We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent week”
Review of Kamari Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kamari Bay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Before the holiday we looked on this site and were slightly worried after reading peoples reviews. We didnt know if people were being picky or if the hotel was as bad as it seems! well i can say now people are obviously too picky about things. i dont know if people have been at the wrong hotel, as me(21) an my girlfreind(23) (normal,not stuck up people) had a great time here. staff are very freindly an helpfull and would do anything too help you. rooms are basic without fridge but you dont go on holiday to sit in your room. the people that go are normaly returning from being before but after a day or two they make you feel part of the family.(as long as you dont avoid them or be ignorant to them).we go on holiday to relax not for partying an the bar at night is ideal for this. everyone speaks away like you have known them for years and tony(the barman) at the bar is helpfull and enoys a laugh with you. rooms are kept clean an floors swept and cleaned every morning with new towels every 2nd morning.the pool area is great nice an quiet an due to the resort being so close to the beach front it is ideal for nipping to the shops or restaurants easily. yes breakfeast is just a bread roll but you cannot let this fault this holiday it takes 5 minutes to nip for a full english breakfast for 5 eurosat the beach front. a great holiday an i see why people go back year after year. so dont read some of these reviews an worry what your in for, we coudnt believe what some people had wrote when we arrived. once again very good holiday and would sure go back

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Room - Typical box room with twins and plenty of storage space for clothes for 2. Shower was tiny and in need of some updating. Cleaned daily (sheets changed about 4/5 times in 2 weeks) except Sundays. Warning - we were in Rm 109 and I was a little concerned that there were old copper water pipes cut off about12 cm above floor level, these were in the bedroom, bathroom and outside the door. Although next to the walls I cringed to think what would happen if someone slipped (especially kids) and fell on these. We put a chair etc over these. Hairdryer but no fridge. Air Con 6e a night. Safe Desposit also available. Check out is 12.00 but we kept the room till 8pm for an extra 25e. They may try and charge you another 6e on top for the "additional" air con, dont pay it. Seems a bit of a tip for the receptionist.

Pool Area - Excellent large clean pool with separate kids pool. Pool bar selling snacks and drinks. Recommend the BLT sandwich at 2.50. Plenty of padded sunbeds and no blaring music.

Bar - Only went in on first night and it was like the scene out of American Werewolf in London were everything stops and everyone stares!, seemed very quite (even when busy) you felt that you had to whisper and it is non smoking.

Beach - Within 100 yards or so but pretty grubby with fag ends/litter, also very gritty and stoney. Wear suitable footwear on the beach and in the sea. Sunbeds are usually owned by the sea front cafes/bars and are free to use if you buy a drink or something to eat.

General - There are a lot of older people return to this Hotel and obviously have built up their own relationships but everyone was very friendly towards us and liked a good natter. Despite previous posts absolutely no problems with Manager, couldnt have been more polite and enjoyed a chat and laugh. Biggest disappointment was the quality of food available at the Resort, we have been to most Greek Islands and this was def the worst for quality and choice. Couldnt recomment anywhere but the best we had was at the Golden Fleece, also Pizza place next to Aussie Steak House was Ok . Beer ranged from 1.5 to 3. PLease note that if you are thinking of picking this hotel for the breakfast - DONT. It is in name only unless you consider a breadbun or piece of dry cake on a Sunday as breakfast - Lots of excuses given for this usually around the cost but havent stayed at a hotel that has offerred less in the way of choice or quality of breakfast.

Sum Up - Probably one of the better hotels with a big pool in the Bay area. Not for kids, better for couples or small groups of "older" folk. Forget the idea of breakfast!! Make sure you take the mozzie repellent and if in Rm 109 make sure those pipes are covered.

Room Tip: Rooms are offerred with sea view some ar good others you would have to have the neck oif a giraffe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobbyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A cheap hotel, and you get what you pay for. The room was adequate, that's about the best to say of it. The bathroom was grimy, and bare electric wires were visible in there. The mattresses are incredibly hard, it was impossible to get comfortable on them so sleeping was difficult. The pool is a decent size and seemed well kept, but the area around it wasn't kept very clean and some rubbish around the area was not picked up during the whole of the week's stay. Breakfast is minimal, to say the least. They alternate between a single bread roll one day and two slices of toast the next, served up with two pats of butter and a single portion of jam, a glass of diluted orange juice and a single cup of tea or coffee. If you want a room with air conditioning you will have to pay an extra 6 euros a day for it, and should you want to keep your room until 8pm on your day of departure you will be charged a further 25 euros for that. On the plus side, the hotel is very convenient for the beach and tavernas nearby.

Room Tip: "Rooms with a view" don't really qualify for that title - all rooms look out onto scru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjtoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A nice hotel in a great location. Not a hotel for kids. Friendly people and ideal location for the local bars and restaurants. Plenty of places to eat and drink as well as the pool bar for drinks and snacks during the day. Pool is ideal and the weather was fantastic. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisandebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We returned from our stay at Kamari Bay in June( Frits Carol Ian and Margo), although this was our first time there we have been coming to Kefalos for many years.We were a little unsure what to expect having read some of the reviews, but nothing could have been further from the truth.
Yanni the owner was very friendly and polite as were all his staff except for Toni the bar man he was a real scream you just had appreciate his dry Brooklyn sense of humour.We couldn't recommend this wonderful family run hotel enough.Just remember if your looking for Five Star then book five star. Anyway we've booked up again and are all heading back this this September.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frazer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

If you are an animal lover and stying at the Kamari Bay Hotel please consider helping the 2 feral cat colonies on the road at the side of the hotel (opposite "Better than Asda") the first lot are in the vines growing just behind the childrens playground. The other group by the big fig tree almost opposite. They desperately need your help. Local people don't bother with the cats and over the winter they will either starve to death or be poisoned. If you feed them now they stand a better chance of survival. The situation is very sad. I had to move a kitten from the road one evening. Please don't be fooled into thinking that the cats you see in Greece get by and are tolerated by local people. More often than not they aren't. Please also consider one of the many charities helping Greek animals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SJH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

apart from the mozzies have had the most amazing holiday at a good price. The staff were so friendly and helpful.Especially the old man in reception!!! Local Tavernas great value for money ,,, Captain John's especially!! Santa Barbara i would NOT recommend long wait and then meals didn't come together. Breakfast was boring a bread roll EVERY day but was edible..would go back and would go on my own

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kefalos
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kefalos
171 reviews
0 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamari Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamari Bay Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: £19 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamari Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kamari Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kamari Bay
Kamari Bay Kefalos
Kamari Bay Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing