We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at the Hermes Hotel from 16 September for 2 weeks. Arriving in the early hours we were welcomed by Nick who had his sense of humour already for the new arrivals. The rooms were very clean and had a balcony with a lovely view of the sea and of the island with a very pretty greek white and blue church. We did not have a shower curtain when we first arrived but the very next morning we asked for one and next time we went back to our room the shower curtain had been put up. Also asked for extra pillows and again no problem they were there the next morning. Only thing was lacking in space to put your clothes but it wasn't problem we managed with what was there. We were 2 couples and the other couple had a problem with the balcony door not locking which was reported to the Thomas Cook rep who chased up the hotel for this to be fixed. A few days later the door still was not fixed so Sebastian asked if the problem had been sorted and as soon as he was told no he got on the phone and the door was fixed that day - no complaints on the service the hotel offered us. They were very cheerful and happy and had time to talk to you if you wanted to ask a question.

The breakfast seemed to be a problem for a lot of people who complained it wasn't enough. We thought that the choice of toast or cereal was fine as someone mentioned in an earlier review after eating greek food it's pretty heavy so you really don't want a large breakfast the next day. But if you do want more than the 2 slices of toast or good portion of cereal you could choose various things from the menu starting at 1 euro there was plenty of choice and definitely cheaper than the breakfasts down in Karami Bay. You could have as much coffee/tea/juice as you wanted - no complaints!! It did get to be a bit of fun waiting for the one person who would make a fuss over the breakfast it was certainly entertaining for us but not for Diana who took this to heart after trying her best to please everyone. Don't worry Diana we appreciated what you did!!!

The pool bar offered a good selection of lunches with Katarina serving each day with her very cheerful "come on down" when your meal was ready she really did make you smile. The food is cooked to order by Nick and they were a good team. The burgers were homemade by Diana and I was told they were very very nice.

The pool itself had plenty of sun loungers with the sun from 1st thing till about 5.30pm because of the location on the hill it was a lovely breeze to keep you cool during the lovely hot temperatures.

There is a bus stop opposite the hotel which will take you to many places of interest on the island including Kos Town, Paradise Beach, Kardema etc. We made the mistake of attempting to get the bus to Bubble Beach one day without realising that Paradise Beach was next to it and missed the stop (no signs for Bubble Beach). The bus driver said he would take us to another beach which he did Mastihari and we had a lovely day. We were not quite dressed to go to Kos Town for the day with flippers, snorkes and flip flops. We took a trip over from Kamari Bay to Nysiros Volcano which takes just over an hour on the boat and then about 20 minutes on the coach from the harbour up to the volcanco which was worth the visit and something different to see. We hired a car for a few days to get out and about and visited Kos Town and visited the hot springs just outside of Kos Town.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Kos was the most relaxing place we have visited and we were all of the opinion we would like to come back one day and we would also stay in the Hermes Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casperfatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

I travelled to Kefalos with a group of ten assorted friends and familys and spouses and in-laws, and would head back tomorrow.

The hotel is a short drive from the airport, no problems either way with our transfers.
We arrived very early in the morning and were greeted by owner Sebastian, who welcomed myself and my friends (Kefalos regulars) with all the warmth of family and showed us to our rooms.

Newly refurbished, the rooms are spotless, and cleaned every day except Sundays by a friendly woman who says a cheery "Kalimera!" The air-con was a must in July, as the rooms face the sun all day and can get quite hot. Comfy beds, good showers, nice balcony and a fridge that we stockpiled with bottled water and chocolate.

Diana (wife) was there to serve breakfast, which was basic- cereal or toast with tea and coffee, but no more basic that most places in Kefalos. You can have eggs and omelette types things for a few euros extra.
We only ate at the hotel one night, staying for the barbeque buffet. Sitting on the balcony, with the sun setting, the meat grilling, and mountains of home-cooked food, it was delicious.

The hotel pool and loungers are bathed in sun all day, and up high on the hill you get a great breeze to counteract the soaring temperatures. The pool bar serves ice-cream, drinks and snacks all day. The salads were a bit disppointing, but the tuna-club a definite winner.

The bar/lounge area is a bit old-fashioned in comparison to the sleek new bedrooms, but just as clean and staffed by the ever-enthusiastic Nick and Spiros: two great guys who mix up drinks, keep the music rolling, plays cards and generally fill the place with a relaxed and fun vibe. Nick is friends with just about every Hermes resident on facebook, a testament to his skill at making you feel like you're old friends when you've only been there a week.

The location, halfway up the hill to Kefalos town and also several steps in the hotel grounds themselves, is not ideal for everyone. With our hired quadbikes we never had to worry about dragging our tired legs up the hill at the end of a night. Personally, I loved the view and the quiet up on the hill, especially watching the sun rise over the bay one late night/early morning..

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah_mccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

After looking for a last minute holiday at a hectic time for us, my partner & I decided to book up at the Hermes hotel. It was just as we read on trip adviser before we went. It was quiet, relaxing & hot. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, the food was good. Portions aren't huge, but that is a good thing for me. No puds after main course either (again not a bad thing for me). I enjoyed the food though. The rooms in the hotel are basic, bed, bathroom, shower, toilet, sink, hairdryer & fridge. The fridge went off once the key card was taken out of the electric switch at door, but rooms were cleaned every day. In Kefalos, which is not a long walk down the hill, the restaurants were very well priced for meals & drinks. I recommend hiring a quad bike for getting around, they are fun & cheap. If anyone is looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday in the sun, you can't go far wrong with booking this holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat1_small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I think we probably picked a bad week to stay at this hotel. We were told that previous to our arrival there had been no-one staying for half board that week and Nick the son was ready to go home to New York but Diane the mother, realised that she had taken on a bit too much. They dont have a very big dining area and certainly dont have enough space to set out food for a larger than expected crowd for the buffet and barbeques. The people we arrived with all called it faulty towers! It was a hit and a miss if you got your extras at breakfast and one morning they had a power cut and they had no toast for a while but Sebastian was telling everyone it was the whole island, it was not - it must have been a fuse or something in the kitchen! Dont go half board, there's not enough choice, the waiter quite often left us sitting (I dont think our face fitted either) there's only two courses but we paid £10.00 each which was certainly not worth it. I got the impression that this family were feeling the pinch and the portions were not big enough for men who like their food so your best to go out and try the eating places in Kefalos. Our room was nice and clean but the toilets at the poolside had no towels and no soap - you had to dry your soapless hands on toilet roll! The downstairs toilets had no toilet seat in one and the doors had no locks and did not close properly - Im really surprised no-one has picked this up - maybe we just spent too much time in the hotel and noticed things. Nick the son is great he makes the place but the dad does not look as though he enjoys working there and we found him to be a bit grumpy. Wish we had not taken the half board option and from what I here they are going to upgrade the dining area and lounge. We had a great holiday with the company we met and the weather was great but I think the hotels in Kefalos are going to have to come into the 20th century and why have they no taxis??? They could have done with some more staff but I think we just arrived on the wrong week where they were really struggling to cope and by the way the barbeque night did not go down well at all with our friends who paid 10 euros and never ate it. I had really high hopes after reading reviews but I was disappointed - too hilly and too many steps up to your room. I suppose its a good base to stay if you dont want to hang about the hotel a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We've just come back from The Hermes and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel was fantastic and Kefalos is lovely. A few things about the hotel:

1) Cleanliness - very clean, towels and sheets were changed every day (at worst every two days) - not sure what the previous person is talking about. We only ever saw two cleaners and they do such a fantastic job and the whole hotel was always spotless. Couldn't fault it.
2) Location - Ok, first things first, it is on a hill, but nothing like anything SO many people complain about. It takes 10 mins from the sea front and less than 5 mins from bottom of the hill. The views from the hotel are fantastic and as I really can't see why so many people complain about the "mountain" so much. It's a very SLIGHT inlcine!
3) Rooms - Rooms are very basic, but a good bathroom and everything you could need for a holiday (it's not like you really stay in them for that long). The only complaint I could give is the fact that there was not a double bed (but there never are in Greek Islands) and there wasn't a net for the balcony door to stop the flies coming in at night,
4) Service - Excellent service, Seb, Diana, Nick, Maria and Spiros are all excellent. Such a nice family and always happy to help. They all work so hard and really helped make our holiday that much better.
5) Value - Our holiday was very cheap, however, we were B&B and only had the choice of Toast OR Cereal. Anything else you had to pay extra for. It wasn't that much more expensive but when you're B&B you don't really expect to be paying for extras. However, pancakes, greek yoghurts and cooked breakfast were all excellet (and cheap enough).
6) Sleep Quality - Very quiet, the only problem was that it was very hot (even in mid September). The Air Con was 7 Euros a day (we thought this was very expensive) so we opted for a fan which was only 10 Euros for the week. The first week we struggled to sleep, but in the second week with the fan, it made such a difference and would recommend this to everyone.

Overall, this was a fab holiday, a great hotel and excellent service. Be warned that there are a few extras that you do need to take into consideration, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Hermes. We would happily go back and highly recommend this hotel if you're looking to go to Kefalos. If you have any questions on the hotel, location or anything else about Kefalos or Kos, feel free to ask me.

Thanks to everyone at the Hermes Hotel for making our holiday so special.

Daf & Rach

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsion_cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

just returned from a week at the hermes if like everyone else you expect to have a catered for relaxing holiday well forget it on arrival other guests were quick to inform us the food is awful so take it with a pinch of salt but sure enough it was awful .
the next set back no towels in room , no coat hangers it took two days to source coathangers hotel owners nice enpogh but if your face dont fit it dont fit there are no taxis there is however on a possitive note a very good and reliable bus service the bus picks up outside hotel entrance and drops off .
food locally is superb tried several restraunts and food brilliant back to the negatives the sheets are supposed to be changed we think every three days ours were not changed at allspoke to a maid who understood every word and assured we would have fresh sheets but they never appeared. i could go on but i think you have a taste of what im going on about.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Having read all the reviews on here I thought this hotel sounded too good to be true, but it really is. Having decided on a very last minute holiday I wasnt too sure what to expect but was pleasently surprised and would definatly go back.
The rooms are clean and modern with the maid coming everyday to change the towels and sheets apart from sunday. The pool is large with plenty of sunbeds, the snackbar which opens at midday serves good food at excellent prices. The family run business sets it apart from any hotel i've been too they are all so friendly and helpful, and Diana makes the best food ever!
The hill really isnt that bad take it slow and you will make it but it's worth it as the views are spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwade14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
175 reviews
5.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kefalos
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: £28 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hermes Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Kefalos, Kos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing