We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kefalos”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks in Kefalos, Kos. September 8th to 22nd
This is a very quiet resort and not for the clubby people, however there were many young people here who seemed to be enjoying themselves, so not every youngster is club mad.

This is a really amazing place all the restaurants serve excellent food in large portions. There are a few that do stand out in my opinion. My number one rate is The Golden Fleece, if you like octopus try the one in vinegar, it is incredible and the best I have tasted anywhere I have been and his spaghetti, pizza and other dishes are fantastic. The Aphrodite, hosted by a young Greek couple who are out to impress with the little extras you get, such as free gratis bread, garlic bread and the food is delicious and the coffee liqueur after the meal is amazing.
I could really write about all the other places the same but these were our favourites.

If there is something special you want all the restaurants we visited will change dishes around for you, for instance if you want they're delicious roast or lemon potatoes with a dish that the menu says comes with chips, they will do it. If you want say two or three starters then share a main they will do it and give you the plates etc. to share onto, so don't be afraid to ask.

A must is a visit to the old village at the top of the hill and is well worth spending some time up there walking around as much as your legs and feet will take, visiting the old derelict windmills and the little narrow streets with the typical Greek houses and the old ladies going about there business. Then spend some time in one of the tavernas to watch the world go by. There is a bus service up there and also a little noddy train although not certain if this runs over all holiday months. I am not a great one for climbing hills but it doesn't take too long to walk up there at a slow rate with a bottle of water in hand, of course.

We stayed at the Hermes and I was a bit apprehensive about people saying that the distance and climb back up from the beach and restaurant area was bad but its not, yes its uphill but its not a mountain and it doesn’t take that long, in fact while we were there we met a very nice couple who appeared to be regular visitors and he walked with a stick and was dare I say older than me and we saw them go up and down a few times. Things to beware of here the breakfast is as many have said only either toast or cereal or you can pay for a cooked breakfast. We tended to have the toast or cereal and than eat later on down by the beach and in some cases they will let you have free sunbeds and umbrella.

There was no hot water in the mornings for showers etc. but this isn't unusual in some places in Greece due to the fact that later in the season the solar water heating systems don't heat up over night but by mid day there is hot water and plenty of it.
Diana and Sebastian and all the staff are really lovely and if you need anything they will help Just ask, don't be afraid. On one occasion I saw Sebastian go way above and beyond what a hotel owner would certainly do in many places, and indeed I would ever do for an awkward guest. Need I say more!. Just some of the other things they can do is, supply a hire car. exchange money etc. etc.

My one request to anyone who goes there is visit the Mythos bar and see Margarita and Ilias for a cocktail they are great and I swear that the cocktails get stronger on each visit. A great way to start the evening. Then walk either one way or the other looking at the menus outside the restaurants to choose your meal for the evening with no hassle from the restaurant owners so you can stand there studying and if you don’t see what you want ask for a menu to look at.

Its a great shame Rick Stein hasn't done a program on this place as it's food heaven.

Other info. We would have been better to get our Euros in the UK strangely enough as the rate there was poor only 1.11 Euro to the Pound.
Got bitten on the last week nothing seemed to fend them off with me, Avon Skin so soft, Jungle formulae, Antihistamines, Garlic etc. etc.
The beach is stony in most places but if you don't like that you can always do what we did, wear rubber soled beach shoes or walk down towards the harbour where there is a small sandy beach.

If you like Arrilas on Corfu, Kolios on Skiathos I am sure you will like Kefalos.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MartinMandyPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spent 11 nights at the Hermes enjoyed it, as already said the rooms are basic but cleaned everyday apart from Sundays, showers do tend to flood bathroom floor but this is Greece, breakfast is basic but you can pay for extras, we hired a kettle and mugs for 1 euro a day and took our own coffee, small fridge in room, Kefalos is a quiet resort but with plenty of nice restaurants to choose from and several bars, we did not have a bad meal and really enjoyed the food and I must say we found both food and drink very cheap in the resort compared to Kardamena. Hired a quad to look round which was fun and also got us back up the hill on an evening, hill fine until you get to the small church then its a case of pushing on but you can always get a drink at the bar to quench your thirst!!. Would return but not one for returning to same place, although we met many repeat visitors who have visited Kefalos for years.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have spend nice 2 weeks in Hermes Hotel! Very clean, comfortable rooms, nice personal, great pool bar and nice, BIG swimming pool with clear water! In hotel possible to rent car for the lowest price anywhere else. Would like to come back to this nice place and meet all so nice people : Diana,Sebastian, Nikos ( really nice big guy), Spiros (the GOD of sandwiches and coctails).
Recomend this hotel for couples to have nice and romantic vacation. :)

Room Tip: highter - better fiew :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erikovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Going home tomorrow , been here a week and I would say that's plenty long enough , the rooms are clean and tidy but very basic , with a fridge and hair drier , no TV , bathroom door had a broken handle. Breakfast consists of toast and or cereal , anything else needed to be paid for. Pool bar good, serving good food. This was a cheap holiday for us and at the end of the day you get what you pay for .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsbrogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I am still in this hotel. It seems that I didn't get a luck for the room - it's absolutelly nothing like was in the pictures - old hashioned, everything broken, very very noisy and it is not familly room like we ordered - we got only one room for kids instead of two. thank you for upset our wedding aniversary mood, I will never be back here again and higly not recommend. I asked to change the room, but they refused to do this.

Room Tip: very noisy, old fashioned, and not necessarily get what you ordered - instead of 2 kids bed we got o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tailandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

just returned from 2wks at the hermes hotel there was 12 of us and what a good time had by all Diana and Sabastion go out of their way for u and nothing is too much trouble. This is me and my husbands 2nd time at the Hermes and i can asure you we are definatly goin back nxt year for my husbands 50th birthday. The hotel is kept spotlessly ciean all the staff work hard and go out of their way to speak to all guests. Spiros at the pool bar is exellent and makes all snacks fresh to order he also waits on in the hotel in the evening along with nikos the bar chap at night who wears some funny tshirts is brill lovely cocktails.I cannot fault this hotel and would very highly reccomend it. Thank you to all at Hermes hotel see you nxt year cant wait Debbie and Mark Shaw and all the rest of party..High rooms have best views we stayed in room 213 top floor amazing views worth the steps xxxxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed In the Hermes June 2013 its our third visit went for 2 weeks this time. The hotel never disappoints us, The staff are friendly the hotel is clean the views from the top block of the hotel are worth the climb. Nothing really changes here which is ok and is very quiet. feel they could maybe put some kind of entertainment like maybe a Greek night and give the guests a chance to have a laugh and make a fool of themselves trying the local dance moves.
Sebastion and Diane are nice people and a special mention to" Nico with the black dog", he stopped on his scooter and gave my wife a lift to the village, she wasnt feeling to good and had to go to the chemist,its a bit of a climb but again worth it.
We would recommend Kefalos and the Hermes for a perfect holiday, you should try Marias Bar run by 2 of the friendliest guys you will ever meet Manos and Yianni,would definately go back out best meal was in Stammatia restuarant lovely family great food.
Overall Kefalos is a part of Greece that is becoming harder to find it has the character, and the feel of the Greece we first visited 26 years ago, things change, but enjoy it while you can,God Bless You All and thank you,will maybe see you soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
494 reviews
5.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kefalos
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: £28 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermes Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing