We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great week”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We enjoyed our week at PCV and liked the layout of the resort. The food was reasonably good, with a lot of variety and amazing fresh fruit ( I miss the fresh guava juice) Great staff & hard working.The rooms could use a bit of a refresh, but aside from that our room was one of the biggest we've had while on holiday and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony, especially at night with the palm trees gently swaying. Nice lobby area where we would go for late afternoon cappucinos and the occasional drink before dinner.On the saturday, we went out to the beach near Brisas in Guardalava and were surprised by the many tourists and locals on the beach-not much room to move around and very noisy- glad to return to PCV where it was at least calmer. All in all, we enjoyed the hotel and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexei R, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Colette
We would like you to receive our deep appreciation for writing your comments on the trip advisor. It will be a pleasure for us to host you back in Playa Costa Verde.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,788
    1,687
    491
    210
    135
See reviews for
1,206
1,744
166
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

positives : great pool, great beach, great staff, great weather, great restaurants, good evening entertaiment. A must is the day out with dolphins, absolutely fantastic.
Rooms are ok but need a serious upgrade, dodgy shelfs, dodgy doors, but made very liveable by our superb chambermaid.
negatives : the self service restaurant is at best average. When the locals are in it is one massive bundle, they take whatever is there, they dont queue and they weave in and out with massive plates of food, not very relaxing.

We loved this holiday but wont be going back to this hotel

Room Tip: upstairs corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mishmash64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexei R, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear
On behalf of Hotel Playa Costa Verde´s management, we would like to thank you for your comments on the Tripadvisor and for choosing our hotel to spend your holiday. We are really sorry for the situation that you had during your holiday in our hotel, but you have to understand that some clients have a different behavior and this not depend on us. We would be honoured if you decide to return to our resort.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful experience. When they say its all-inclusive, they do mean all-inclusive. Pool table, gym, 3 a la carte restaurants (two favorites Japanese and Cuban wear long trouser, my husband had to borrow my linen trousers!!!), catamarans, pedalos, cocktails, liquor coffees, to mention but a few.

Main Buffet restaurant:-

Very busy at weekends in the main summer holidays due to lots of Cuban holiday makers coming for the weekend. Yes had to wait for cooked meat, rice, pasta and pizza counters....but only for 10 - 15 or so minutes, rest of the week not only few minutes. Lots of choice, friendly waiting staff especially Yami and the girls who worked alongside her. who I can only say made our holiday very special as we had two birthdays while we were there and they did their best to accommodate all 20 of my family. Thank you Yami. x

Breakfast - Omelette lady Irena...you were a great teacher for my husband with your Spanish lessons on 'tres huevos con todo'. You also made our holiday very special. Miss you too.

Gym - fresh flavoured water (cucumber, fruit and ice) fresh towel, bananas, and brand new equipment.....Thanks to Lisa and Tony. x

Pool Bar - I found Jesus quite funny, throwing ice at his customers and having a joke with them...however at times (not Jesus fault) the pool bar was far too busy and had to wait for quite a while at times. Would recommend two people on the bar mid morning and mid to late afternoon.

Lobby Bar - Wow!!! What a choice in the afternoons, cocktails, liquor coffees, always a snack on the covered table to the side. Staff lovely and always smiling even when very busy!! x

Beach and Beach Bar - Well what can I say...The beach is beautiful. beautiful white sand and lots of wonderful snorkling fun in the shallow waters, free pedalos and catamarans (have to book your slot though). Beach bar always got served ok. Only had snacks on the beach once. toasted tuna paninis were lovely, also bananas and a pumpkin cake...mmmmm!!!

Japanese Restaurant - WOW!!!!! We went twice as the food was amazing!!! We were lucky to have Jacqueline both times, fabulous member of staff, nothing was too much trouble for her. x

Cuban Restaurant - Wow too! I had half a lobster plus veg and copious amounts of wine, lovely food and staff too.

Italian Restaurant - I had Penne Carbonara, which was nice (not the best iv'e ever had), others had the lasagna, which to be honest tasted awful. Starters were ok and dessert was ok. Staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

Bedrooms - Well this is the part when ive got to say let the hotel down badly, the first room we had stank of mould and was quite a way from the pool (with two young children i wanted to be near the pool), second room we were offered was still quite a way from the pool and in need of refurb, third room they offered me was near the pool, still in need of refurb, but smell of fresh paint on way in to room was reassuring. We took this room although in need of refurb (chest of draws in wardrobe needed to be thrown out, chipped and stained furniture all needed to be replaced.......Nice coffee machine, that took over an hour to perculate so we didnt use it again. Water replaced every day in fridge. Room cleaned every day with towel art that was fun. As we were on the ground floor we had a crab tapping at the window in the morning...kids thought this was funny!!

Entertainment team and shows - Fab entertainment team, had us entertained from early morning till late at night, never invasive, always happy and trying to make your holiday fun. Water ballet was amazing a must see!!!

I would definitely go back to this hotel in a heartbeat....the staff and management were amazing, working long hours in the heat, always with a smile and friendly welcome.

Muchas Gracias!!!! Hope to see you again soon. xxx

Michelle, John, Amelia and Ethan, from the North East of England. xxx

Room Tip: Do not book VIP lounge in Airport....small table of bread buns, ham, cheese, gherkins and bags of cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexei R, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Michelle, John, Amelia and Ethan
Hotel Playa Costa Verde´s management appreciated very well your comments on the Tripadvisor. Looking forward to hosting you again.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Check in was ok room was ready

Room
Everything was there but broken or don't work
tv set very old, radio cd don't work, line up channel missing
mini-bar only water and cola
very old furniture, broken beds, towels hanging on one screw,

Restaurant
Not big selection but good
you have to wait for almost everything

Bars
Good selection

Grounds
Very nice need sprinkler system all yellow

Beach
Beautiful nice and clean water bit rocky lots of shades

Gym
Brand new equipment with personal trainer fresh banana water clean towels

Ala carte restaurant
All 3 is good, when you make reservation to jap. there is two options front of Cook or a side of table

Room Tip: Don't buy anything at airport very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank czcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexei R, Director of Sales at Hotel Playa Costa Verde, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our resort. As usual we take into consideration all the comments that our guests post in tripadvisor and mainly when the guests are not satisfied with the level of our service provided. We, staff and management, put a lot of our effort to make all our guests enjoy their holidays with us. We fully understand and respect that everyone has his own approach and point of view regarding the hotel services. On the other hand it is really complicated for us to explain to our staff a situation where, one after other, different people has a radical difference in their evaluation about a same thing. We really hope this did not mean something too serious for you, and also to have you back!!.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canora, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We are frequent guests at this resort and can easily say it is our home away from home!!! The hotel is an older hotel but rooms are very clean and grounds and pool are very well maintained. If you can't find something good to eat here then you are just way too picky!! Fresh cook stations at every meal, calamari, fish, burgers and pizza at the Snack Bar are just a few of the options and there are far too many more to mention!!! Nadira David at the snack bar is the best!!! We call him Nemo and is like family to us now!! The staff is what truly makes this place so special!! We have thought of going other places but can't seem to beacuase then we would miss out on going and seeing our Cuban family. I was very sad to see Dixie is no longer at Beer Corner though, this is where she really shines and makes people feel at home. She is another reason why we keep coming back and she should be moved out of the lobby bar and back to Beer Corner!! Jesus and Marlenis at the swim up bar and many many more is esactly why this is our " Home away from Home"!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My overall time here was good however I was not to pleased with the room accommodations. They were big and clean but the air conditioning was not working for the first two days. The food here was good though I did not enjoy the a la carts, I though the food was sub par especially the Italian one. The beaches were beautiful but make sure you get up early in the morning and save a few seats because around 11 o'clock they will all be taken and you will have to walk about 5 minutes away from the food and drink station to find a seat. For the price we paid for the resort I was happy. If you go here take some time to tour outside the grounds and drive into the city of Holguin, you can also rent scooters which was really fun. I did a little bit of scuba diving here which was ok, a lot of dead reef and didn't see any large fish. Most of the good diving is on the other side of the island.

Room Tip: Ask to be located near the walkway to the ocean, this will make it easier in the morning to reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at the Playa Costa Verde for two weeks in August; overall, we enjoyed our relaxing stay. There are many good aspects of the hotel, for example, clean and spacious pool and surroundings, good facilities in the gym, clean rooms, good range of alcoholic drinks at the lobby bar and good waiter service but only if you tip.
The fresh food options on the buffet were good including the fresh meat and pizza at dinner time and the omelettes at breakfast, the chef’s work extremely hard in such hot conditions. The beach has lovely clear water and white sand, yes it is a bit rocky but you can always find a way in. We enjoyed a beer in the beer corner every evening on the way back to the room which was a nice quiet area and lovely staff.
Even though our stay was enjoyable there are a few things that could have made it even better. Of a weekend the Cuban’s descended on the Playa Costa Verde and it is an eye opener, we witnessed a couple order around 15 plates of food at the snack bar, they simultaneously ate and shoved full meals into plastic bags to take home with them which was alarming and uncomfortable to watch, the staff need put a stop to it. They found it acceptable to throw beer cans and cigarette ends into the sea and pool area which made us believe they had to regard for anyone else staying at the resort, they completely took over the resort for the whole weekend, the bar staff tended to serve them first and left you waiting awhile. The food could be a little better and the bar stay could be friendlier.
Overall we enjoyed most aspects of the holiday and had a relaxing break, we will not be returning as the world is a big place and we enjoying exploring it, but would recommend to people who want a relaxing break in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Elisecheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,521 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,595 reviews
4.3 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
227.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,349 reviews
365.4 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Costa Verde

Property: Hotel Playa Costa Verde
Address: Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre 83300, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Costa Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, buffet meals, 3 a la carte restaurants and El bohío resturant with charge, 7 bars, 24-hour snacks and lobby, unlimited drinks, Mini Club, pools, Jacuzzis, day/night entertainment, water/land sports with equipment and instruction, gym, air-conditioned rooms with bathroom, hair drier, telephone, safe, satellite TV, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge with welcome drinks, terrace or balcony. All Inclusive! Plus ($): internet, tours, hairdresser, massage, car rental and shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Playa Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Costa Verde Cuba
Playa Costa Verde Rafael Freyre
Playa Costa Verde Holguin
Costa Playa Verde
Hotel Playa Costa Verde Cuba/Holguin Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing