We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal base for a relaxing holiday”
Review of Kamari Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kamari Bay Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Lancaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ideal base for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have stayed here on two holidays, never once have we been disappointed.
I have read a number of bad reviews on trip advisor and think the people that wrote them must have stayed elsewhere.

I always found the staff very friendly and very helpful.
Breakfasts are a little strange but at least its a talking point and something to chuckle about.
I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is ideally situated as the beach is just a few minutes away and all other local bars and restaurants are situated a short stroll away.
Rooms have always been kept clean and sheets and towels changed regularly.

lovely swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pelletmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    80
    31
    22
    18
See reviews for
36
139
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here last year as my mum was getting married on the island. Yes the hotel is basic like most people before me have said but it's still a lovely hotel. It never claims to be a 5 star hotel so people shouldn't treat it that way. Would love to go back and no doubt will.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank LochgreenHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First visited this hotel on a last minute deal not knowing which hotel we would be staying at until we land in Kos, when told the holiday staff said "Oh you lucky people" Yianni the owner was present on our arrival and made us most welcome. That was back in 1998 and we have been going back at least once every year. The hotel was always clean. Toni the barman was just a young whipper snapper when we first met, just about to get engaged to Irene who now covers reception. The rooms are good, the pool is excellent and Maria who runs the pool bar is lovely and friendly always willing to help. I know it is B & B but we dont rush back just for the breakfast.It was always the atmosphere of the place and location was spot on for other tavernas and bars. Sadly Yianni will never alter the breakfast but if he did like a number of other greek places we visited he would be having to turn the customers away. There are lots of people who return every year. Half of my family and friends go there Dont let the breakfast (not) put you off

Room Tip: The annex has great views out to sea, the side opposite the pool has great views to the harbour and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordonmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch,England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at kamari bay for two weeks,we had a great time,staff were friendly,rooms cleaned every day except Sunday. We were all in the separate block at the back of the hotel,we never heard any noise from the bar. On the last Friday of our holiday I slipped as I entered the pool,the hotel receptionist was very helpful,phoned a taxi for us to go to hospital, explained to the driver what had happened. Next day everyone at the hotel asked after me,how I was etc. We would go to kefalos again,as it's a lovely resort,plenty of good places to eat.But we wouldn't go back to this hotel.Special thanks to Rachel our rep,you are a credit to Thomas Cook,thank you for all your help also for all your hard work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VonRedditch_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the kamari bay in July this was our 2nd time in kefalos so knew our way around. The hotel is fine inside and out but our room was not well cleaned it was like they gave it a quick once over and out,they girls were nice but they def didn't clean up as well as people seen to be suggesting, the night we arrived something was squished in to the floor and it was there for two weeks,also our sheets were not changed once the whole time we were there which was two weeks the top sheet that they made in to fans were maybe changed but the bottom sheet no way my husband cut himself and the blood was on the sheet the whole time. To suggest that us who have complained are only used to 5 star is ridiculous iv never stayed 5 star and iv been in Greece the last 6 year stayin in nothing more than two star.
The people were nice but there is much nicer for the same money round about. We all have different opinions but I can honestly say I don't care about tv in a room or kettle or anything I just want a clean room and bed to go back to no matter how cheap or expensive it is you deserve cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeythenoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Okay no fridge, no TV and a dodgy breakfast we can live with that. All concerned with this hotel and beautiful island should be so proud of the service to all visitors. Once you arrive on Kos whoever you come into contact with you will be assured of a welcome that would be hard to surpass wherever you travel in the world. Kamari Bay and Kefalos is full of exceptional restaurants, friendly Tavernas and fantastic views. The whole staff at the hotel just can't do enough to make your stay so welcoming. The owner Yannis, Tony in charge of drinks, the ladies who keep the rooms and hotel spotless and the lady at the pool will make you want to go back there again and again. Mention must also be made to the Thompson rep Rachel absolutely helpful, patient and most informative. The sea is crystal clear, the beach up by the harbour is the place to chill with two sunbeds and an umbrella for 5 euros a day top notch. Will definitely recommend to anyone please visit this great hotel and beautiful island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Absolutely brilliant time Yannis and Tony were great company. been to Kefalos many times but would definately return to this hotel .Didnt like our room on arrival as it was beside the bar and didnt have a good view but we were moved the next morning NO HASSEL !!! Cocktails are great Tony knows all the guests by name and remembers your drink, great company, breakfast is a roll or toast with jam orange juice tea or coffee, plenty for me 1st thing in the morning, cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 200's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie19602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.0 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamari Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamari Bay Hotel

Property: Kamari Bay Hotel
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamari Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamari Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kamari Bay
Kamari Bay Kefalos
Kamari Bay Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing