We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke
Ranked #2 of 2 Oakley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this hotel because on booking.com it was the cheapest along our route. The pub/restaurant/hotel is surrounded by beautiful countryside and plenty of parking. Considering the price (£49) for a twin room on a bank holiday, we didn't expect any frills. Our room(3) was accessible to wheelchairs and a reasonable size. The bathroom was a good size and well laid put for wheelchairs. The room was a little dark because the windows were small but it was clean, had tea and coffee making facilities. Shower gel and soap was provided. Also free wifi was included and a continental breakfast buffet. I'd rate it as better than a Premier Inn. Given the price I am satisfied and would recommend it.
Also, the attached restaurant is a carvery and cheap at £4.19 weekdays and £7.29 on Sundays and Bank Holidays. During the week you can get a meal for less than £4.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Beach Arms, Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Booked a room for 1 night for 11th February 2014 for Visitor to our Company, received confirmation and booking reference, Gentleman arrived to be told sorry they have over booked and there is not a room available for him and the Staff in Restaurant told him this happens regularly, will not be using this place again as no guarantee of room, had to travel 20 miles to find another hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JulietHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The rooms were very basic and the beds hard and uncomfortable - we could feel every spring. There was broken glass and grit on the carpet and we had to ask for it to be vacuumed - twice. It still wasn't up to scratch even then. The maintenance of the bathroom could have been better. Staff were friendly but there was a language problem with some.
The "free" buffet breakfast was pretty good with choice of fruit juices, cereals, croissants, toast, a wide range of jams and spreads and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 764MartinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Beach Arms, Innkeeper's Lodge, Basingstoke . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Rooms have been refurbished recently and hotael painted great improvement on last stay a while ago. carvery is very basic meat and veg but lots of it and tastes pretty good. Breakfast with rom is continental and a small range, but with only £39. for two for the room to be expected really.

Used as a stop over for two nightsvon way to see granddaughter so was a good spot only 3 miles from M3

Will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Beach Arms, Innkeeper's Lodge,Basingstoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

In advance of early Heathrow flight we decided to stay here as it was close enough for a Saturday morning drive to the airport. The room was as good as expected for the price, although the bed a little small and uncomfortable according to my wife. The buffet restaurant server good food at very low price, and Janna the waitress from Finland was very helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Izvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

The time you have taken to leave us a review following your visit to The Beach Arms, Innkeeper's Lodge, Basingstoke is appreciated, and we will use your comments to ensure that our standards do not fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Good points

Room size good
Bathroom of good size
Iron in room
Tea and coffee in room
Staff, friendly and efficient

Bad Points

Whole place feels un clean, specially the corridor carpets, they have not seen a hoover for a good while.
Breakfast [cooked] was foul, overcooked and just left on a hot plate to keep hot, the eggs where like bullets, bacon dried out e.t.c
Room walls very thin so could hear conversations from adjoining rooms.
Bathroom extraxtor would not switch off, so hummed all night.

The whole place felt dirty and looked dirty, I would not stay here again and advise you not to as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Beach Arms, Innkeeper's Lodge, Basingstoke on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

First time we had stayed over in an innkeepers so didnt know what to expect as some reveiws werent great but found it to be ok.
Good sized car park, Check in was a bit hit and miss, Nobody on reception but a sign directed you to the bar to find someone to check you in and the bar man that came didnt have the reception standards you would expect, (his shirt was hanging out, sleeves scruffingly rolled up) and he didnt know his way around the booking in system too well.
We were given our room and shown which way to go to find it.
Room was ok, nice and large with a good sized en suite bathroom, Tea and coffee, Wifi worked throughout,
We went to the bar which was part of a crown carvery (one of the reasons i booked the hotel actually) so dinner was nice and cheap and beer normal pub prices,
The only problem we found with the restaurant was that it wasnt very clean, Tables werent wiped down properly so was attracting a few flies and there was a few cobwebs knocking about.
The food was good and plentiful
The landlady was sociable enough and was also the compare for the quiz night which was a laugh,
Next morning we went into the restaurant for the continental breakfast which was inclusive but decided to have the cooked breakfast as there wasnt alot of choice.
We asked the waitress for plates for the buffet and she looked at us rather blank and asked ' have you paid for it' ? I replied not yet as we have only just decided to have it she then gave us 2 plates rather reluctantly, The landlord then appeared to be told by the chef 'thats them there'!! and we felt we were being watched as they thought we were gonna do a runner without paying the £3.99 for the breakfast.
I would use it again for an overnight stay but attention needs to be given to the cleaning of the bar/attention areas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Beach Arms, Innkeeper's Lodge, Basingstoke. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakley
0.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,180 reviews
9.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
#8 of 13 in Basingstoke
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#10 of 13 in Basingstoke
883 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
381 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke

Address: The Beach Arms | Church Oakley, Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oakley
Price Range: £72 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in the quiet village of Oakley, this handsome Hampshire lodge provides some of the most welcoming budget accommodation in Basingstoke. It's just off the M3, and a few minutes from town - but feels like it's a world away, with picturesque countryside on the doorstep and attractive thatched houses nestling around a duck pond in the centre of the village.There's a wealth of conference venues nearby, such as Oakley Hall and the Ark Centre, which makes the 22-bedroom lodge a comfy and convenient base for business as well as pleasure. Either way, you can round off your stay with a meal and a tipple or two at the Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery on site. As for things to see and do in the local area, you'll be spoilt for choice. If you love country walks head down to award-winning Eastrop Park, which is full of scenic trails. Or you could explore the remains of Basing House, once the largest private residence in England. Plus you might like to catch a show at The Anvil Concert Hall or simply take a relaxing stroll down Basingstoke Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke Oakley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing