We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We had a lovely stay @ Oakley Hall, the food was fantastic as were the staff (particulary the restaurant manager) The bedroom was of a high standard and very comfortable, we did feel that the bar, reception and library were rather bland and tired which results in a lack of atmosphere which is such a shame as the building and grounds are delightful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    260
    73
    17
    10
See reviews for
170
650
15
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

The house itself is absolutely beautiful and reflective of it's 4 star rating. There is an old oak shelved library where you can relax to have a drink any time of day and look out over the lovely grounds - which would be ideal for a wedding or event. The restaurant is elegant and spacious but keeping within the traditional feel of the manor house. We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms which were converted from a former stable block. We had our own entrance, parking, patio door and views over the grounds. The room was extremely luxurious, egyptian cotton sheets, enormous bed and flat screen TV. It also had a lovely bathroom where you could even up the volume and listen to the tv/radio in the bedroom on the shared audio system. Another great feature was the excellent lighting system so you could easily dim the lights and turn it in to a lovely romantic atmosphere. We opted for room service as it was a wet and cold night and had a lovely meal with wine ferried along to our room on a golf cart - at a very reasonable cost. This was around 9.30pm on a Sunday night and nothing seemed to much trouble. We did have a drink in the bar area earlier on arrival and soaked up the atmosphere which is very peaceful and elegant. All the staff were extremely polite, helpful and just generally nice and the room was just to die for. We intend to make this our regular little get away.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This is a wonderful place. The courtyard room we had was spacious, beautifully appointed and luxurious. What a great job has been done here converting this country house, once a posh school, into a first class hotel - excellent dining with a wide ranging menu and wine list - and lovely staff too, friendly, helpful and efficient - and delectable girls on the front desk!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColDavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We used the 'Romantic Break' package in a Courtyard Room. We were thoroughly satisfied with the friendly service and the care and attention we received. The only negative was having no easy chair in the room, so we had to decamp to the lounge to sit and read. (cf brochure picture)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GperP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

My room was in the gated court, great for parking the car right outside the room and very convenient as no lugging heavy brief cases around. As a solo female traveller being on the ground floor at the back can be a little unnerving, I like to open my window at night and did not feel comfortable to do so. That said the area around the window was very private and well lit (even at night which if you like the dark to sleep would not be ideal)Apart from that it was like heaven! Wonderful bathroom, very comfortable bed, a nice table and chair to relax in and watch some TV and to return from dinner to your bathrobe, slippers and handmade chocolates was a girls dream! Not being a breakfast eater coffee and complimentary fruit in my room was a nice touch. Shame the mini bar was not stocked as I would have most likely had a glass of wine in the bath! (Sure I could have requested this if I'd thought about it) The court rooms are a little walk from the main hotel but well lit paths and beautiful gardens made it a pleasant one. Can't wait to return in the summer so I can enjoy the grounds more. Staff friendly and helpful and most important to me the hotel was spotlessly clean. Can't believe the value for money with the 3 night deal.When you turn into the drive of this hotel you just know you made the right choice..... fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Very pleasant stay from start to finish. Helpful and attentive staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Modern in a traditional setting. Afternoon tea was delightful and dinner just perfect. Would definitely recommend it. Shame we could stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed here just for one night, wish it was longer. The staff were very helpful. The food excellent. Go for a walk in the grounds, listen to how quiet the area is. Not really far from major road connections, A34, M4, M3, A303. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable. No complaints about this lovely hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireKida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,302 reviews
5.1 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#5 of 13 in Basingstoke
739 reviews
7.8 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
13.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
19.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Property: Oakley Hall Hotel
Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1795, Oakley Hall has a distinguished and fascinating past. The author Jane Austen was a friend of the Bramston family – the then owners – she was a frequent visitor to Oakley Hall and it is mentioned fondly in Austen’s letters to her sister Cassandra. A later owner, William Beach, added a second storey to the house, so creating the grand and impressive building that 21st century visitors can still enjoy. He also employed landscape gardener and architect Edward Milner to design Oakley Hall’s gardens. In 2014, a major restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory, ensuring that visitors will continue to fall in love with Oakley Hall’s Georgian splendour and charm for many years to come. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Hall Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing