which are not provided but the next day Katherina gave us a bag with a brand new toaster in it,so in that respect the family were really helpful & always smiling.
Good spacious apts,could do with a microwave,also a hair dryer but all in all good apts,decent location but the proximety to the road up to Kefalos village brought noise mainly from scooters & motor bikes.

Room Tip: room 110 top floor,good all round view with sun on balcony from morning to late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We had the pleasure to stay at Artemis studios,a modern spacious accommodation just behind Katherinas and found this property to be well equipped for a self catering holiday.There was a kettle,plenty of crockery and cutlery.The studio was spotlessly clean and towels and bedding were changed regularly during our two week stay.Artemis studios do not have air con (Katherinas do) but this time of year it is not needed.Fans can be hired from the owners when necessary.Sadly the rooms do not have a hairdryer so advisable to take a travel one with you.This is the second time we have stayed here (the only accommodation in Kefalos we have revisited) and we were not disappointed.There is a lovely pool area which is well kept with a pool bar for drinks and snacks.The location is ideal being close to shops,tavernas,the beach etc.We hired a car from Kefalos tours just across the road and highly recommended,to explore the island.Also,this year there was a land train as an alternative to the local bus for those who don't fancy a trek up to the hilltop village,which is well worth a visit.Would definately stay here again....it is a quiet,relaxing place.Enjoyed hearing the cockerels first thing and the goats bleating too.A real get away from it all place but close to everything too.

Room Tip: Lovely views of the old hilltop village from balcony which have most sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swanseajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Have been holidaying in Greece for over 30 years and our second time in Kefalos, so on arrival we knew what to expect from the resort. This was our first time at the Katherina Apartments. On Arrival we were greeted warmly by Katherina and shown to our room, by this time it was 2am and we discovered that out toilet was leaking water over the floor and into the bedroom. Katherina came and tried to fix the leak, but she needed some new parts for the cistern and so a temporary measure was put in place there and then. She told us that it would be fixed the next day, and so it was, very promptly.
Our room was located quite near to the reception/bar area and so there was some noise at night and into the small hours, but not really enough for it to be a problem. The room was ok, what you might call a "bog standard" Greek room, but it was cleaned and tidied regularly. As we were self catering, the room had a good kettle and a fridge with an array of cooking utensils. There was a room safe which could be hired at an extra cost.
The location is good as it is very near to the beach, supermarket and some great restaurants. There is a bus stop on the opposite side of the road to the apartments which has a daily service to Kos town and other locations.
Overall it was a good place to stay, the owners friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timazza123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.1 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kefalos
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
0.3 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katherina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katherina Apartments

Property: Katherina Apartments
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Kefalos
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Katherina Apartments Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing