We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea for birthday”
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea for birthday”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Lovely staff, cakes amazing however, more sandwiches less cake please, just too sweet! & the tea came far too early ie it was finished by the time the sandwiches came but everything else was fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    259
    73
    17
    10
See reviews for
169
648
15
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Oakley Hall for 2 nights midweek before heading to weekend function in Bournemouth and I must say after reading several other reviews we were not disappointed. We opted for a suite as we wanted to chill-out before our hectic weekend. Our room had two levels, lounge area downstairs and bedroom upstairs. It was fully equipped and very comfortable. The only minor point to this was needing the toilet during the night and having to go downstairs where the bathroom was situated (bare this in mind if you know that you are going to be under the influence of alcohol or just like to be lazy). The rooms and bathrooms are excellent with all the finishing touches and everything you need from complimentary bottled water, fresh milk, newspaper, fruit etc. The staff were excellent and service faultless. When we arrived we had lunch in the library and I must say that I struggled with the large portion size. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent as was the service. You have to walk to the main house from your courtyard room and even though it was raining during our stay we did not mind this at all as a large umbrella is provided in your room. The short walk is lovely as you are surrounded by beautiful grounds (which must be wonderful to walk around in lovely weather). Overall my husband and I had a lovely time at Oakley Hall.

Room Tip: We had room 7 courtyard suite, but I would imagine that all the rooms would be lovely depending on y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHill_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We booked the romantic getaway package for our wedding anniversary and cannot fault anything. We had a courtyard room which was spotless and beautifully presented. Half bottle of champagne, afternoon tea, evening meal and full English breakfast included. Set in beautiful countryside with unspoilt views. All staff incredibly friendly and helpful. A real find, will definitely be going back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnielouJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a characterful building set in expansive grounds. It has been decorated to a high standard and, according to the receptionist, the bedrooms are regularly redecorate. My bedroom was very comfortable, set around a courtyard which has gated access controlled by the room key. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom floor was heated and the room was very well designed except that I couldn't find a switch next to the bed to turn the lights off so had to turn everything off except the bedside light before going to bed. The food was very good although the portions were slightly on the small side. The scallop(s) starter really seemed to be one scallop cut into slices and took about 30 seconds to eat. Service was very good.

I'm really in two minds on how to score this hotel. I think on balance it would be slightly picky to mark it 'down' to a 4 on the basis of the food and the lack of a light switch although I would like to mark it a 4.5. Providing you are okay with the remoteness of the location this is definitely a very good place to stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed in the courtyard room and it was lovely, with a massive bed, champagne, gorgeous bathroom and loads of other little extra touches.

Amazing bathroom with underfloor heating for toasty feet, loved the speakers in the bathroom so you can sing whilst in the waterfall shower or relaxing in the big bath.

The 5 course tasting menu for dinner was delicious and far exceeded my expectations.
Also the breakfast was very tasty too! We treated ourselves to breakfast in bed and ordered quite a lot of food and it was all lovely.

The staff were very friendly.

Location is good, I can imagine in the spring/summer the walks around the grounds are lovely. We just walked into Oakley to the local pub which was a nice and spotted some deer, but no squirrels!

All in all an amazing night away in a top hotel with lovely food in a great location.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was treated to a superb overnight stay at the hotel as a surprise birthday present and it certainly didn't disappoint. From the moment we arrived it was luxury all the way. A friendly yet efficient check-in and we drove the short distance to park directly outside our room which with the current weather made it simple to get our luggage brought in. The rooms are spotless and have every luxury you need. Bathrobes, Blu-Ray player, Fridge, Water and Fruit and Champagne. The bathroom is equally luxurious with under floor heating and an extensive range of cosmetics etc..

We had chosen the 5 course Gourmet Tasting dinner which was perfect from start to finish. It began with Ham Hock Terrine or Scallops followed by Lobster Ravioli then Lemon Sorbet with a main dish of either Loin of Pork or Rack of Lamb. Then in the classic French tradition came Blue Cheese with pine nuts and poached pear and to round the meal off we had an exquisite Black Forest gateau.

Not only is the food and accommodation of the highest standard but the staff were without exception extremely efficient and friendly without being familiar. Many of them have been there a number of years and are happy to tell you that they feel like the whole working environment is like a large family. Of particular note was the Restaurant Manager at dinner (originally from Nepal) who was brilliant in letting us vary the dishes on the menu and constantly checking back to make sure we were OK.

After a really tasty and hearty breakfast the next morning we departed - sadly as both of us agreed it was all over too quickly. The main house and grounds are spectacular and the venue is a popular wedding destination with a large choice of rooms and marquees available.

Although the hotel is listed as 4 stars and that may well be as it doesn't have a pool/spa it was in our opinion 5 star all the way and we will definitely be returning and staying for a few nights next time.

Congratulations to the staff and management. You give London 5 star hotels a run for their money!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazza2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H, General Manager at Oakley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
I am glad you found your stay so enjoyable and I wish to take this opportunity to thank you and all other reviewers for taking the time to write such wonderful reviews. It fills me with immense pleasure to be able to forward such reviews onto all of my team in order for them to realize how much their hard work is appreciated. I hope to welcome you back to Oakley Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed on 28 april on a travlzoo deal. Excellent. Seem to have been upgraded to a better room than originally booked.
Very accomodating when we couldn't go a few weeks prior as my husband was very poorly.
Food and service excellent.

Unfortunately weather was herrendous so we didn't get a chance to explore the grounds, and getting back and from main building was a little incovenient, but umberellas were provided.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,302 reviews
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
735 reviews
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
19.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Property: Oakley Hall Hotel
Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1795, Oakley Hall has a distinguished and fascinating past. The author Jane Austen was a friend of the Bramston family – the then owners – she was a frequent visitor to Oakley Hall and it is mentioned fondly in Austen’s letters to her sister Cassandra. A later owner, William Beach, added a second storey to the house, so creating the grand and impressive building that 21st century visitors can still enjoy. He also employed landscape gardener and architect Edward Milner to design Oakley Hall’s gardens. In 2014, a major restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory, ensuring that visitors will continue to fall in love with Oakley Hall’s Georgian splendour and charm for many years to come. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Hall Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing