We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old man”
Review of Kamari Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kamari Bay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Reviewed 29 July 2012

apart from the mozzies have had the most amazing holiday at a good price. The staff were so friendly and helpful.Especially the old man in reception!!! Local Tavernas great value for money ,,, Captain John's especially!! Santa Barbara i would NOT recommend long wait and then meals didn't come together. Breakfast was boring a bread roll EVERY day but was edible..would go back and would go on my own

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Third time in Kefalos second at kamari bay hotel, all staff are friendly yanni just loves a euro but is ok! Can't understand so many people moaning, it's clean quiet and relaxing it is what it is! It may not be dove soap given free in the bathrooms but who cares enjoy ya holiday!! Lots of great bars and resteraunts in the bay our favourites being the memory bar and santa Barbara's resteraunt, met some nice people who will hopefully see there next year for a reunion you all know who you are! See ya next year Kefalos! Si and bex.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon1986est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just got back from Kefalos staying at Kamari Bay Hotel for 2 weeks Had a lovely time we were a bit apprehensive before going after reading some reviews but when we got there found the staff friendly Yannis the owner we found very helpfull and we often chattered with him and Irene at the reception also Tony the barman was very chatty. The hotel is clean and cleaned every day except a Sunday the only fault is they could do with having fridges in the room and the breakfast could be better. Overall we had a lovely holiday and would go back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

we were also changed by thomas cook to this hotel, thank goodness, it was clean, the pool was lovely, a nice bar snack if you felt peckish, the staff were great, Tony at the bar was a real laugh always giving us updates on news back at home especially football. . John who manned the reception area was helpful and friendly if you needed to know how to get somewhere he would know, we made losts of friends while there and we would meet up at the bar for drinks before heading of for a meal at one of the many restaurants along the bay, then meet up again back at the bar for night caps, we hired mopeds and quad bikes and a car to see the island and it was well worth is there are fantastic beaches, quaint villages, and lost of fantastic scenery, we are going back next year with all the family for my brothers wedding see you soon Karen & John

Room Tip: could do with a fridge and tea facilitys and something thats different for breakfast apart from brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baldandsexy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just returned from kamari bay on 14//7/12 kefalos ok but wont be goin back to kamari bay in a hurry first time done b & b never again no kettle fridge or tv i know you dont go on hols to watch tv but 5 minutes on morning not out the way . breakfast was bread bun & butter 4 days toast 2 days rooms average shower terriblle towels like sandpaper . pool was full of dead skin when u looked closely filters didnt seem to be working (dont know if anyone else noticed) no room to store cases so you virtually forced to pay to keep room on late (is this a security issue ?)bar very cliche if you not in with thereturning ones (why would you want to return ??????)weather was brilliant hot hot hot. met some nice people though. memory bar just down road was decent €1.50 for bottled beer wish was still there only for the weather though
the durhamers

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilclare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

me and my wife stayed at this hotel for a week the hotel not bad breakfast is not much good if you only want a drink of tea or coffee orange juice and a bread roll nearly every other morning towels in your room very rough if you like that cleaners dont do a good job in cleaning the rooms they are only in 2 or 3 minutes dont change the bedding so often we meet a few nice people there but there were others who go here every year and just think they own the place and look down at you try and be nice to them but no response pool area not clean enough never seen anyone wash it down all the time i was there and my wife got bite very badly had to go to the chemist in the village in the hills to get some creme for her bites lots of people were the same dont get me wrong kefalos is a lovely place we wont be back same really

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thescottishwiganers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Got back last week from staying at the Kamari Bay and the temperature was about 32C in the day and 25-27C at night with a light breeze.

I went with an open mind as it was our first budget holiday in about 15 years and I was getting worried when I saw some of the other hotels on the drop off from the airport. I was pleasantly surprised after reading comments made on here about the owner, John who was nothing but polite and helpful. Our room was basic and there was no room for manoeuvre in the shower compartment but it did the job. However both my husband and I got badly bitten by mosquitoes so I cannot stress enough the need from repellent and bites creams. A cafe owner in Kefalos Village noticed our bites and said that we needed to have air conditioning as it would help which it did however you do have to pay an extra 6 euros per day for this. Also as previously stated on here the breakfasts are very different to what you get in the UK but there are several cafes nearby that serve a full English Breakfast for under 5 euros. The pool area was very clean and the pool bar provided cheap lunch time snacks, hot and cold drinks and ice creams.

We also caught the local bus to Kos Town which cost 4.40 euros each way and it was alot cheaper than going on an organised trip. Check the timetable in the hotel's reception.

We ate out every evening at Sydney's near the harbour as the food and the service was of a very high standard and could not be faulted with their extensive range of freshly made food. On average we spent 30-35 euros per night on a main meal, dessert and drinks for two people.

Some people have commmented on the noise level in the bar and I have to admit that our room was above the bar and some nights it did get a bit loud but we just shut the door at the top of the stairs.

We paid £250 each for this holiday which taking everything into consideration was good value for money and was very relaxing apart from the mosquito bites!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lollytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
174 reviews
4.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamari Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamari Bay Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range: £19 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamari Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamari Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kamari Bay
Kamari Bay Kefalos
Kamari Bay Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing