We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL”
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

What a truly amazing hotel. I have stayed in many 4 / 5 Star hotels and this one deserves to be moved up from a 4 to a 5 star hotel. The staff are the most friendliest and helpful I have ever met at a hotel. We stayed for 3 nights in the Courtyard Suite which has been beautifully laid out and fitted with a luxurious bathroom, drawing room, and a mezzanine level bedroom with separate sitting area. There are two flat screen tv's both with blu ray players and media hubs. The lighting was also very ambient with electronic dimmer switches. Air conditioning worked a treat. Nice little touches were having fresh biscuits, not the usual cheap ones in a packet, a fresh fruit bowl and also fresh milk! The house keeping staff were also very attentive and worked very hard to ensure our stay was very pleasant. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order not buffet. They would even cook something that wasn't on the menu. From a previous review I noted the comment about yoghurt and fresh fruits not being there, these were available on request. The grounds are well landscaped and with the bedrooms being in an old stable block next to the main house it meant you explore some of it whilst walking down for breakfast. a golf umbrella was provided for if it rained - which it did! All in all I have not a single bad word to say about this hotel, I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGKR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Basingstoke area is very poor for decent hotels however Oakley Hall shines and has given me a reason to smile rather frown when I have to stay in the area. The rooms are wonderful, the service is great and whilst the only meal I ate was breakfast was good if not quite as good as I had hoped for (lack of fresh fruit, yoghuts, breads etc) but overall its a 4+ place and one I look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristowps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Booked Oakley by chance as we left it too late to get something in - we were really glad we did!

Only a short drive to Basingstoke, the hotel is stunning - rooms spacious (was lucky enough to have room 17), staff helpful and pleasant - cannot fault really, perhaps a tad expensive, but you feel like you get what you pay for, so not really a valid grumble.

Will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottVonHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for the New Year's Eve Dinner and Dance and enjoyed every moment. We arrived at 2pm ( check in is 3pm ) but the room was ready so no problem. Check in was seamless with a very helpful and pleasant receptionist. We made our way into the courtyard which is through a security gate ( which is good as the Hotel really is in the middle of the country). The room was lovely, well fitted furniture, good amenities and plenty of information regarding the hotel and surrounding area. The bathroom was lovely with in-bath overhead power shower and lovely underfloor heating which in December is a real bonus!
We made our way to the main building ( which has no accommodation - only conference rooms) along with a library, a lounge room and a small amount of seating in the bar area. We had a late lunch which consisted of sandwiches, fries and a couple of drinks and the bill was no more than £25 – which we felt was a fair price for what we received. Others have mentioned that there was a lack of staff – yes, they are doing other things but when you are away for the weekend do you really need to be served STRAIGHT away? At most we never waited more than a couple of minutes – if they had to man the bar all the time then the cost would surely be higher than we were already paying – thanks but I’ll wait a couple of minutes!
The dinner on New Year's Eve was superb. The meal was excellent, the food delicious, the entertainment was good and the fireworks at midnight were really surprisingly good (apparently they were the company that were at The Ritz last New Year- they really were very impressive). My only negative comment would be the fact that after the meal the tables were not cleared of plates which meant that even at 1.30am there was still cutlery and crockery on the tables!
Breakfast in the morning was lovely, it was a buffet with plenty of cereals, juices and pastries. There were scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon and black pudding but you could order other breakfast items from the waiting staff.
Check out was 11am which is good as it meant there was no rush to leave. We went for a walk in the surrounding grounds – the walks are well signposted so you can't get lost.
There were comments on previous reviews regarding the Nursing Home that is housed in part of the main building siting that it made the guests feel uncomfortable walking past but they are completely segregated from the main building and they were waving at us through the window so the natives are very friendly ( I want to be nursed in somewhere that grand!) Someone also complained about the route to and from the main building being in the open but a large golf umbrella is provided so no problem really. Another complaint was that the accommodation was in the old stables but it's OK the horses and hay have gone!!
All in all we had a really lovely overnight stay and would definitely go back again probably for New years Eve as it really was very good. It was not cheap the dinner etc was £119 each and the accommodation was £100 each but we felt we had good value for money so the cost was immaterial.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roleb5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here for just one night, the hotel is in lovely grounds with friendly attentive staff.
The room was not in the main hotel,but in the square which i think was once an old stable block, not that you would ever know as its all very new,the room was really nicely decorated and very comfortable,bathroom and shower was just want you want. all in all very tasteful.
The food & service were very good, both in dinner & breakfast.

Definately would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Exceeded all expections and more. Food excellent, with attention to detail. Started with afternoon Tea which was great and then 3 course meal in the evening which you could not fault. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Room very comfortable with everything that you need. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsh090777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed just for one night recently, in one of the courtyard rooms. These are recently refurbished and though not huge are of a good size and superbly appointed. The king-size bed was without doubt the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, anywhere, with a fantastic mattress and high quality warm duvet and soft but supportive pillows. The lighting was excellent, fully dimmable, underfloor heating in the bathroom and a superb rain-type overhead shower as well as a separate bath. It was very quiet and the heating was brilliant. I couldn't find anything to fault in the room. I didn't see much of the main hotel but it is a very grand building and unlike some others here I found the staff helpful and friendly. I didn't eat here except breakfast, which was good rather than brilliant (the tea was rather weak). Overall though, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
789 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,499 reviews
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,298 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,147 reviews
10.2 mi away
Esseborne Manor
Esseborne Manor
#1 of 1 in Hurstbourne Tarrant
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range: £93 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1795, Oakley Hall has a distinguished and fascinating past. The author Jane Austen was a friend of the Bramston family – the then owners – she was a frequent visitor to Oakley Hall and it is mentioned fondly in Austen’s letters to her sister Cassandra. A later owner, William Beach, added a second storey to the house, so creating the grand and impressive building that 21st century visitors can still enjoy. He also employed landscape gardener and architect Edward Milner to design Oakley Hall’s gardens. In 2014, a major restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory, ensuring that visitors will continue to fall in love with Oakley Hall’s Georgian splendour and charm for many years to come. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Hall Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing