We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel in Santiago de Veraguas reasonably priced”
Review of Hotel Gran David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gran David
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel in Santiago de Veraguas reasonably priced”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Santiago de Veraguas is not Paris, that's for sure. It is a town on the way to Chiriquí Province and it is comfortable to stop if you do not want a long drive from Panama City. There is not much in this town and no first class restaurants. So staying at the Hotel Gran David is a treat, an oasis in this town. The hotel is modern, clean and well appointed. Good air conditioning, excellent television with International channels, and a large bathroom. Nice pool. I would have liked a bar in the lobby so guests could have a leisurely before or after dinner drink. Service at the restaurant can be slow if there are too many guests, but the food is very good. I would also add several flavors of ice cream so that there would be a choice for dessert. All in all, I can recommend this hotel and all things considered a leading player in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    62
    31
    7
    12
See reviews for
38
44
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was only able to stay here one night as I was traveling with colleagues to Los Santos the next day to teach there, but I wish I could have stayed longer.

The room was really excellent. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was elegant - a huge shower, excellent amenities. Clean, comfortable, and stylish too.

We were there only briefly, and so missed the pool (rats - it sounds great!)

The restaurant served decent, although not stellar, food, but the service was very, very slow. We were shocked that it took almost an hour for several members of our party to get their food. Yes, the dining room was busy, but not that busy. What is worse, one of the people in our party told us that this was usual at this hotel (people from our group usually stay there when in Santiago)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a recently refurbished hotel, which brings back the small-town era of Santiago de Veraguas. The day we arrived it was raining, so we could not use the pool, apparently the have a bar poolside. They do not have a bar in the lobby or close to the restaurant. The rooms are comfortable, well air conditioned and with a good selection of channels on their TV including CNN. We had an excellent internet connection. The best was the service in the restaurant and the food itself. Filet steak was nicely done, the soups are very good. They did not have dessert available which is not usual in a hotel restaurant, perhaps because we went on a Monday. Wine by the glass was available, and good. All in all, a very good option if you want to be happy and comfortable at an affordable rate.Overall better than their competition.

Room Tip: The ones next to the pool are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordKeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you add up amenities in a hotel, this is really the best option in Santiago de Veraguas. It quite modern, with ample and comfortable rooms. Nice pool area. Good air conditioning and TV. The restaurant is the best in the area, we had dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both. Very well located, I would recommend it for families as well as business visitors.

Room Tip: The ones next to the pool are good if you wish to have a dip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A beautiful property with different options to suite every need. The hotel is centrally located, clean and comfortable. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rain showers are perfect at the end of the day. The restaurant is terrific and the bar was enjoyed by many. We will make our way back to Santiago to enjoy the area and the hotel.

Room Tip: Nice, quiet hotel. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klw4307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Let's be frank here. Santiago is kind of a truck stop town. This place is a freaking oasis. That said, here are some details about our 1 night stay between bus rides. The common areas are absolutely beautiful and tranquil. The pool area is gorgeous -- hello swim-up bar! The rooms are nestled in outdoor hallways with gardens in between. Again, lovely! Our room was small (perfect for our needs), had a futon couch, tv, AC, coffee table, desk, and mini fridge. It also had a shower drain that was plugged and a sink that leaked all over the bathroom floor. On occasion, cigarette smoke wafted into our room. We also had a steady stream of tiny ants. But this is Panama. Ants happen all the time. Bonus: there is a restaurant that serves decent food. It's not gourmet. But I've got a lot of food restrictions and I still had plenty of choices on the menu. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back and NOT on the gas station side (left). The gas station is VERY loud and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegetarianViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We decided to stop in Santiago for some visits to villages in the neighbourhood, and you can easily get to this hotel from where the Ciudad de Panamá-David coach lets you out. We hadn´t reserved and were offered an interesting price (52$ including wifi, use of a nice pool). The room was nicely decorated and it was the only time during our holiday in Panamá the shower had a good shower head!!! The restaurant is alright as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Veraguas
1.7 mi away
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Cente...
#1 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
200 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#2 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
106 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Hacienda
La Hacienda
#4 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galeria Hotel
Galeria Hotel
#3 of 7 in Santiago de Veraguas
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran David

Property: Hotel Gran David
Address: Via Interamericana | By Mc Donalds, Santiago de Veraguas 0923, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gran David 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a classical hotel in Santiago, with the best rate and the best location! It is located right on Via Interamericana, by Mc Donald's - very easy to find and everybody knows where we are! Hotel Gran David offers the "BEST DEAL" in Santiago, it has the best price for very good rooms. We have remodeled rooms and bathrooms (new tiles), LCD, cable TV, duvet covers (we love this system because it permits our guests to sleep on a clean bed), hot water, and free wireless. Also, our restaurant is great! Our breakfasts are very famous (try our tortillas) and lunch menus at only $3.50. Super cheap!We look forward to receiving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gran David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran David Panama/Veraguas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing