We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location!”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here in the Hermes during September. What a lovely hotel, helpful and welcoming staff. Stylish and spacious rooms. The pool makes this hotel with its stunning views across Kefalos. There is also a bar pool serving great snacks during the day. I cant wait to go back someday very soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Hermes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my two-week stay in the Hermes. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I had to climb 63 steps from the pool up to my room but the view was worth it! ...Kefalos and the bay looked stunning from my balcony every morning! Spectacular! Breakfast is very basic but plenty of delicious coffee to wash down the toast and jam! The room, which was cleaned every day, was comfortable and well-appointed.
Although I prefer the beach, the Hermes has a great swimming pool which is big enough for a proper swim. (There are lots of beaches to choose from)
It is a bit of a walk down to the beach and tavernas but I personally enjoyed the walk, even at the end of a night out! I would go back to the Hermes in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a great view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dory321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our second trip to the Hermes, and was still as good as two years ago.
Diana, Sebastion, Spiros have been joined by Nico and Katerina....Then to round things off Nick , Diana & Sebs son arrives !!
The hotel is very clean and has had alot of work done on it wich was noticable.
Breakfast is a no frill affair, but you can add to it what you want from an additional pay menu.
The hotel pool has plenty off free sun beds, and a snack bar.
The hotel bar at night can be busy or quiet..It just depends who's is there..
The owners and staff are very friendsly and nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel is located a walk away from the beach and up a steep hill and this may not suit everyone , but it suited us..!!
Thank you all again !!!

Room Tip: Block 4 is closest to the bar !!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GAZEFC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Having stayed at Hermes eight times since it opened in 1995 and planning an other visit in 2014 I can only say it gets better with every visit! Looking forward to going back in August 2014.
You can take a gentle stroll down to the bay for dinner at a number of Tavernas, we think Argos near the roundabout is the best. Then you can walk back to Hermes up the gentle incline to walk off your meal and enjoy a cocktail or two at the back open until late.
Alternatively you can go up to the old village of Kefalos enjoy a meal and then "roll" back down the hill to Hermes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

been to this hotel and cant fault it Diana and family were very helpful and friendly they could nt do enough for you rooms were very clean and and tidy had very good pool and pool bar that done snacks in a quiet location but just a stroll to resort top class hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early September 2013. The hotel was lovely. Really clean and in nice surroundings. We stayed in the new modern block and found it very comfortable.

The pool area was also very nice and well kept, with a poolside snack bar serving good quality food.

About breakfast...it is advertised as free "continental". This means you get toast and/or cornflakes. That's it. Anything else, you have to pay extra for. Now, for me and my husband this was not a problem at all because we don't usually have a big breakfast anyway and we already knew the situation before we arrived at the hotel. But, if you are expecting more at breakfast time, you will be disappointed.

The food served in the evening was delicious, authentic Greek food and as good as anything you may be served in a taverna. There was usually a choice of 2 or 3 starters and mains and then ice-cream for dessert. Again, this was not an issue for us because we don't go on holiday for the food, but if you do, then don't expect too much.

The staff at the Hermes are all brilliant - really friendly. Diana and Sebastian are lovely and always willing to help sort out any issues. We had a late flight home so we requested to keep the room until 7.00 pm and they were happy to oblige.

With regard to the resort, as we were there at the end on the season, it was pretty quiet, but there were still plenty of shops, bars and restaurants open. The beach is nice (but pebbly) and sunbeds are five euro for two.

Paradise beach is well worth a visit. You can hop on the bus right outside the Hermes and it's a 10 minute journey up the road. Sunbeds there are 8 euro for two (bit pricey). If you want to have something to eat at the beach, we found that the Paradise Beach Taverna at the top of the hill was far nicer than the snack bar nearer to the beach itself. The food was much better quality and there was not much difference in price. Also, the owner and his daughter were really lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble, plus the view is amazing.

Also worth a visit is the village of Zia and Kos Town. You can hire a car from the Hermes for about 35 euro, or get the bus to Kos Town which will cost you about 4 euros each.

All in all, we had a great holiday and would recommend for a last minute break.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room in the modern block as apparently, these are much more modern and comfor...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pottsywottsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hi just returned from the Hotel Hermes and found it to be very pleasant, it is a climb from the church which made it difficult for me but I did manage it, breakfast very basic, if you wanted more you have to pay for it, The beach was nice sandy in some parts and a pebble in others, water very clear, were did it come from that the sea is cold is rubbish, very quite place, was on the ground floor which was good for me as I would of have to climb more, The owners very friendly and make you feel welcome .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renita2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
477 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#6 of 13 in Kefalos
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: £37 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermes Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing