We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zeus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zeus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great hotel run by a fabulous family who bent over backwards to help. Plenty of sunless and lovely pool. BBC night was great value too. Kefalos itself is quite quiet but lovely and peaceful. Harbour area is very picturesque with lots of lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wee_Eck_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    102
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
77
254
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just returned from this very friendly Hotel in Kefalos, the family cannot do enough for you. It is close to the beach of Agios Stefanos with the ruins of a 5th century basilica. The sea is very shallow and perfect for swimming and snorkling. There are some very good tavernas close-by, our favourites being Kastri and Sacallis. I thoroughly recommend the trip to Nisyros, standing at the bottom of a volcano is amazing! If you book through the tour operator you get a guide which is well worth it. Kosta was very knowledgeable and we learnt so much about the area. We went to Paradise Beach by water taxi which you can catch at 10.30am returning at 5.30pm. We even got dropped off at the jetty nearest to Zeus Hotel! This was a very relaxing resort and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are quieter, away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned and I would just like to say what a fab time we had. The hotel room was on the lower floor, basic, but spotless. It was cleaned daily and fresh towels each day. Even though we paid for b&b, the breakfast consisted of bread and jam. I don't eat bread so we opted to have breakfast elsewhere.The family are very welcoming and we had many fun nights with Nikolas, he made me some lovely, lethal alcholic concoctions :-D and Manos who made me the nicest coffees,especially when I had had one to many :-/. The location is ideal as you are close to all the cafes, restaurants and the beach is a 5 min walk, depending on how quick you walk.This is a place that I will definately return tooo. Food is amazing and people are wonderful. Thanks Nikolas, Manos and George for contributing to the wonderful holiday we had. X

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHanne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We returned from our 2 week holiday to the Zeus last week. Along with most of the reviews for this hotel we were totally satisfied with every aspect of our trip. The family are absolutely delightful and will do whatever they can to make your stay memorable. We travelled with two teenage girls who were added to our booking at a later date, their planned accommodation was not just up the road (as detailed by Google maps) but was about 2 miles away at the other end of the resort. The family could not have been more helpful and arranged for us to move them to the Zeus at a greatly reduced rate. Without this help our holiday would have been a nightmare! We had been concerned that Kefalos would be too quiet for them but this was not the case. Manos and Nikolas who look after the bar are absolute stars and definitely proved to be an attraction for the girls! The hotel rooms and all public areas are kept spotlessly clean, they provide a good range of snacks at the pool bar and the Greek night is not to be missed! Many of the guests we met return year after year and it is evident why. We usually like to visit different places but will definitely be going back next year along with other members of our family.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and although some guests seemed to slam doors we heard no noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SparkesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just returned from our first trip to the Zeus Hotel in Kefalos. I'd read some excellent reveiws and also a few poor reveiws. From our experience I would say this was absolutely excellent and can't wait to return. The family, Zac, Maria, Sonia, Manos and Nikolas are all excellent hosts. The rooms were fine for what we excected and required. Sheets and towels changed daily, and everypart of the hotel is kept spotlessly clean. An excellent variety of food in the snack bar by the pool at good prices. Paid additionally for a safe box, didn't bother with the aircon, just had another cocktail before bed and then absolutely no problem sleeping. The beds were very comfortable. Slamming doors didn't really bother us, although I was very wary of our door, as it stuck and it had to be pulled hard to close it. Weather was excellent, and in 14 days, we only saw one very small cloud in this distance. Kefalos is on a breezy part of the island, but to be fair this was a god send, otherwise it would have been unbearable. We ate a couple of times at Hippocrates, which was fabulous - free greek salad and honey cake. In fact we didn't have a bad meal in any taverna. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel - always a sunbed available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just come back from 2 weeks at the Zeus Hotel. We went having read some poor reviews amongst all the good ones so were a little aprehensive at first so I would like to put my opinion.
When we first arrived we were welcomed by Maria who allocated the room. The room was lovely - not huge but plenty big enough for 2 with a private balcony. We had views towards the sea and also towards the hills inland. The room was furnished in a typical greek way. Quite basic but had what you needed. I have stayed in more basic rooms elsewhere. After we had dropped our cases we were served a drink by Nikos and Manos, the two brothers and I must say they were fabulous. In fact the whole family were wonderful. We found the whole experience positive, the cleaning team were superb, but we would definitely go back to Kefalos and the Zeus, rooms cleaned regulalry and bins emptied daily. We booked a late check out for £20 which was really well worth it. The pool area was well maintained and we always found beds available apart from 1 day when we went to the beach first and the area was full when we returned. It didn't matter to us as we had had enough sun anyway. There were a lot of repeat visitors and I agree that it was a little difficult getting to know them as they were already a group but the second week was easier and I would say that it is testiment to the family that so many people go back. The only thing I wish the room had was a kettle but we just bought a £5.00 vale kettle from argos before we went and dontade it to another guest when we left. It is nice to have a cup of tea on your balcony. The Thomas Cook Rep Andy was very imformative and gave us really honest advice. Kefalos is very quiet and ideal for a complete relaxer. We found it a little too quiet (we are early 50s) but do like a few more shops and crazy golf etc. We will definitely go back to Kefalos and the Zeus but would maybe go for a week or do more trips if we went for 2. The locals are typically greek, warm and welcoming and anyone visiting will not be disappointed. A trip to Zia in the mountains is a must and we also did the day trip to Bodrum. 1 point to note is that although there is wi-fi at the Zeus, it is not free and you do have to pay a local charge. We used to walk across the road to the Dolphin Bar and use their free wifi whilst drinking a cocktail or two.

Room Tip: We stayed in 305 which was up one flight of stairs. Nice view of sea one way and hilss inland the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizhore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just back from a fabulous fortnight at the Zeus - our 14th in 15 years. I wanted to address some of the comments about the hotel written previously -1) Neither Zak or Maria are Greek gods so cannot be held responsible for the warmth - or otherwise - of the sea or the strength of the breeze. 2) I have stayed in many rooms and never had a lumpy bed - they are a little narrow but perfectly ok and you are only paying for a 2 star hotel - don't expect 5 star luxury. 3) Breakfast is basic but you can have as much tea/coffee/orange juice and bread and jam as you like and with 4 rashers of bacon or 2 boiled eggs for a euro you are not going to go hungry. 4) I have always paid for air con, safe boxes, keeping on rooms - even in some 5 star hotels. I could go on but suffice it to say this is a wonderful home from home where over 50% of guests are returnees - we spent virtually every day greeting old friends and waving off new ones If you want a chilled holiday with great staff and food and a lovely atmosphere you really cannot beat it.Thanks to my Greek family xxxx

Room Tip: Superior rooms are gorgeous but the others are fine - those on the right are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topkat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
0.8 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
9.0 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeus Hotel

Property: Zeus Hotel
Address: Kefalos, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Zeus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeus Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing