We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney Bar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kefalos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sydney Bar
Ranked #3 of 14 Kefalos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything you need!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just come back from a weeks stay and really hope to go back. Mariantha and Mike and staff speak fantastic English and nothing's any trouble. The place is immaculately clean, and the food is consistently outstanding. Mariantha will laugh if she reads this but you must try the home made chicken curry ( I had this 3 times), must have a steak, and must stay on a Sunday and have roast beef and Yorkshires. Breakfast is excellent too and is served at your table. Rooms are quite basic but air con works well and sheets and towels are changed every day. The view from the terrace is fab with only the road between you and the sea. A boat ride to Paradise Beach for the day is a must. Well stocked bar at reasonable prices, music to dance too at night although this is the only down side. It plays loud until 2 some nights and if you go t bed before this you need ear plugs. There are some great flats to stay in directly behind too with a large swimming pool called Kontessa. If you don't like music stay here but eat in Sydney. Hope this is useful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    7
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northants
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Fun friendly atmosphere
Amazing food
Lovely pool
Right opposite the beach
Lovely people very helpful.
Nice rooms very clean
Beautiful place
Feels like home eveytime I go. I go Every year and have for 11 years. Too much love for this place!! ♡♡♡♡

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovekefalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here many times during our stay. Always a different meal, always left us wanting more! Excellent food, and great prices! A very relaxing atmosphere as well. Also open late which is good for a few extra cocktails! And Sonia is lovely to :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leebobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Kefalos with family and friends, we stayed not far from Sydney's so visited most days/nights! The food is lovely with a quite a vast menu, the beer and cocktails are great too, some nights have entertainment/disco but on quieter nights just sitting looking over the bay is great too, when in kefalos this place must be on your list

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank volatile13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have been to Kefalos many times with family and friends and always return to Sydney Bar for it's wonderful staff, it's family friendly atmosphere and facilities, it's beautiful location and it's incredible kitchen. It is by far the best restaurant we have found in Kefalos offering a variety from fresh local food to food of a more British style, all very well presented and extremely delicious! Sydney bar is the perfect one-stop place to spend your holiday. It has pretty rooms with air conditioning and lovely views, a pool, pool and table tennis tables, two bar areas, a dance floor, indoor and outdoor seating as part of the restaurant and snack bar facility and evening entertainment. The staff are genuine and generous and have supplied us with the best holidays we've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSHE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shieds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have stayed at Sydney Bar for the past 7 years and have always had an excellent time, its in a prime location for the beach,bars and tavernas. I would recommend eating at Sydney as the food is top notch whether its breakfast lunch or evening meal the chef serves beautiful food and at reasonable prices.

Michael and Mariantha who run the hotel are very friendly and will do anything for you, you only need to ask. The pool area is lovely and the whole place is kept clean and tidy especially the apartments.

If you want a good holiday Kefalos is defiantly the place to go everyone is so friendly and welcoming hence why ive been going for so long.

Room Tip: I recommend a sea view room the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17louiseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We came away with another couple and luckily we found this brilliant restaurant on the second day of our holiday .
After eating here for lunch we decided to eat here again that night ,The food was to die for and the chefs cooked with real passion, you could tell they really cared how the food tasted and looked .all if the staff were attentive , kind and friendly and nothing we asked for was too much .we decided to eat at another restaurant down the road the next night and that was a BIG mistake as the quality of food was rushed and tasteless compared to Sydney's ... Most nights on our holiday we ate here and between the 4 of us we sampled most items on the menu. I'm not sure if I would want to stay in the rooms unless you didn't mind the music on to late but the live entertainment made the night all the more enjoyable !
Well done Sydney's bar you have managed to mix authentic Greek with a modern twist and we thoroughly enjoyed every meal and drink we had with you . : )

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.0 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Bay
Royal Bay
#2 of 14 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Albatross Apartments
Albatross Apartments
#9 of 47 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sacallis Inn Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Bar

Property: Sydney Bar
Address: Kefalos Bay, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kefalos
Also Known As:
Sydney Bar Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing