We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect food, relaxed service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Mercato

Il Mercato
Ranked #2 of 64 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Il Mercato - a truly authentico Italiano trattoria. Experience the very best of Italian food, wine and service. Our handmade dishes are made with passione, using the finest, freshest ingredients from Italian and local producers. Everything - from the music, the scenes, the focaccia to the gelato, even the pottery and lighting - are tutto Italiano!
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“perfect food, relaxed service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been to this restaurant numerous times over the last serveral years, for me itis close to home, comfortable atmosphere, scumptious italian food. My favorite insalada is the Marinated Grilled Vegetables, organic greens,Goat cheese, with balsamic vinaigrette, every bite is so fresh and tasty. I like a simple pasta so the Spaghettini, E.V. olive oil, garlic, Italian parsley, chilies, with Parmigiano is for me. As a family we have tried most things on the menu and have always been happy with quality, price and service. Service is friendly and relaxed, we've never felt rushed here. Lots of time for conversation with vino! This is our go to restaurant in Bedford! For busy nights, reservations are recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha37_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    149
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I love going here for lunch with girlfriends. This time I went with my husband for a romantic evening. We had wonderful Italian food perfectly paired with excellent wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NSTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Consistently Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Being so close to home, Il Mercato has become one of our "ol' reliable"s!
The service is ALWAYS friendly, helpful and patient, even on busy occasions like NYE. We were last there with my in-laws who both forgot their glasses and couldn't read the menu... The restaurant actually already had a couple of pairs purchased for that exact purpose!
Equally as importantly, the food is ALWAYS fantastic. Among my favourites are the risotto croquettes, the slow roasted lamb foccaccia, the linguine carbonara and the beef tenderloin. In 15+ visits, we have honestly never had a bad experience, we always leave very full and very happy :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fierykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Situated conveniently in the Sunnyside Mall in Bedford this wonderful Italian restaurant serves amazing pasta and incredible pizza! Daily specials are prepared with ingenuity and flare and offer flavourful and interesting combinations of ingredients. Desserts are not to be missed and are on display to whet your appetite even more. The homemade gelatos and sorbets are oh so good! The decor is comfortable and this bright upper level restaurant has a wide expanse of windows. Absolutely delicious food!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicious food, relaxed service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went there for my wife's birthday. The food was of very high quality (with matching prices), and the desserts were a stand out, too. If I had a quibble, it would be that the service (on this night, at least) was a bit more relaxed than we prefer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank stuartrmwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Mercato also viewed

Bedford, Halifax Region
Bedford, Halifax Region
 
 

Been to Il Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing