We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We Where Still There !!”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our second trip to the Hermes, and was still as good as two years ago.
Diana, Sebastion, Spiros have been joined by Nico and Katerina....Then to round things off Nick , Diana & Sebs son arrives !!
The hotel is very clean and has had alot of work done on it wich was noticable.
Breakfast is a no frill affair, but you can add to it what you want from an additional pay menu.
The hotel pool has plenty off free sun beds, and a snack bar.
The hotel bar at night can be busy or quiet..It just depends who's is there..
The owners and staff are very friendsly and nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel is located a walk away from the beach and up a steep hill and this may not suit everyone , but it suited us..!!
Thank you all again !!!

Room Tip: Block 4 is closest to the bar !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GAZEFC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Having stayed at Hermes eight times since it opened in 1995 and planning an other visit in 2014 I can only say it gets better with every visit! Looking forward to going back in August 2014.
You can take a gentle stroll down to the bay for dinner at a number of Tavernas, we think Argos near the roundabout is the best. Then you can walk back to Hermes up the gentle incline to walk off your meal and enjoy a cocktail or two at the back open until late.
Alternatively you can go up to the old village of Kefalos enjoy a meal and then "roll" back down the hill to Hermes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

been to this hotel and cant fault it Diana and family were very helpful and friendly they could nt do enough for you rooms were very clean and and tidy had very good pool and pool bar that done snacks in a quiet location but just a stroll to resort top class hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early September 2013. The hotel was lovely. Really clean and in nice surroundings. We stayed in the new modern block and found it very comfortable.

The pool area was also very nice and well kept, with a poolside snack bar serving good quality food.

About breakfast...it is advertised as free "continental". This means you get toast and/or cornflakes. That's it. Anything else, you have to pay extra for. Now, for me and my husband this was not a problem at all because we don't usually have a big breakfast anyway and we already knew the situation before we arrived at the hotel. But, if you are expecting more at breakfast time, you will be disappointed.

The food served in the evening was delicious, authentic Greek food and as good as anything you may be served in a taverna. There was usually a choice of 2 or 3 starters and mains and then ice-cream for dessert. Again, this was not an issue for us because we don't go on holiday for the food, but if you do, then don't expect too much.

The staff at the Hermes are all brilliant - really friendly. Diana and Sebastian are lovely and always willing to help sort out any issues. We had a late flight home so we requested to keep the room until 7.00 pm and they were happy to oblige.

With regard to the resort, as we were there at the end on the season, it was pretty quiet, but there were still plenty of shops, bars and restaurants open. The beach is nice (but pebbly) and sunbeds are five euro for two.

Paradise beach is well worth a visit. You can hop on the bus right outside the Hermes and it's a 10 minute journey up the road. Sunbeds there are 8 euro for two (bit pricey). If you want to have something to eat at the beach, we found that the Paradise Beach Taverna at the top of the hill was far nicer than the snack bar nearer to the beach itself. The food was much better quality and there was not much difference in price. Also, the owner and his daughter were really lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble, plus the view is amazing.

Also worth a visit is the village of Zia and Kos Town. You can hire a car from the Hermes for about 35 euro, or get the bus to Kos Town which will cost you about 4 euros each.

All in all, we had a great holiday and would recommend for a last minute break.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room in the modern block as apparently, these are much more modern and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pottsywottsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hi just returned from the Hotel Hermes and found it to be very pleasant, it is a climb from the church which made it difficult for me but I did manage it, breakfast very basic, if you wanted more you have to pay for it, The beach was nice sandy in some parts and a pebble in others, water very clear, were did it come from that the sea is cold is rubbish, very quite place, was on the ground floor which was good for me as I would of have to climb more, The owners very friendly and make you feel welcome .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renita2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks in Kefalos, Kos. September 8th to 22nd
This is a very quiet resort and not for the clubby people, however there were many young people here who seemed to be enjoying themselves, so not every youngster is club mad.

This is a really amazing place all the restaurants serve excellent food in large portions. There are a few that do stand out in my opinion. My number one rate is The Golden Fleece, if you like octopus try the one in vinegar, it is incredible and the best I have tasted anywhere I have been and his spaghetti, pizza and other dishes are fantastic. The Aphrodite, hosted by a young Greek couple who are out to impress with the little extras you get, such as free gratis bread, garlic bread and the food is delicious and the coffee liqueur after the meal is amazing.
I could really write about all the other places the same but these were our favourites.

If there is something special you want all the restaurants we visited will change dishes around for you, for instance if you want they're delicious roast or lemon potatoes with a dish that the menu says comes with chips, they will do it. If you want say two or three starters then share a main they will do it and give you the plates etc. to share onto, so don't be afraid to ask.

A must is a visit to the old village at the top of the hill and is well worth spending some time up there walking around as much as your legs and feet will take, visiting the old derelict windmills and the little narrow streets with the typical Greek houses and the old ladies going about there business. Then spend some time in one of the tavernas to watch the world go by. There is a bus service up there and also a little noddy train although not certain if this runs over all holiday months. I am not a great one for climbing hills but it doesn't take too long to walk up there at a slow rate with a bottle of water in hand, of course.

We stayed at the Hermes and I was a bit apprehensive about people saying that the distance and climb back up from the beach and restaurant area was bad but its not, yes its uphill but its not a mountain and it doesn’t take that long, in fact while we were there we met a very nice couple who appeared to be regular visitors and he walked with a stick and was dare I say older than me and we saw them go up and down a few times. Things to beware of here the breakfast is as many have said only either toast or cereal or you can pay for a cooked breakfast. We tended to have the toast or cereal and than eat later on down by the beach and in some cases they will let you have free sunbeds and umbrella.

There was no hot water in the mornings for showers etc. but this isn't unusual in some places in Greece due to the fact that later in the season the solar water heating systems don't heat up over night but by mid day there is hot water and plenty of it.
Diana and Sebastian and all the staff are really lovely and if you need anything they will help Just ask, don't be afraid. On one occasion I saw Sebastian go way above and beyond what a hotel owner would certainly do in many places, and indeed I would ever do for an awkward guest. Need I say more!. Just some of the other things they can do is, supply a hire car. exchange money etc. etc.

My one request to anyone who goes there is visit the Mythos bar and see Margarita and Ilias for a cocktail they are great and I swear that the cocktails get stronger on each visit. A great way to start the evening. Then walk either one way or the other looking at the menus outside the restaurants to choose your meal for the evening with no hassle from the restaurant owners so you can stand there studying and if you don’t see what you want ask for a menu to look at.

Its a great shame Rick Stein hasn't done a program on this place as it's food heaven.

Other info. We would have been better to get our Euros in the UK strangely enough as the rate there was poor only 1.11 Euro to the Pound.
Got bitten on the last week nothing seemed to fend them off with me, Avon Skin so soft, Jungle formulae, Antihistamines, Garlic etc. etc.
The beach is stony in most places but if you don't like that you can always do what we did, wear rubber soled beach shoes or walk down towards the harbour where there is a small sandy beach.

If you like Arrilas on Corfu, Kolios on Skiathos I am sure you will like Kefalos.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MartinMandyPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spent 11 nights at the Hermes enjoyed it, as already said the rooms are basic but cleaned everyday apart from Sundays, showers do tend to flood bathroom floor but this is Greece, breakfast is basic but you can pay for extras, we hired a kettle and mugs for 1 euro a day and took our own coffee, small fridge in room, Kefalos is a quiet resort but with plenty of nice restaurants to choose from and several bars, we did not have a bad meal and really enjoyed the food and I must say we found both food and drink very cheap in the resort compared to Kardamena. Hired a quad to look round which was fun and also got us back up the hill on an evening, hill fine until you get to the small church then its a case of pushing on but you can always get a drink at the bar to quench your thirst!!. Would return but not one for returning to same place, although we met many repeat visitors who have visited Kefalos for years.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
5.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: £28 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermes Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing