We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oakley Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Basingstoke(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Audleys Wood Hotel(Basingstoke)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Basingstoke(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke(Basingstoke)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,274)
Filter reviews
1,274 results
Traveller rating
869
296
78
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
296
78
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard roomafternoon teabeautiful groundsbombay sapphire distillerythe main housebeautiful hotelhampshire countrysideunderfloor heatingglasshouse restaurantsandwicheslittle toucheseggs benedictstaff were attentivelambfantastic staywedding venueclay pigeon shooting
Filter
Updating list...
942 - 947 of 1,274 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Travelzoo deal. We stayed in a courtyard room, which was very comfortable. A very good bed, tea making facilities and biscuits, a large television, and nice bathroom. It was very quiet and we both slept well.
We enjoyed the five course tasting menu, and there was a menu for vegetarians.
The grounds and setting are marvellous.
Breakfast - the cooked was good. I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which was nicely presented. One helped your self to cereals but no fruit or yoghurt laid out. However , fruit salad was on the menu, and also yoghurt, but it would have been better to be able to help your self with the cereal.

Room Tip: All the courtyard rooms are on the level, and you can park right outside your door. There was a walk to the hotel for meals, but we took the car as it was dark, and I walk with two sticks.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We visited Oakley Hall on a very cheap deal for 2 nights with Travelzoo, and upgraded to a superior room. The main house exterior is a magnificent building. The bedrooms are in a converted stable block set around a quadrangle. Our bedroom was very large and well fitted out with dressing room and large well equipped bathroom with White Company toiletries. Strangely there were no clothes drawers provided, but masses of hanging space. There was a turndown-with-choccies service also provided. So far so very good. Very friendly receptionists in the large foyer. The main reception room was a huge empty space with a large bar and a couple of sofas looking lost. The dining room was a surprise. All vestige of 'character' had been removed. Most of the small tables were close together along one wall, 6 inches apart. The majority of people seemed to be on our 'meal-deal' - a 5 course 'tasting menu', which included coffee. The food was good, but ludicrously small, (a square inch of pork, a floret of broccoli, 2 green beans and one potato) also lacking was any sense of 'culinary drama' or sense of occasion. By the end of the meal we were full, but it wouldn't be suitable for anybody with a larger appetite.
Breakfasts were very different, with eggs Benedict and smoked salmon/scrambled egg. The waitress was very reluctant to seat guests at the empty larger tables, insisting we all sat in the cramped small tables in a row..
The hotel was very full, and obviously popular. The main target for custom, (other than Travel zoo!) would seem to be corporate entertainment, with team building and conference facilities advertised. So, hard to fault the service or the accommodation. Just wish the decor wasn't so anodyne and bland, given the splendour do the building, and that the dinner food portions were just a little more generous.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed again at Oakley Hall and yet again it was fantastic. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. The room is well equipped and I can't think of anything that's missing. Not only do you get some lovely shortbread biscuits but this isn't the type of hotel to leave little plastic pots of yucky UHT milk, oh no, you get a small carton of proper milk in the fridge and complimentary bottles of water. The turn down with chocolates and a 5 day weather forecast is a lovely touch missing from many hotels these days (cost saving I guess). The staff are all friendly and professional. Breakfast is lovely, self serve buffet of main items, others can be ordered. All in all really lovely, luxurious and would return and recommend. Ps it's also a great place for a Christmas party, brilliant themed marquee.

Room Tip: Some rooms open out directly onto the courtyard which some people might not like, if you are one of these people, ask for a room that opens out into the 'hallway' like a normal hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at Oakley Hall on the night of 20th November with a Travelzoo voucher. We had a 5 course tasting menu included and breakfast. When we arrived we were given our key to room
7 in the stable block this turned out to be a suite which we had not booked and we had kindly been upgraded which was a lovely surprise. The room was spotlessly clean with fresh fruit and
chocolates left for us together with fresh milk and water in the fridge. The only downside was
when we went for dinner in the hotel restaurant we had to walk right round the back of the
hotel which was dark and it was raining. The food in the restaurant was excellent, well cooked
and well presented. Breakfast the following morning was of a very high standard and everything cooked freshly. Would love to return again.

Room Tip: Very quiet rooms. We stayed in Room 7 which was fabulous.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 647maggiemay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked one night through Travelzoo for my husband's birthday present. I booked the mid price room but got upgraded without asking to a suite which made the stay very special (and I looked a very generous wife!). The suite was amazing and the whole place was beautifully clean. Check in was quick and efficient, a walk around the ground made me want to go back in the summer. We had cocktails before dinner (reasonably priced at £7.50) and a 5 course tasting menu. The hotel looked a bit empty when we booked in, but the dining room was full and there was a nice buzz about the place. The food was really lovely and wine reasonably priced so you didn't feel ripped off. Nice touch was our room was turned down and shutters pulled and chocolates put in there while we were at dinner. Breakfast was great, a proper full English or lots of other options, and check out seamless. I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews