We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Veraguas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Veraguas”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is by far the best hotel in Veraguas, and perhaps all of the central provinces (provincias centrales). Just over a year old, the hotel is beautifully designed. As you can guess from the name, its decor is inspired by the Greek island Mykonos, because its developer/owners are descendants from Greek immigrants who settled in Santiago (where I grew up too). The lobby is large, airy and impressive. The pool is very nice with three different levels and suitable for children. It has a swim-up bar, but unfortunately it was not staffed when we were there. The room where we stayed was very comfortable (king-sized bed, hot showers, a/c, large flatscreen TV, free wifi, coffee-maker). As another reviewer said, I wish it had a blower, an iron and and iron table, items that are standard in other hotels in this price range. We also visited the bar, where the drinks and food were good, but service was slow. Our rate included free breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant is nice and modern, and the breakfast is buffet-style with typical panamanian fare, which was delicious. Overall a really nice property and great addition to Santiago de Veraguas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony for a nice view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazoonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    71
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
67
55
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The property itself is beautiful and very clean and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable. The people who work there were also very friendly for the most part. However, the service was the worst I've ever experienced in Panama. The waitresses and waiters weren't trained. For example, I ordered a scotch and when I passed through the bar later they had several kinds! The Mojito I ordered instead was wonderful so it made up for it. Also during the meals at dinner and breakfast we had to get up repeatedly to ask for drinks, coffee, juice silverware etc...
When we ordered breakfast there were really unfortunate combinations that they were unwilling to change. The breakfast was included with the room so we had to pay extra to get different bread instead of toast and they ran out of orange juice. We had to get up to get coffee the first time and for refills. Very frustrating. If you stay here try not to eat here too.

Room Tip: If you have extra people make sure to ask for extra towels, cups & glasses; they won't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGBinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

It's hard to find in the country side a good place to stay. This hotel looks great, details are part of the experience. We reserved the master suit, at arrival, it was taken, no problem. We opted for the next level down. They made it up with a discount and an extra breakfast for the hole family.

Room was very nice, included a small convenient kitchen. Which had a broken faucet sink. At bed time, the blackouts where short so a pin had to be used to fully get a dark room.

No blower, no iron or iron table were available. We never asked for those items but usually are standard in any good hotel.

Although we found a couple shrimps under the sofa it was pretty clean. I recommend this place which is not cheap but they will get better over time.

Enjoy your stay at Mykonos.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J Ferdinando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great room / great service. Very nice, new hotel in Santiago. Very nice, modern European style decor. Very quiet, relaxing visit. Pool is nice, with a swim-up bar. Free Panamanian style breakfast was quite good--ask for some tortillas and queso blanco.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PCH3USAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The hotel is located at the entrance of Santiago de Veraguas - aprox. 300 km from the Tocumen International Airport in Panama City.
it´s only a few months old; and fits perfectly into the scenery - compared to the new mall which is currently under construction a few hundred meters away from the hotel.

Check-in was quick; the staff helpful.
The lobby is large and tastefully designed - open and wide spaces.
Due to the "open doors", the lobby is not really air-conditioned and Panama is HOT and HUMID.

The rooms are nice - but the aircondition is relatively slow and it took almost 30 minutes to get the room cooled down.
My call to check, if the aircondition is working was answered politely and maintenance came after 5 minutes - equipped with the latest IR thermometer - to tell me that everything´s OK but the aircon needs time.

A clean room; good stable internet (complimentary); a nice large flat TV and a
coffeemaker are part of the room.

The elegant bathroom was also very clean - with a nice tropical shower. Wooow...

Outside, a large swimming pool with chairs - nice to relax; I wish I have had time to do so.

In the main building, there´s also a gym: new and modern equipment (cardio, weights, machines); very well maintained.
On certain days/hours, classes are given (mixture of cardio and flexibility training) - participation is free for hotel guests.

There are no eating options in near walking-distance of the hotel so I decided to try the restaurant.
Dinner was excellent; great food - but a bit pricy for Panama.

Breakfast the next morning was a bit disappointing: very small portions and again - another restaurant with artificial orange juice. Disgusting!

All in all: nice place - possibly one of the best (or the best?) you can find in/around Santiago.

If I come back? Sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

As a Panama travel expert focusing on the interior of Panama, I think this is the best place to stay in the area. It's new, fresh, with a great decor and location on the east side of town. You can still get anywhere as it's on the Interamerican Highway, but it's away from the bustle of the center of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Lovely hotel awesome swimming pool and poolside bar. Service was good. Restaurant however needs some attention with food and service, ate here three times and each meal was very disappointing. Food was not tasty even for simple things like Fettuccine, Lasagna and rice, desserts were more disappointing. A fabulous hotel and will stay here again but not eat there again. I recommend stay but not food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Veraguas
7.9 mi away
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
#2 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gran David
Hotel Gran David
#3 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Hacienda
La Hacienda
#4 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Express Inn Coronado Hotel & Camping
1.0 mi away
Galeria Hotel
Galeria Hotel
#4 of 7 in Santiago de Veraguas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Via Inter Americana | Frente al Aeropuerto Ruben Cantu, Santiago de Veraguas 0923, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get ready to experience the newest hotel in Santiago! Made for both business travelers and leisure, enjoy spacious rooms, modern technology and services designed with comfort and convenience in mind. Mykonos Hotel is located near the local airport and the next Santiago Mall, where shops and restaurants are near you. The property offers 92 rooms and suites with mediterranean decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center Panama/Veraguas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing