We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay and clos to the nature.”
Review of Hostal Veraguas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Veraguas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Veraguas
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed with my husband in the private room. it was really clean, big and confortable. We could cook and use everything in the kitchen and the owner is really kind. We talked to her a lot and she told us amazing stories of her life and Panama. She is really friendly and helpful. If I have the opportunity to go to Panama again, of course I will stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranStela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stayed at Hostal Veraguas 3 nights while I was touring the country of Panama. It was the first time I had ever stayed in a hostal, and I found it to be quite acceptable and a great experience overall. The owner is very nice, and the place is clean and well equipped for longer stays or short trips.

I would definitely stay here again when I need comfortable, clean accommodations inside the city of Santiago.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VagabonDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Since the first time I have been in Hostal Veraguas, I felt it was a place to come back to, not only for the warm hospitality of Lidia ( the owner) and the affordable prices but also for its unique peaceful and home-like atmoshpere. So I became affectionate friend, rataher than a guest, as it became like a second home since I was spending there my days-off when working in Panama. Definitely my favourite room was Santa Fè, which has its unique charm which I prefer to the most luxury hotels.
Santiago, despite not offering very much as a city, has an interesting district and it is in a strategical position to visit Panama or to rest if coming back from Costa Rica.
Lidia is also environmental-concerned and she offers eco activities and she likes to talk about new ones....and, if youlike painting, will give you the unique experience of leaving a footprint of yourself on the hostal walls.

Room Tip: Santa Fè and San Francisco, both on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hostel offers a variety of rooms from dorm style to double private rooms. Prices are of the lowest I found in Panama and for what is offered it is more than reasonable.The whole place has lots of charm which is even topped by Lidias warm, friendly and always helpful person. She owns the place and operates it with all her heart. She will be eager to solve any inconvenince you might experience and is always interested in suggestions for improvement. Some aspects of the hostel go into the camping direction but with the pleasant part of having a roof over your head and Wifi if you need it. There are two kitchens you can use, one Panamanian style with a fire place and one quite good equipped "normal" version. Since the whole hostel is built around her own house and so to speak in her garden you will also be abled to get to know some Panamanian plants from kitchen herbs to fruit trees and orchids. I stayed here several times alone and also with company and I'm sure to come back whenever I will be in Santiago again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this hostel a number of times and we found the owner very helpful and friendly. The hostel is clean and has a very unique "waste not" style starting with the numerous labeled garden edibles to the painting on the walls from previous lodgers. Very near to the bus stop (40cents to the terminal) and a mini market and budget restaurant. If you´re on a tight budget this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank EgS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Out of all the hostels and B&B's in Panama I stayed at (and there were quite a few over 4 weeks) I found the Hostal Veraguas to be one of the more hospitable and by far the cheapest. Lydia (owner/operator) is a sweetheart and will do whatever she can to make your stay pleasant. She also gives discounts on lodging if you do community service work with her or help around the place! Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: If you prefer sleeping solo she has nice private rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We used Santiago as a stopover for our journey from Santa Catalina to Boqueta.

The Verugas Hostel is a long walk, or under two dollars in a cab fare, from the city centre. But we think it is worth the extra steps into the suburbs.

The hostel owner is lovely, obliging, well prepared, has a good hold of English and a fun sense of humour.

Our room was the Santa Fe double, which was beautifully decorated and included a full canopy mosquito net over the double bed, sofa, balcony, bath/shower and large fan (no a/c but we found it was fine with just fan). Very good value.

Santa Fe Room - double with bath/ shower - $10 pp

Our room certainly seemed like the best room, with dorms being slightly more simple.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaysOfDeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Veraguas
0 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#2 of 5 in Santiago de Veraguas
109 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gran David
Hotel Gran David
#3 of 5 in Santiago de Veraguas
155 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Hacienda
La Hacienda
#4 of 5 in Santiago de Veraguas
95 reviews
0 mi away
Galeria Hotel
Galeria Hotel
#3 of 8 in Santiago de Veraguas
53 reviews
0 mi away
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Cente...
#1 of 5 in Santiago de Veraguas
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Veraguas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Veraguas

Address: Barriada San Martin 5, Calle C Norte, Santiago de Veraguas 0923, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range: £4 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a local budget hostel, we offer lodging for travelers; several dorms and privates, hammocks or bring your own tent. We also offer free wireless internet or use of our computer, kitchen usage, storage, TV and movies, tourist information, parking, book exchange, etc. We also provide for low price Spanish lessons, information about volunteer work in the communities, universities, international phone calls (you must provide phone cards available next door), cheap laundry service and continental breakfast for a $1.00 extra. For after hours services, please call ahead on time. We can customize a travel package for you and your group. Possible activities include surfing instruction, scuba diving, sea kayaking, tubing, horse riding, etc The volunteers get special rate and the same for the ones staying longer. Ah! bring your friends and you get discount (just let us know). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Veraguas Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing