We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return time after time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
troon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“return time after time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hermes is the ritz compared to 90% of the hotels and apartments in kefalos and probably kos. People who visit greek islands accept the buildings are usually slightly run down, you rarely get a shower curtain, floods in the bathroom and having to pay for air con but the many more positives make up for these little obstacles. The hermes has been renovated within the last few years and the rooms are basic, but new and spotlessly clean, (shower curtain now included) . There is a hairdryer and a fridge, I believe kettles can be rented, as can fans. Air con is 7euros per night, yes it seems steep but they are all at it and without it dont expect to sleep if you go betweeen june and august. Just returnded from 42 degrees during day and 30 at night. I have stayed at the hermes 6 out of 7 times in kefalos, and it would always be my first choice if the price is right, however unless you get a deal, it often comes in more expensive than other hotels in kefalos, but u do get what u pay for. Diane and Sebastian run the hotel with their kids nick and katerina who work extremely hard and are always friendly and sincere! The family speak great english, especially nick and katerina who live in new york half the year. The pool is a great size, one of the biggest in kefalos and i have never found it dirty, well fenced baby pool. In all the times i have been i have never had a problem getting a sunlounger, however this time (high season) there were many geusts going as eary as 2am to lay towels down and many laying towels and only coming to sit on them later in day... The pool bar staff will help if you have problems, just ask and nick will take the blame for moving these buggers towels..the price of drinks at the pool bar are in line with soft drinks on the island, water is the cheapest at 0.50 .. food is well priced and the hermes burger is a must for the hungry man or woman... also if you like tuna, try diana's tuna .. it is to die for.. so good they often run out half way through day, but she is usually in the middle of making more... the woman can cook!!! only been to the bbq and all you can eat buffet once, but they were both very good and a good opportunity to try traditional greek food which diana will tell u all about. The hermes rent cars too and i belive their prices are good. we rent quad bikes every time, they are the best way to buzz around the island, manolis are 14 euro a day, 12 if you take them for a week... Katerinas usually a bit more expensive and seems to have older bikes but she does have the bonus of having a shop right next to the hermes, which saves the awful walk up and down the dreaded hill.... it doesnt look bad at all, you would never believe how awful it is to walk up in the hear and takes about 10-15 mins.... get a bike or stay in the hotel... or take an oxygen cylinder.
Food
I have eaten almost everywhere in kefalos so here are a few favourites..:
The Golden Fleece -along at harbour end of beach, speciality pasta..woaw!!! the freshest pizza and pasta ever!!! huge portions though!! great prices and lovely staff.
Sydneys- middle of beach front.. dont be put off by the young trendy appearance.. they do the best steaks i have evr had... evry time i have one its even better than the last... go on a thursday or sunday and get a table for the live singer, he is awesome!!! the hypnotist wasnt there this year but he may return and if he does, well worth seeing.
Scorpios-- middle of main road.. indian they do best... but also chinese and mexican... super duper, we usually go at least twice a week...the owner is greek/australian and very friendly.
Argo - on the beachfront left of better than asda and bravo bar... best for fresh fish..
Sebastians ( not sebastians2) harbour area.. in front of golden fleece.. have a full english there.. 6 euro but you get huge plate, toast and eggy bread side and coffee or tea and big fresh orange all in price... u can even switch ur coffee and juice for a coke if your like me and often hungover..
HIppocrates-- first time this year, we heard it was very good and it is... the owners were lovely and the food great.. nice and clean inside too.
The Riverside- on main road... closer to road out of kefalos.. lovely wee cafe/taverna... ran by an english lady Debs, real friendly and relaxed, and the lovely Jules one of her staff, they will tell you anything this kefalos guide doesnt..lol... The dolphin bar-- main road.. heading out of kefalos... lovely pool bar, ran by manolis with the help of his lovely lady sanya.. pool is great there and free to use so long as you buy a drink.. it is a nice quiet pool and the loungers are fairly new and have pillows.... treat yourself to a dolphin hotdog yummy yummy!! .. or a frozen cocktail... drinks here are a bit pricey biut they are of better quality than your cheap beer in the bravo bar. Paradise beach restaurant.. visit paradise beach, take kos town bus or rent a bike.... 10 min ride from hermes... u can walk into sea and see the bubbles from the springs on the seabed, there is also an inflatbale waterpark 4 euro per day, its not a water park reallly, its a huge iceberg in the sea, trampolines in the sea and a few other things but it certainly good for kids and adults with kids minds... u do need to be fairly fit to get up the iceberg... the iceberg challenge is put to any kos newbies in our family. if you have lunch in the paradise beach restnt ... try an ice-cream frappe and the chefs salad is awesome too.. the german man who runs the place is lovely too.... kos town is worth a visit, chek bus times tho... i prefer to go late afternoon and get the 9pm bus back... any medical people will be intrested in seeing hippocrates tree there. im just back and im going again in 2 weeks, once u have been to greece, spain and the canaries seems so inferior.. the greek people are so genuine, caring and they love kids, they remember you and ther is no hard sell on anything.... the only place that may happen is the DUTY PAID shop...DO NOT GO THERE!!!! rip off merchant!!! tries to tell u the cheap toilet water in boxes on shelves is real... he must think we are so thick!! and i tolerated him before but this year when he charged me 6 euro for four ice-poles i almost collapsed!!!! yeahhh thats about £5.60 for 4x sticks of flavoured water.... il never be back , he owns the shop across the road too so be careful there too. better than asda is a supermarket down on beach front which many people use but id avoid it if you can... the owner is a con-man and rips people off by renting places to them and not keeping to his end of the agreement.. for example will sell you someting for your place and when ur gone in winter he'l take it out and use it somewhiere else... then tell u it broke whilst u were away, tough luck.... best of it is...He is the MAYOR of kefalos... ha ha ha ha corupt i think.... woaw this is the biggest review ever... well done to anyone who gets to the bottom and is still awake...

Room Tip: first block on 2nd floor 409- 416 are the best.. above that good too..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    128
    49
    19
    13
See reviews for
95
248
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a fantastic time in Kos and overall the Hermes is a very nice place to stay. However, it's not without it's faullts.

The pool is a brilliant size - could have done with a clean perhaps. The scramble for sun loungers meant that if you weren't there laying down your towels before 8 o'clock you missed out.

The poolside bar was excellent. Nice cold beers and the food was pretty good. I'll always remember the cries of "Two cheesesburgers and fries COME ON DOWN!"

The hotel and its grounds were well maintained and the block we stayed in seemed to have been only recently finished. Not so good though was that the sink didn't hold water and the bathroom door didn't close properly but heigh ho - minor flaws.

The staff were all very friendly and although "breakfast" was basic to say the least it filled a hole and the extras weren't too expensive. I still thought calling it a breakfast buffet though defied the trade descriptions act.

The worst part of the holiday was when we were charged almost 100 Euros for air con on top of our bill. A ridiculous amount - but it was much needed with temperatures well above 30oC every day and in the 20's overnight.

A trip to Kos town is very worthwhile, especially if you like old ruins and artefacts - the castle, the museum and the restored roman villa are spectacular. Lots of cafes, tavernas and little shops and a nice harbour.

The old town of Kefalos is very traditional - picture postcard stuff - a real step back in time and well worth the climb to get there.

Overall Hermes is a good hotel, Kefalos is a great resort, fantastic food, the wine was a bit hit and miss but a great place to relax and soak up the rays.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis10_4_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Just back from a fab week at hermes and had a wonderful time. I loved the way the family run the whole thing and gave a very attentive and personal service. Will definitely be back soon !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The is one of the most friendly hotels I have ever stayed in.
Nothing was too much for any of the staff.
Diana, Seb , Kat , Nick , Spiros and Joyce went the yard that makes you want to go back.
We had a double bed in our room which was great.
The pool was a decent size with plenty of free sun beds.
There was a pool bar as well as the main hotel bar which was competativly priced !
The karoke night was a laugh with Georgios'The Joker' making sure everone was involved and when Spiros was up doing his 'love dance' fantastic.
The food in the hotel was great.
There could be a little more choice at breakfast on the free side, but to me this was minor.
Two questions you have to ask yourself about any place you stay.
Would you go back & would you reccomend it to others.
With out a shadow of a doubt YES to both.
Lovely Hotel
Lovely People
Lovely Owners
Love to go back !!

On a point mentioned in another review, every Greek hotel I have been to charges for aircon...It is an optional extra...I have been to alot of Canary Island hotel where there was no aircon....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAZEFC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our room was basic, with fridge and was cleaned everyday except Sunday. Kettles can be hired for your duration. Air conditioning isn't cheap, but fans are available at extra cost. The dining area was small, with tables on the veranda. Breakfast was toast, butter and jam, anything else was extra. We were bed and breakfast and only ate in the hotel for 2 evenings - the food was good. The pool area was good and Katerina and Nico were good hosts behind the bar. We chose to eat in the harbour area, a 10 minute walk from the hotel and would recommend Santa Barbara, Sebastian's, Maria and Argo restaurants. Make sure you make the effort to go up into the old town of Kefalos - the views from the top are great. If you want to do trips, book them via Asklipsi tours in the harbour area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineHawthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Hermes was clean and in a lovely setting, there was no greeting when we arrived and on checking in we were simply given a key and pointed in the direction of our room. We realized when we got in the room that air con was not included as we couldnt turn it on and it was unbearably hot in the room. Air con was 49 euro for the week which I think is a lot to pay I have never paid that much before for air con. It became apparent that you could hire a fan for 10 euro a week but we were not told this by the owner even though we showed supprise and disappointment at the price of air con.

Breakfast was a joke!!!! its advertised as a continental buffet!!! there was nothing continental about it and it certainly wasnt a buffet tea, coffee, watered down juice and a choice of cardboard cornflakes which you werent even aloud to put your own milk on or 2 slices of the cheapest slices of toast with butter and jam, the toast was like melba if you tried to cut it in half it just broke into crumbs, if breakfast is included I dont think you should need a breakfast menu but there was one and I think it was yet again over priced at 1.50 euro for a single fried egg to put on the inclusive toast. we tried a coupleof lunches round the pool but stopped at that as the food was no where near as good as it was in the tavernas and restaurants and 2 or 3 euros more expensive (the greek salad was ok and not a bad price)
Nick on the bar was friendly and hospitable.
Pool was not clean it was cleaned once while we were there and by the time they cleaned it, it was pretty grubby.
There was some very nice restaurants and tavernas giving great value for money. an ice cold beer ranged from 1.50 euro to 2 euro, a carafe of wine (1ltr) 6 euro. It was a nice 10 minute walk to the bars and restaurants,a hard walk to the old town but worth it.
Kosalos was very quiet which we didnt mind but a bit grubby and unloved which showed.

Room Tip: the second floor rooms had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angiepagdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed in Hermes from 2/7/11 for a week, read some reviews on trip advisor beforehand & those that state the walk is too far are either lazy or have severe walking problems. -the gentle stroll to the sea is 10 mins max & 12 mins max back..not far at all, as some reviews state!!!

The Breakfasts, yep just toast, butter & jam or cornflakes, but help yourself to fruit juice & coffee's......................& the extras are so so cheap & superb value,......it amazes me the tight lot that want it all for free!

The hotel does a few evenings of entertainment a week, has a greek buffet night & barbercue night -, non half boarders welcome at 10E each, a quiz night & best of all is the karaokee night with the one & only 'King' running the show, he was very fortunate to have me 1st up singing 'Wonderwall'!!, however soon the better singers were up including the Rhinestone Cowboy himself in 'Scouse Gary'......superb night!

Hotel in general:-
- Pool superb, clean, decent size, plenty of sunbeds & parasols (we preferred olive/fig tree corner) to give us extra shade...........pool snack bar opens around 11.30 each day, wide choice...........'Come on down' is the cry in fluent 'New York Twang' to get your food!
- All staff very very friendly, couldnt be more helpful.
-Rooms cleaned daily & fresh sheets/towels too...spotlessly clean infact
-bar prices very reasonable - E2.50 for a pint of larger -E4 for very large & strong cocktails
-Only stayed B&B & ate out every night at the wonderful tavernas of Kefalos, id guess about 30/40 max of them, none of them had the hard sell at all, so you never felt pressured, many very greek, but the strange holidaymakers that want chicken & chips or burgers (who imo should have stayed at home in Blackpool!!) could get them in some of the tavernas.......however we steered clear of these 'common people' type tavernas!!!................ones we loved were the 'Stop In' - lovely greek lady welcomes/serves you & makes the best puds in Kos..superb & very very reasonable, also the odd sounding 'Captain Johns' right on the beech has an extensive menu, superb food at very reasonable prices............at both meal for 2 with wine no more than 30/35 euro max for 3 courses.
-Bars - scattering of them down the front, id guess 12/15 max, all very quiet (no loud crappy music!) - Beer from E1.50 a pint........all ok.
-Resort itsself very very peaceful & quiet, the walk from the harbor to the other end of the bay will be about 2 miles, beech very empty & loads of room, mainly sand/shingle & clear sea.
-Airport transfer about 20 mins.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
5.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#10 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermes Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing