We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding hotel”
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
EVERSLEY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An outstanding hotel”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at Oakley Hall last night with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is a lovely 18th century house in beautiful grounds. We were in the courtyard bedrooms where you can park right outside your room which makes a great change from having to carry luggage around. The rooms have been decorated to a very high standard and just to my taste, I especially loved the adjustable reading lights. Our stay started with a lovely afternoon tea in the library and we all very much enjoyed the excellent, beautifully presented dinner. Breakfast was also very good with a large choice. Everything about the stay was excellent and the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to keep everyone happy. I can't praise this hotel enough, they really have thought of everything - even a printed weather forecast in the evening to enable you to plan the next day. Complimentary fruit, water and shortbreads added to the enjoyment. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARION N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    260
    74
    17
    10
See reviews for
171
651
15
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at Oakley Hall on a Travel Zoo deal. The hotel was an interesting find down some flooded country roads. The one comment I would have about this hotel is the excellence of the service from the moment you walk through the door to the time you leave. Nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in a courtyard room (No.2) which is approached through electronic gates with parking outside of the room. The room was large with a lovely comfortable king size bed, fruit, fresh milk, water and lovely toiletries. The room was warm with underfloor heating in the bathroom. The bath was lovely and big and the shower was wonderful. The hotel is a 2 minute walk away. We started our stay with afternoon tea which was nice but nothing special. We went for a walk in the grounds and through the woods. This is such a lovely place to come and get away from it all. Having eaten far too many sandwiches and cakes booked dinner for 8pm and had the five course tasting menu which came as part of the package. The food was very good but not amazing. The problem with the hotel is that it lacks a warm atmosphere. It's a big old house with big rooms but there is nothing cosy about it and the restaurant is quite austere. We had an excellent night's sleep in the lovely big bed. Breakfast was superb with a wonderful choice. For the price we paid it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed overnight on the taster menu package as a weekend getaway for our anniversary.

The good:
Lovely quiet spot and very pretty building
Courtyard room modern and well equipped, and very quiet.
Able to park right outside room.
Food, both dinner and breakfast, was excellent quality.
Good, value for money, wine list - highly recommend the Wickham Fume
Decent free wifi, fast enough to stream

The bad:
Service in the restaurant was incredibly rushed, we were literally raced through the courses with empty dishes replaced with next course immediately, with no pauses. We much prefer to take our time over dining and this ruined the experience for us.
There was a party happening in the room next door, which appeared to mainly consist of people letting rocket balloons fly around constantly. Not really conducive to a quiet drink before or after dinner.
The desk in our room has a built in light which it was not possible to turn off. This was right alongside a white radiator which reflected the light all around the room and literally shone bright green all night long. At 4 in the morning we were both up trying to find the cabling behind the desk and then attempting to dim the light by putting towels over it. One of those things where design has been given priority over common sense and practicalities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Oakley Hall was just what we were after for dinner and an overnight stay.

Our courtyard room was very quiet (as requested) and it was convenient being able to park right outside our door. Our room (11) was large and tastefully decorated with lots of nice touches: fridge with complementary water and fresh milk in a jug, tea/coffee facilities with freshly baked shortcake biscuits, umbrella, details of walks in the area and weather forecast, safe, iron/ironing board and also free wifi. The room was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with a huge comfortable bed and seating area with a range of options for lighting which you could adjust from a control panel. The big bathroom had a bath with shower as well as a separate large shower cubicle. We had a minor problem with the safe (battery) which was dealt with promptly.

Unfortunately it was raining when we stayed so we didn't get chance to walk round the beautiful grounds. The courtyard rooms are also a couple of minutes walk to the hotel but not a major problem with the hotel provided umbrella.

We had a drink in the bar, followed by dinner (the 5 course taster menu) then coffee and chocolates in the library. We enjoyed the meal including the freshly baked rolls and the wine was excellent and not too overpriced for a hotel.

The following morning, the complementary newspaper and a very good breakfast finished off a lovely break.

There were only two negative points but these were minor.
The bar area was very cold in the evening but this was possibly because the doors had needed to be open during the day for repainting.
We had a quick look at the taster menu before the restaurant opened but unfortunately it was for the wrong day and although our meal was very nice we slightly preferred the look of the menu we'd seen earlier.

Neither of these points stopped us having a very enjoyable break at this hotel. It was just what we were after and the staff were all excellent.

Room Tip: Courtyard room 11 is quiet and spacious
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank queen_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My darling wife has an incurable brain tumour - overseas holidays are out of the question, as she is uninsurable.

We now, once or twice a month have a mini break- mainly in the South of England as that is where we live. I tend to get most of our breaks through Travelzoo and to this date have not been disappointed.

Our last break started at the Oakley Hall Hotel near Basingstoke. The hotel and grounds are wonderful and would be even better in the spring or summer. The food was superb but most of all the staff were fantastic - they knew our situation - and were of a great help throughout our stay. I compliment the manager on the "team", I hate the word employees in a service industry.

The only drawback was, and I knew this when I booked , the bedrooms are a a walk from the main building, and with my wife in a wheel chair we had to use the car to go to dinner. This fact excluded, the night was a great stay.

We now move on to Buckingham

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our sons booked the Romance Package for us (overnight stay) as a Christmas present. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay recently. The courtyard room was delightful - even an umbrella in the wardrobe in case of rain whilst walking the 2 minutes to the main hotel! The room itself was spotlessly clean and full of modern technology - 4 levels of dimmer which we've never seen before - and the large bed was incredibly comfortable. The thoughtful addition of a small fridge with bottles of water and a carton of milk was a very nice touch. None of the UHT mini pots! Complimentary newspaper of our choice, a well-equipped hospitality tray, complimentary toiletries (loved the little yellow duck in the bathroom!) and large beautifully white bath sheets. Can't think of anything else we could possibly have wanted or needed.
The staff were very friendly, car parking was easy and the service efficient and unobtrusive. Set in the most beautiful Hampshire countryside, the hotel is a real treasure and we certainly intend to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We have now stayed twice at Oakley Hall and it is absolutely outstanding. The courtyard rooms are beautifully appointed, with gorgeous high ceilings and thoughtful extras such as information on the weather expected during your stay. The rooms are also spotlessly clean. The evening meals are divine - last time we went we had the tasting menu and each course was perfect, with the chef kindly catering to my dietary requirements and still providing delicious food. The breakfast is delicious with extensive options. I could not recommend this hotel more and cannot wait to return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happywatermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,307 reviews
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
739 reviews
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
19.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Property: Oakley Hall Hotel
Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1795, Oakley Hall has a distinguished and fascinating past. The author Jane Austen was a friend of the Bramston family – the then owners – she was a frequent visitor to Oakley Hall and it is mentioned fondly in Austen’s letters to her sister Cassandra. A later owner, William Beach, added a second storey to the house, so creating the grand and impressive building that 21st century visitors can still enjoy. He also employed landscape gardener and architect Edward Milner to design Oakley Hall’s gardens. In 2014, a major restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory, ensuring that visitors will continue to fall in love with Oakley Hall’s Georgian splendour and charm for many years to come. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Hall Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing