We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“typically greek, simple and quaint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athinoula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athinoula Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“typically greek, simple and quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

i stayed here with my partner in the month of August and was very pleased with this choice. The hotel's location is the first good point. It is literally over the road from the beach, it is approx a 4 minute walk to the beach. But apart from the beach you re also right on the street where all the bars shops and restaurants are too. And its all flat so no strenuous steep walks back to the hotel when your all hot and sweaty.
The hotel is ran by a family and they are all very very friendly and welcoming. They can not do enough for you and go out of their way to help. The hotel itself is rather basic but still pretty and cozy and clean. The rooms are just as you'd expect for Greece... basic and simple but pleasant enough to spend a week or two most certainly. The view from the balcony's is wonderful. If you look to one side you have the mountains and the sunset and if you look the other way you see the pool and the sea behind.
The pool area was very nice i found. The pool was always clean and there are plenty of sun loungers and space around the pool for the sun bathers. there is a drink/snack bar by the pool which is shaded in case you want 5 minutes shade with a drink and the prices are very good.
all in all i am most definitely returning to this hotel hopefully this year and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    44
    15
    20
    17
See reviews for
27
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our first visit the the Athinoula was some 8 to ten years ago you know last min booking arrived
mid night or later, little man comes to the door takes our bag's to our room, nice size room,said good night, next day breakfast not bad at all, 500 m from the sea, so if you want to get away from the hotel the sea is right there,Kefolos is quiet place, just the place to un-wind,but if you want disco every night go to kardermena be kept up all night, not for the family,The hotel,
Very clean, sheet's and towel's changed every other day, pool bar, pool bar food very good,
at night just take a walk along the front lot's of bar eating place's, and you can work it of by a nice stroll, back ar, the bar's still open have nigth cap just the right place to meet those other people. we have been 7 time now great people great place.

Room Tip: Have a good time, you are on hoilday
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evans134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We have stayed Greek style before but never anything so basoc as this place.

The hotel is essentially nothing more than a large family home and the lounge and its facilities overrun with the owners and its extended family.

The pool has no filter and is cleaned each evening but that still doesnt stop large cockroaches being found in th ekids bit of the pool early morning.

I wouldnt stay here again although the overall resort was very quiet and very old style greek.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chenessfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kefalos hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Had a fab time.spent 3 weeks at the Athinoula.Great people and great staff.Take time to learn a little Greek its worth it.Been going to Kefalos for 13 years love the place.

Room Tip: Stayed in a twin room this holiday,it was fine.But opting for s/c next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Having read the reviews we decided that this was the place for us, especially after reading that it was very quiet and that Kefalos itself was 'like a ghost town'? Well I dont know how many ghost towns the reviewer had been to but while it was nice and quiet for us there are quite a few bars and taverna's to choose from. No its not a party town but its busier in July and August and it doesnt pretend to be anything else??


The Hotel and the family who own it.

Yes Zac does come over as grumpy, but is perfectly helpful. His English is not great and he is easier in the company of some of those who have been year after year, but I suspect this is because he knows them well and they can understand him and vice versa!!

i use crutches and they had allocated us a room on the 2nd floor, my fault as I just didnt think to ask for a more accessible one. As soon as Zac saw my crutches he had a discussion with his son to say she cant have that one its too many stairs and they juggles things around to give us one on the first floor. To start with the son suggested a room with a double bed, but Zac said no they need 2 beds... as we are two women who are actually a couple we werent bothered! We were not aware of any kind of homophobia from anyone and when we spent a day at the pool had lots of conversations with all the family members??


Anyway we got room 115. The room was fine, two single beds, nice balcony, yes the bathroom is tiny but why would we need a big one to shower etc?? Its perfectly adequate. And most of all it was spotlessly clean! Maids came every day apart from Sunday and left our room sparkling.

The pool area is much better than it looks in all the photos, not that cold, its refreshing in the morning and warm in the afternoon, plenty of room and plenty of comfy beds around it.

As I have food allergies I had to buy a full english breakfast most days (no wheat, gluten or dairy) but i would have loved to sit there and have coffee bread butter and honey! The food we did buy at the hotel was fine.

Everybody we met there guests and family members included were really nice and friendly and couldnt do enough for you!

As we were there for just one week we were only planning on laying on the local beach, reading, and not much else. The walk to the beach took me about 12 minutes on crutches and was a pleasant walk. The beach is nice, lots of beds to choose from, 2 beds and an umbrella for 5 euros, great. Walk a bit further up and to the yellow and white ones just before the Argo restaurant are good and the man gives you bottles of water and sliced melon thrown in!!

The sea was so warm, it was gorgeous! We couldn't believe how hot it was on Kos! One day it was 100 degrees and we had to cover up to stop burning! We had to buy shoes for the sea as the first metre is stoney and it hurts your feet! After that its sand and deep enough for swimming. If you are bringing children the beach nearest the hotel is shallower, further up near the Argo restaurant its really deep within a few feet of getting in which was fine for me as I have no balance so could fall gracefully (or not) into the water and swim off!!

The shopkeepers were all really nice and friendly, and chatty. We have travelled quite a bit and lots of longhaul and we have all met the local shopkeepers who smile until the money drops into their hand then they turn their back?? Not on Kos, couldnt help enough and thought it funny to help us to try and say thank you in Greek, still cant remember what it is???

We cant wait to go back next year, the Hotel and location is perfect for us, the only thing we are going to change is to take our driving licences so we can hire quads!!! Oh yes and to book for 2 weeks instead of just one!!!!

If you like small, friendly, helpful in fact cant help enough, and very clean hotels then the Hotel Athinoula is for you!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can be noisy, not from this hotel but from Jacks over the field, we thought this w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ls58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

1st time I've been to Kos, but would recommend Kefalos. The Athinoula hotel was clean and very quiet. Like another reviewer I had room 101 which was right next to the bar/reception so was occasionally a little noisy with late check ins, but nothing significant and as a single room, handy for the bar & the pool. Bed was clean and comfortable. Pool is good size enough for swimming lengths while others were in playing around with more than enough sun beds. Shops, tavernas, and the beach all about 3 minutes walk but no noise could be heard on the balcony in the evenings even from from the two club type tavernas close by. Zeuss hotel 5 minutes walk away on the same street had a livelier late night bar and welcomed you in - so best of both worlds. Showers were fine - more like wet rooms than big hotel bathrooms. Lack of fridge in the room would be my only disappointment. Breakfast is as described. Take a torch if you are going out at night. Cleaners do walk in without knocking so be prepared.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have mountain and/sea view (either front or side on) so I recommend focus on quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ce1tic_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We (myself, husband and sister) booked two rooms for the last two weeks in August. We arrived an hour late due to airport problems. And i was not expecting anyone to be at reception. But to my delight there was and i was able to pay for the air conditioning and saftey deposit box there and then.
Breakfast is simple, we had a continetal breakfast with our holiday package,but you can pay for other breakfast items. but there are so many places to get food, its not like you are going without.
The hotel is a five minute walk to the beach, it is one street back from the main road so once the dooors are shut you hear no traffic noise. Our two rooms were overlooking the pool, and from the balcony you can see the sea and the old town on top of the hill.
The staff are fantastic, very friendly and happy to chat.
There is a pool side snack bar, which is very good. And the family have a bbq every wednesday i highly recomend it, the portions are huge!!!!!! it is a very good deal.
The rooms are clean and tidy, granted not very big, but you are only using them sleep. Two adults in a double room and we had plenty of room. My sister had a single room and that was about the same size as our double. There are family rooms which on the sneaky glances i got looked quite big.
If you want a quite holiday on a beautiful island then go to Kefalos and stay at the Athinoula.
We loved it and will be going back again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.4 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
5.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athinoula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athinoula Hotel

Property: Athinoula Hotel
Address: Kefalos 85301 , Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Athinoula Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Athinoula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinoula Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing