We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People who rate low don't understand Greece”
Review of Kamari Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kamari Bay Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Redditch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“People who rate low don't understand Greece”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Returned from this hotel mid September, can honestly say that anyone who complains about this place has spent too much time and money in 5 star, all inclusive hotels.

This hotel is listed as a 2 star bed and breakfast. Yes the room is a bit small and the shower is basic, but all you do in the room is sleep and get ready. A mini fridge would have been nice to keep drinks cool but no big deal..

The pool area is spacious, plenty of deck chairs with fixed parasols. There is a snack hut with lots of tables in the shade, the food and drink is lovely and well priced.

We did not try the breakfast due to other holiday makers recommendations however there are plenty of places to eat within a ten minute walk from the hotel. With gorgeous views!
People that complain about the breakfast don't understand what traditional Greece is about..a bread roll and juice tea/coffee is what you'll get in most family run places, if you want a fry up, go to the hut and they'll be happy to oblige.

The bar is a bit small but there and tables and chairs in the same room instead.
Tony is the barman and is very hospitable, even with his dry humour. We met some really nice people there who we are going to arrange a return trip with.

Yannis/John (the owner) was very kind, he even lent my girlfriend a book after expressing an interest in the local history.. I.e Hippocrates and the Asklepion-well worth a visit.
He does not demand you leave your key upon going out of the hotel... Whoever said that is knit picking.. They only suggest you leave it on site to lower the risk of loss and therefore the cost of a replacement.

Rooms were cleaned daily, except Sunday which was no problem for us..

Take the photos of the place on this site with a pinch of salt, half of them aren't even of the hotel..

We heard a rumour that Thomas Cook are dropping the hotel in 2014 which we feel is a great shame.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would happily go again.

Room Tip: We had room 204 which looked out onto the pool, has shade in the midday sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisDeykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    80
    31
    22
    18
See reviews for
36
139
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
thornton cleveleys
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I don't know what people expect for the price ,typical Greek hotel OK bathroom small but known worse, breakfast basic but I knew before I booked. Rooms kept spotlessly clean , beds changed 4 times in 2 weeks , towels daily. Decent room ,fab sea view (213).Yannis lovely guy confusion over prices on aircon but he had the decency to apologise and refund infront of people in the breakfast room ! Waiting on staff also do the cleaning two lovely ladies.Lovely pool and pool bar doing great snacks. Join in at the bar all very friendly.If you want 5 star pay for it.Cant go wrong here .

Room Tip: 213 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanpatriciahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

have a read at both types of reviews, yes there are a few causes for complaints but on the whole the hotel and staff are really good. the grumpy caretaker asking people to keep their kids quiet at the early morning arrivals is to stop people getting wakened up in the middle of the night. people staying there complained of that very thing, poor Kelvin, damned if you do, damned if you don't.
yes a lot of regulars sit in the bar every night and get drunk, they're on holiday, what business is it of yours what they do? The corridors are all tiled, this generates a lot of noise at night when people go back to their rooms, should they all wear slippers? Yannis, quite possibly one of the nicest owners we have ever met, did anyone sit down and have a chat with him, we did, found it fascinating. Tony the boring barman, don't think so, very dry and quick sense of humour, cocktails weak? dont think so, cant believe they quantity of alcohol in the stuff he poured us.
breakfast, yes very basic, but filling, you could have got more coffee or another roll if you asked, no problem at all, the girls that served the food and done the rooms were all very nice, sometimes a wee bit stressed but always had a smile or a hello when we passed them. towels changed every day, sheets 6 times in the holiday, am i missing something, does everyone except me change their own sheets at home every day? paying extra for air con and a safe, standard every where you go isn't it? girl that ran the pool bar was great, food and prices in the hotel were about average, hotel was in a great location, I mean folks, £600 for 2 weeks in Greece, flight, transfers, luggage, what do you want? if you want luxury and a five star experience, pay for it don't moan about a cheap hotel and flight deal, make the best of it and try and see the positives. We ate out every night, mostly at Maria's, Yannis's cousin owns it, food was great, plentiful and downright cheap, in saying that almost everywhere along the front was like that. only disappointment was memories bar, advertising cheapest drinks on the front, probably true but that's because they gave you the smallest measure possible.
In case you're wondering, no I am not a returning guest, I just happened to enjoy the place and the people, especially some of the other holidaymakers, Chris x 2, Jim, Steve, rose, Margo, Betty, Ian, Beth , Ricky and the missus, we had a ball, we would probably go back there.

Room Tip: we stayed in the annexe, really nice rooms at the side of the hotel, good seaview, if we go back we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just copied this review from other holiday makers and we agree 100% with this. If people think this's good hotel you need to go to better class hotels. Just back from this hotel and cannot for the life of me understand why they have regulars who come back year after year. When we arrived in the small hours of the morning, we were met with a grumpy caretaker who moaned at my excited young child for talking. Then he pointed to a dark dingy corridor where our rooms were. To say the rooms were basic is a gross understatement. The loo and bathroom were a tiny square of dated tiles with a shower only one step up from a watering can. I have stayed in many hotels all over the place and travel lodges and this was the worst. The beds were hard and the sheets were not changed once in the week we were there. Sure the maids called most days, but just turned the sheets over. It was hit and miss whether they emptied the loo roll bin in the toilet. No hot water in the evening. Shower flooded the floor.Hit and miss whether the tiny fluoresent light in the loo went on - frequently had to open the veranda door during the night in order to get enough light to see enough to go to the loo. Frequently the lights flickered and the switches were unpredictable. No kettle or fridge - dont know how Thomas Cook can market this as a family friendly hotel! The general feel of the hotel is quite oppressive and the owner Yannis seemed very money orientated. He watched us constantly to see how much money we where spending. The bar had a very cliquey feel to it- tried to chat to people but seemed I wasnt in the gang. Tony the barman seemed okish but was surrounded by all the regulars getting hammered.There were alot of scowling people there. I got one of his cocktails and it seemed quite weak. There is nothing for children to do in this hotel. No music or telly on AT ALL. No atmosphere at all. The pool was quite nice but the area around the pool was very scruffy and needed tidying up- lots of rubbish and crap lying around. The breakfast is an absolute joke - a tasteless roll and pat of butter, one glass of diluting orange and one cup of either tea or ( cheap) instant coffee. This is not a continental breakfast by any means.This is served at 8am prompt. The feel in the breakfast room was horrible also- the waitress seemed very unhappy and did not crack a smile once. Felt like we had done something wrong when we chatted to each other. Same when our children laughed and screamed with joy in the pool- if people don't want children in their hotel, why not go to an adult only hotel? The door leading to the corridor from the bar did not appear to be a firedoor and at times was difficult to open. Owner insisted on people leaving their keys before we went out. Thomas Cook rep was not interested really . Had to pay 25 euros to keep room on to 8pm - no where safe to put our cases. We spend most of the time out of the hotel and Kefalos is a lovely place with good, warm people. Funny enough , Yannis and his hotel is notorious even amongst the shopowners/ restaurant of Kefalos for his bad tempered, miserable ways and grim establishment. I will be complaining to Thomas Cook about this as I dont think they should get away with taking my hard earned cash for this dump. Would go back to Kefalos but never to this hotel. As for the regulars - you are getting shafted!

Room Tip: Go to other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevenboydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Very basic rooms,if you want an extra drink of tea or hot coffee take your own travel kettle,there is no fridge,no tv and sometimes no hot water for a hot shower as I found out when up early to go on a trip out.All you get for breakfast is a roll butter and jam the next day maybe toast with butter and jam,the towels are changed regularly but not the sheets.Tony the barman is great had a good time there,as people have saidyou have to pay for air con,a safe and if you want to keep your room on till 8pm for a late flight you have to pay separate for that as well as there is no where to use to keep your cases and bags.The resort is dirty with many unfinished buildings,not a place for small children either as there is nothing for them there.oh and just to add two days I saw them smoking in the room that they prepared breakfast,not very nice at all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to Greece. We stayed at the Kamari Bay Hotel, it is a good value hotel.the rooms are cleaned regularly and towels are changed a couple of times a week.The breakfasts are bread rolls on one day then toast the next which was fine. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. You even get a hairdryer in the room. Now the only thing i will say is some of the guest that were there the same time as us were VERY noisy when returning to their rooms at night. Now we are a couple in our 40's and we are no kill joy's and understand that people are on there holidays but so was we. We was woken up every night so hence we were tired.So we came back home feeling tired and not as relaxed as we should have. But that is no reflection on the hotel. Would we go back probably.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Kamari Bay hotel was just what a value for money hotel should be, with the most friendly of staff, pleasantly clean, with the rooms cleaned daily, the towels were changed regularly, ok you have to pay for air conditioning but you can live without it. There is no TV in the room, shock horror, however guess what did not miss it, the art of talking and other activities can prevail. There It is a basic breakfast, with 2 slices of toast or a bread roll on alternative days and coffee/tea and orange juice. If the breakfast does not rock your boat there is many eaters within walking distance, the Manos is my favourite.

Kefalos is not ideal for a partying place as KOS town is 1hour away on the bus. The people are so friendly and many do speak English, the area is so quaint and oldly wordly. The hotel is 5 minues from the beach where you can many different types of watersport, there are lots of bars, cocktail bars and many many eaters, we tried a different one everyday.

The hotel is blessed with a large enough pool with a smaller baby pool, with sufficient loungers and a lovely small poolside snack bar serving many snacks/drinks.

Irene, Tony, Yannis, Maria and the cleaners were all lovely and friendly. We would return again!

Room Tip: negative reviewers need a reality check
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickyrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.0 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamari Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamari Bay Hotel

Property: Kamari Bay Hotel
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamari Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamari Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kamari Bay
Kamari Bay Kefalos
Kamari Bay Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing