We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night stopover”
Review of La Hacienda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Hacienda
Morgan Co, AL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great night stopover”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice, cute evening at this hotel. Came with a tour group on our way to Boquete. Decor is adorable, colorful, lots of Mexican art. Pool was refreshing and clean. Restaurant was great. Great service and most of the staff spoke great English. I had the green chili enchiladas....wonderful. Rooms are small, but clean and functional. We did not try the casino.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    48
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
27
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way to PC. It's right on the highway so convenient, but you're basically stuck here, and it's a slightly incongruous Mexican themed motel with no personality, odd as that sounds for somewhere so determinedly 'styled'. Lurid out of place décor, fishbowl like rooms (ours had internal windows on a long dark corridor from which you could just about see over to the central courtyard), big, very impersonal, restaurant food slow to arrive and really not great. We all just couldn't understand the point of it, or why people might choose to stay there for any reason other than convenience. That said, the rooms are large, comfy and there's very good quality room amenities with hair dryer/good bathroom etc, so if you want a safe and quiet place to sleep of a good standard, it's fine. Pool nice enough, but lots of concrete! I would not want to be stuck here for more than a night really, safe and easy but no soul. And whatever you do, avoid the casino that's attached - we popped in as we wanted a beer after dinner and thought it could be fun in a trashy/Atlantic City type way, but even the most hardened of us soon ran out as it was thoroughly depressing: huge hall, bland décor and lots of miserable looking people at machines, none of the fun or even novelty value you might expect. So, overall, fine for a decent stopover sleep at good price, definitely not a destination, unless you have a thing for novelty mexicana

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rachstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Returning from David to Panama City after the scenic route through Boquete and beyond, we decide to stop at a conveniently posistioned location. Staff was helpful and the restaurant served portions of Paella that were more than consumable at one sitting. However, they maked and stored them in the refrigerator for us as take-out on departure. Our room was second floor, far corner from the reception area. Although exhaustion took over, sleep was interrupted at midnight by the building vibrating subwoofers of a sound system. Impossible to sleep, I walked to check if it was another guest but it turned out to be featured entertainment and lasted until 0100. If you are staying to party, it may be the perfect place but for a weary traveler, reconsider. Cleanilness of bathroom needs improvement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santiago de Veraguas hotels

Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

From what I could tell, this was a hot spot for the kids among the adults - and adult entertainment with the casino. The decor is definitely bright and unusual, but in a good way. The grounds are nice and beautiful plants abound. I wish I could say the same about the rooms. The rooms were clean; however, they were more like going on a camping trip. My husband and I were forced to sleep on a full-sized bed when we are used to queen or king. The pillows had been washed so much that they felt like cottage cheese in a bag. I honestly prayed for morning to come so we could leave. The restaurant service and quality of food was good, and for the most part fast. Wi-fi was available in the lobby and pool area. However, our room was close to the lobby so we were able to connect in our room. We stayed her as part of a tour group. If I were in the area again, I wouldn't stay here because of the bed quality. If you're into kitschy, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsynhobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Clean and comfortable, swimming pool, casino and restaurant located on property. Located right on the Pa American highway.
$99, double per night. Great place to stop if going in between Panama City and David.

Room Tip: They'll let you inspect the rooms and pick what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My tour group spent a night here en route to Boquete. As far as I can tell, there are not many choices in this town. It looks a bit like a tourist shop someplace (anyplace?) in Mexico but it is indeed in Panama. They've got a pool and a casino and the restaurant/bar area is fine. Pool had water slides for the kids. The food was actually quite decent. Good breakfast (ordered from the menu.) There are also conference facilities. Perfectly acceptable place for a rest, sleep, meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decoamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Despite a glitch when attempting on-line reservations from the States, we checked in without problems. Desk staff have very little English. After visiting three separate years we have yet to try the extensive, kid-friendly water park or separate pool,or visit the attached casino; we come for the colorful Mexican decor and restaurant, which has a friendly waitstaff and an extensive menu.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Veraguas
0.2 mi away
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Cente...
#1 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
200 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#2 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gran David
Hotel Gran David
#3 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galeria Hotel
Galeria Hotel
#3 of 7 in Santiago de Veraguas
51 reviews
24.4 mi away
Casa Friuli Ecolodge Las Minas & Coffee House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hacienda

Property: La Hacienda
Address: Via Interamericana, Santiago de Veraguas, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hacienda 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hacienda Hotel Santiago De Veraguas
La Hacienda Panama/Veraguas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing