We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a courtyard room with terrace. The room appeared to be newly refurbished to a very high standard and there were lots of touches which have been missing from severaL 5 * hotels at which I've stayed e.g free water, fruit, chocolates, newspaper. Dressing gowns were also provided and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our meal was good and the surroundings are very quiet and relaxing. We were not disturbed by banging doors or maids. I think we were fortunate there was no wedding as the place is clearly geared up for functions. For us it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    250
    68
    17
    9
See reviews for
155
610
15
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We had a great night at Oakley Hall with friends. The rooms were beautifully furnished, beautiful views and grounds. The food was delicious and imaginative. Would definately go back. Came away feeling refreshed and relaxed.
Would have liked a spa/swimming pool facility if I was staying more than one night though.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaycheO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Very high quality rooms everything has been thought of, top class soraker system, sait con and even including a powerful hair dryer!Try and book rooms with a garden. They are more spacious and have French doors going out on to your own garden terrace.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slimlinegandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, Bucks
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed overnight here after my friends wedding. The hotel really is lovely and has wonderful grounds. We had a courtyard room with huge bed (kingsize?) lots of space, flat screen telly, fruit bowl, chocolates, fridge with complementary water, White Company bathroom products. It felt so clean and everything really good quality - to be expected for the price. Breakfast was buffet-style and very tasty, though you could order special items if desired.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katkuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

My wife and I went to Oakley Hall to celebrate her birthday using the hotels Romantic Getaway package and had a brilliant stay. Arrival was friendly and helpfull. The Executive Courtyard Room was very good, the only slight downside was the size of the bed for someone over 6' tall. In fact the bed looked 'lost' considering the size of the bedroom. The food at dinner was of Michelin * standard, my peppered steak was the best I have ever tasted. The staff were extremely professional. The grounds of 315 acres are well kept as is the whole of the hotel. We looked at the 'cottage' and thought it would be a fantastic place for family / stags / hens who wanted to make a bit of noise without upsetting the rest of the hotel guests. The only downside could be the lack of a Spa but with only 18 rooms it may not be financially viable for the owners.
Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Go on treat yourself, you won't regret it. The hote is really lovely, staff are brilliant and the food ain't too shabby either!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed here for my husbands birthday. Having read the other reviews, I was really looking forward to my stay. I booked the romance package and we were given room 9 in the courtyard area.

The food was absolutely top notch- the best bit of our stay here! The slight disappointment was that there was a wedding going on at the time, so all the communal rooms were occupied and we felt like wedding crashers!

Our room was slightly smaller than the standard rooms as some have a private terrace.

Despite the small issues, it was good value for money and I would definitely go again, when there wasn't a wedding on and in a different room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#5 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
19.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Property: Oakley Hall Hotel
Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Until 2009 Oakley Hall Hotel solely hosted weddings, meetings, conferences and events, before becoming established as one of the leading hotels in Hampshire, along with the 2 AA Rosette restaurant. In 2014, a major £4 million restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful 3-bedroom Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Hall Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing