We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2011/2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Village
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

we traveled here both in 2011 and 2012 same dates 28Th September so i am going to write my review comparing the 2 visits

the hotel itself is fantastic but in a remote location we did not mind this as we did not leave the resort although there is car hire avialible on my first visit i said to my wife we will never go anywhere else however on my second stay the hotel had lowered the standards

the main changes were the food in the agean restaurant

2011 the food was fantastic

2012 the food was substantially changed and was of lower quality and tastelesss and did not match up to 2011 stay needs improvement

you also need to walk round all the serving stations as different food is served on them

breakfast in the agean was always good and plenty of choice both years

2011 the alcoholic drinks were served with good measures

2012 the alcoholic drinks were weak and were all mixer unless you asked the bar staff to make them stronger which was done without question

2011 i was drinking long island ice tea mixed with a shot of each gin,vodka,triplesec,bacardi,tacila a dash of soda and coke

2012 for some reason the hotel or bar staff had decided to mix all the ingredients in one bottle then put one measure in a glass and top up with all mixer soda and coke making this not the drink i wanted however i did ask the barman to make it as it should be a shot of each and he did no problem

over all the short measures in 2012 were done to save costs

2011 the pancake and waffle bar food was made ot order and was good

2012 the staff precooked and stored them both and were warmed up to order not good

food and snacks during the day were plentiful but still better in 2011

the Chinese restaurant fantastic best i have ever had anywhere both trips

the Italian restaurant

2011 stay the cold mixed meats starter was fantastic about 5 or 6 different cold cuts and cheese

2012 the cold cuts starter had changed to a dried up piece of parma ham and 3 slices of low quality salami and cheese i was really disappointed as i had looked forward to have this

pasta dishes were good both years

mains were ok chicken was a bit dry and thin both years

pizza was good both years

deserts were good both years

the rooms were great comfortable and clean best i have stayed in

all staff were great

2011 the entertainment on a night was good and was a mixture of the reps and entertainment brought in and ended around midnight

2012 the entertainment on a night was good but ended early 10.30pm and was just the reps

overall i would go again but i would eat at the Chinese and Italians more than once to avoid the agean

Room Tip: i stayed in block 5 which i found to be central to all i did not find block 5 noisy as others did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Wow just back from Blue Lagoon Village and we had a brilliant holiday, we all agreed best resort we,d ever been too! We were a group of 5 in 2 rooms which included a 3yr old. From the speedy transfer to speedy departure we loved it.
We had a junior suite and a twin room, the first suite was on 2 floors and had the wow factor with 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies and amazing sea view but the sitting room which has the sofa bed had the door enterance and we just couldn't trust our 3 yr old not to walk out, I am sure others wouldn't, find this a problem but we couldn't relax and requested a move. The reception staff and Thomson were great and offered a choice of 2 suites on 1 floor and even sent a porter to escort me around in a buggy to see the new rooms and we moved the next morning. Excellent service.

We spent most days at adventure land or the kids pool next to activity pool, yes pools are cold but they cool you down! The splash pools are brilliant for little ones and the big slides are great for big kids! We caught a buggy over each time until we realised short cut on beach but handy on buggy as we were blocks 1000 and 2000 which are lovely and quiet but furthest from main areas.

The food was excellent, we did 4 nights at Aegon and really enjoyed it with lots of food to choose from and it tasted really good not bland like most buffet style places. We also did Chinese, Italian, BBQ and first date and all were lovely but the first date was exceptional and Chinese close behind! Breakfast and lunches also very good choice, the waffles and crepe place has made my jeans very tight but man they were good!!

We found all the staff in all areas extremely helpful and you get to know your waitresses and room maid and makes it extra special when they fuss over your kids. We couldn't fault them at it and tipped them all as very well deserved. I found it amazing being all inclusive and them always asking can I get you anything on the drinks front!!

We used kids club and they seemed fine but our kid would only go the once! The entertainment team did a great job at disco and we never stayed after disco. They only thing was the deco was so loud for little ones and I really didn't understand why, as they are pretty much standing at speakers. . . Maybe reduce volume and cheer up the ones in rooms near by and save the wee ones going deaf. . .. . I spoke to entertainment team including Keith and found him very friendly, we did however join in activities so they got to know our child.

As there is a beach, waterpark, loads of pools, watersports, spa, there's something different to do each day. Treat yourself to the express extreme ( foot bath, hot stone massage, facial and a cuppa tea) absolutely amazing!!!

Complex was massive and never felt busy, we,ve never gone back to same place before but we are looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: We liked block 1000 as away from main area and if you book a junior suite most are on 2 floors so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teritoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The resort wasn't far from a perfect resort in our opinion; very spacious, and set in an area of the island not used by other holiday makers which made it unique.

First opinions were very promising as we made our way down the mountain road towards the resort which is set in a large secluded bay. On arrival the resort staff couldn't have been more helpful with check in and baggage transfer to the room. The staff use golf buggies to get about which is a nice touch and always happy to offer a lift whenever you need one. Can come in handy as the place is massive.
A nice surprise when we got to the room was the inclusion of a hot tub jacuzzi on the balcony which we didnt ask for; everyone loves a free upgrade! This was utilised every evening before dinner; very welcome indeed. The room was spacious and well equipped. We had an issue with a defective air conditioner which was rectified within minutes.

Food around the resort was plentiful in various restaurants dotted around the complex. The main 'Aegean' buffet restaurant had three areas dishing out anything and everything which was tasty enough. I must make note of one particular waiter, Ivan serving at the adult end of the seating areas, who was always extremely polite, enthusiastic and appeared to enjoy getting to know his customers. A stand-out member of staff.
There are four other a la carte evening restaurants included; BBQ, gourmet 'First Date', Chinese and Italian which were all excellent in their own right. We loved the BBQ where you cooked your own dinner on your own BBQs.

There are different pools for different needs ie. childrens area, relax, adults only etc. We tended to favour the relax pool which joined with the beach due to it's size (huge) and lack of noise. All the pools were well kept, clean and had plenty of sunbeds to go round. Very attractive lighting at night too.
The beach attached the hotel is very close, just the other side of the relax pool and had enough sunbeds to go round. Theres also a 'surf shack' for all your water sporting needs.

The bars were ok, there are two cocktail bars however the (all-incl) cocktail list wasnt the greatest but they made whatever you wanted wih the local spirits. Named brands were at additional cost.

The evening entertainment was good, the five entertainers were of a good standard and seemed to enjoy themselves even after having done the same thing every week for 6 months! The staging area is quite impressive and with a well stocked bar and excellent serving staff who always kept you well watered.

The staff around the hotel were exceptional, very friendly and always hard at work. Never stopped saying 'Hello' even if you'd already just seen them moments before. The serving girls at the entertainment bar and chaps at the cocktail bar could not have been any better; always ensured you had a refill before the last drink was finished.

All in all, a fantastic resort, oustanding staff and as already mentioned, what negatives existed were so minor that they barely need mentioning. We've never been to the same resort twice however we're already planning a return. Excellent, thoroughly recommended for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view tended to be closer to the entertainment stage. We chose a garden view which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herts_Finest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Hotel is beautiful , in a lovely stunning setting. The bar staff are very friendly and go out of their way to please . The cleaners also are very friendly and efficient.
Food is plentiful, quite a lot of variety and there was always something for my two extremely fussy children to choose from. I would recommend the hotel.

however......,the Thomson reps let it down. Keith and Pete I think they were called. Both were unprofessional in that they would ignore some of the holiday makers but would put all their efforts into others which we thought was unfair especially for the children. A few other guests that we spoke to said that they felt victimised by Keith and Pete and overheard them talking about them in a horrible way a few times.

So we would recommend the hotel but not thompsons.

Room Tip: Keep away from the entertainment area, it can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Clamityjane36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My family and I were very dissapointed as the entertainment was terrible. Very poor infact and it was a shame as the hotel itself was lovely , the hotel staff cannot do enough for u but the two Thomson male entertainment staff were rude, extremely unprofessional, made nasty comments about some of the guests and made me and my family a little uncomfortable at times.
On the plus side though the children's club team were fabulous and I cannot fault them in anyway.
The shows in the evening are awful....very poor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blackpool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The hotel is very modern and well designed, except for the terrible acoustic planning. We got a nice room with a view to a nice lawn. After the flight and a night without sleeping, we planned a good night sleep. At 19:00 we started to hear very load music and found out that our room balcony is located 20 meters form the loudspeakers of the main hotel stage ! The sound was unbearable and was even magnified inside the room, although we closed all the windows and turned the AC on . We have 2 young children that couldn’t go to sleep until 23:15 when the show ended. We called the reception and demanded to move to another room, only the next day at 22:00 they found an evadible room and we moved, but still had to close all the windows in order to get some quiet. The show takes place every night, so we had our windows closed in the nights during all our stay…
The hotel designers did a wonderful job, so I can't explain the stupid idea of locating the central stage in the middle of a whole wing of the hotel, and even more stupid is to direct the loudspeakers to the room balconies and not to the sea !
Except for the acoustic problem, the hotel is very well maintained (you could even say that it is cleaned obsessively), the crew are very welcoming and ready to help, and the all included package gives you all the food you can eat, even though the food quality is not so good. The food in the restaurants dinners was better (Italian and grill house) . It’s a pity that in a Greek hotel you don’t see Greek food… The hotel is a real "village"- it is very big and there are a lot of facilities, so even though the hotel was full, you don't fill crowded.
Regarding the five star hotel- well… the little things sometime counts- we ran out of soap and shampoo the second night and we had to call for more- this is something that should be refilled when the room is cleaned and we don’t need to ask for it (even though they delivered it in 10 minutes), the same for the minibar- 3 bottles of water that were not replaced during our stay.
And last- the hotel is very isolated- you can't get anywhere without a car or a taxi. We rented a car form the car rental agency, located inside the hotel, but there is not much to see in the island- in 4 hour we drove from one side to the other and the sites are quite grim- abandoned restaurants and shops, dry landscape … the car rental has a strange policy of counting a day as something like 10 hours, not 24 hours (of course you pay a 24 hours rate…)
Overall - if you are looking for an authentic Greek hotel and a quiet evening in the veranda, this is not the place. If you want an all included hotel, as much as you can eat, night shows, activities for the kids and a very modern hotel- this is the place, but remember- no early sleeping…

Room Tip: Block 7000 and 5000 are very close to main stage so you have very loud noise in the nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kushkush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Hotel very clean tidy modern, and well maintained. Our room was a good size comfortable and with a very powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Food was varied, well cooked with a number of venues to choose including cooking your own. The beach was clean and whilst entering the sea was awkward due to stoney formations there were sandbags laid down to assist. Plenty of pools in the beach isn't your thing. Can't praise the staff enough, helpful, willing to engage in conversation, polite. Like the golf buggies that help to get you back to your room after a hard day sun bathing. Pretty much faultless really

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avensis_Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
7.6 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
497 reviews
17.4 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Village

Address: Xirokampos S.A., Blue Lagoon Village, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: £171 - £862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Village 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Village is a newly built luxurious village style complex with 366 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is in direct contact with the sandy beach offering magnificent views. It is located only 10 km from the centre of Kefalos, near Paradise Beach one of the most beautiful beaches of Kos, only 5 km from the airport and 30 km from Kos town, the capital of the island. The Blue Lagoon Village offers a vast variety of facilities like the Aegean Main restaurant with indoor and outdoor sections, the First Date restaurant with its romantic atmosphere (only for adults), the Thalassa Fish tavern, the Susshimi sushi restaurant and the Golden Sun Chinese restaurant offering you different tastes from all over the world. The Grill House is offering traditional Greek dishes, the Piazza Italian Restaurant is for traditional Italian meals, the Adventure Barbecue, where for grilling your own combination of different meats and finally the Gelateria where you can enjoy pancakes, waffles, sweets and ice-cream.You will have a hard job choosing where to have your drink: at the Shake & Mix Cocktail bar any time of the day, the Wet Pool bar, an impressive swim-up bar, at the Pool bar, at the Piazza Cocktail bar in the afternoon or at the Beach and Snack bar during the day. Our guests from all over the world will have the choice of a 3000 sq meters swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, a 1000 sq meters activity pool with a section for children, a children’s splash pool, a 1000 sq meters leisure Pool and an “Adults-Only” pool area. There is also the choice of the long, sandy beach with a variety of water sports. For children and adults, that still feel like children, we recommend the Adventure Land with ropes course, waterslides and water games.The fully equipped Vida Fit health club with its’ heated pools, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath is available to all our guests over 16 years of age. For those who wish to pamper themselves, the PURArelax Spa offers a wide range of treatments. For a unique shopping experience visit our various shops, ranging from a minimarket and a liquor shop to boutiques and gift shops.In order to provide the best possible accommodation to all of our valuable guests, we have created standard rooms with sea view and swim up pool (also in the “Adults-Only” area), family rooms as well as Junior suites and Executive suites with private pools. All rooms are provided with satellite TV, mini-fridge, and coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, telephone, safety deposit box free of charge, individual air conditioning units, hairdryer and amenities. The Blue Lagoon Village in total harmony with the picturesque landscape, open from May to October, provides comfort and warm hospitality that attracts tourists from all over the world. The abundance of natural beauties and the crystal clear waters make the hotel a paradise of tranquility, ideal for families and couples. For those who wish to enjoy all these and more Blue Lagoon Village is the answer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Lagoon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Village Hotel Kefalos
Blue Lagoon Village Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing