We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA
Nearby Hotels
Islazul Villa Don Lino(Rafael Freyre)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$107
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,180)
Filter reviews
8,180 results
Traveller rating
4,078
2,639
937
330
196
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,078
2,639
937
330
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardenmojito bara la carte restaurantsseafoodthomas cooklobby barice cream parlourthe grillgreat holidayla gondolapremium sectionsuperior roomdolphin tripprawnstwo weeksisland paradisegolf buggy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,593 - 2,598 of 8,180 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hi all been home for a week now having withdrawl symtoms, once again we had a fantastic holiday made special by so many friends old and new all the amazing staff we just love you all , food great no problems at all, Pool ,beach amazing as always drinks very good too no matter were you where in the hotel.
Hopefully see you next year xx

Room Tip: i like block 59 so close to everything
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

It´s nice to know you had a fantastic holiday once again with us. Thank you so much for your nice comments and to share your experience with our future clients. We really appreciate your review. We will love to receive you back soon, please, keep us updated of future travelling plans to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just just booked again for the playa pesquero, this will be our third year. Please do not take any notice of the negative reviews, they are not true. The staff are great, the food is out of this world. We love going to this hotel in fact we found it to late we should have found it years ago. WE WOULD LIKE TO SAY A GREAT BIG THANK YOU XXXXXX to you all at the Playa Pesquero

Room Tip: we have stayed in many different rooms and all a very good
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank poddab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dairon S, Quality Specialist at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear poddab, Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Our Management and Staff thank you very much for your lovely comments, we really appreciate it. It´s so nice to know you had a lovely vacation with us. We will be very happy to have you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed there for 2 weeks. It was dirty and the food foul.

Service is very bad. I had my plate on the table and went up to help my daughter get her food, when I got back my plate had been taken away with my food. When I complained to the supervisor the man challenged the staff member and she told him I asked her to take it. Out right lie!!!!!

If Thomas Cook offered us a month at this place for free we would not go back!

One major health issue that you need to be aware of is the fact that in the early evening a van drives around the resort and sprays chemicals. I am guessing this is to keep bugs low. One night it was close to us and we had to run to get inside. I did not want my daughter breathing in these chemicals. Please be aware of this if you do decide to go to this awful place.

If you want a lounger by the pool make sure you throw your towels on loungers before 7am as you will not get one after that!!! When we complained to the pool man he said the resort was full. Not my issue I'm afraid. If Thomas sook had told us there might be the possibility that there might not be enough loungers for us them we would never have booked this resort.

Noise by the pool all day long. We hate bingo and they had bingo every afternoon by the pool. Staff at the resort try and nag guests to participate.

I can honestly say the place was terrible.

The flight out was full of a wedding party and most of the younger people were drunk. Sitting on the other side of us was a man who was drunk the whole 9 hour flight. His language was disgusting and my 3 year old daughter had to listen to him the entire flight. The flight attendants kept giving him more drinks! He even had a lighter which he lighted up at one point.
The Thomas Cook rep in her opening speak even told guests to leave their shoes for the staff. Very unprofessional! When we complained we were not offered anything! Not even when we got back and spoke to Thomas Cook in the uk. The resort is more like a 3 star in the uk. Don't expect 5 star.
Some nights I would call and ask them to deliver water to us and it never came. This happened on 3 occasions.
Dirty plastic cups and fag butts by the pool from all the drinking the night before when you go down in the morning.
If you have a small child you need to take your buggy. Thomas Cook never warned us when we booked and I had to carry my daughter as it is far for a 3 year old to walk.
The flight home was delayed. We got on the plane and there was no air conditioning switched on. My daughter got very distressed and came out with a horrific heat rash. It was so bad that I took all her clothes off and poured water over her. Smaller children were screaming as they were so uncomfortable. Eventually, they got passengers off the plane as the toilets were not working.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Charlie1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

We have read your comments about your stay in Playa Pesquero and we would like to review some aspects mentioned in your statement.

Regarding the service in the hotel, we would like to mention that our workers are well qualified and all of them come from Tourism School that trained them for this special kind of job. In fact, we have always received good compliments about our workers, because of their good manners and kindness and it is said it is one of the main reasons the hotel has a very high percentage of returning guests.

It is true that the hotel has a program to control the bad effects of insects based on spraying all the surrounding areas and gardens of the hotels, also around the restaurants to avoid mosquitoes. This process is carried out with not harmful products to human beings and it is always done between 16:30 hrs and 17:30 hrs, always leaving an hour before the dinner service.

Playa Pesquero has one of the largest swimming pools in the area. There is another one for entertainment and one by the mini club and baby club for children. Its beauty and cleanness is one of the aspects our clients remark the most. The summing pool area is supervised by our Assistant Managers, Maintenance Supervisors and the Head of the Quality Department. The cleaning and maintenance of it is of great concern for the entire Hotel, because hygiene issue is one the most important aspects our resort keeps as a high standard.
Our three swimming pools that are intended to meet a diversity of needs. For those guests looking for tranquility, the section of the main pool is the best option; those seeking for activities and fun could use the area of the entertainment pool and the children could enjoy the safety and cleanliness of our kid’s club pool. We have enough sun beds in our swimming pool to accommodate our guests but if there is a guest that did not get one as soon as we are informed the worker responsible of the swimming pool is in charge of getting extra more beds to accommodate our customers.

Regarding the minibar service at the room, we would like to tell you that we have a 24 hours system at the hotel called Express Service where a guest just dialling the * can report any need including, if clients need more water or any other arrangement is always taken as one of our priorities. Minibar is restocked daily
Minibar service includes 2 cans of soft drink, 2 cans of beer and a bottle of water which is restocked every day during the guests stay in our resort.

As per the pickup service, our clients only have to dial (*) in their phones, which is Express Service, 24 hrs, and they are transported to the lobby or wherever they request. Also they can call the Front Desk and ask for this service any time.
The hotel, apart from the buggies, has also a little train which is all day long passing around the bungalows to pick up any client needing transportation.

Anyways, there are many other aspects to this hotel which one could write about but if a person who is considering a trip to the East of Cuba would not go amiss by choosing this hotel. In the opinion of the many repeat clients who regularly return to this hotel without exception will say it is the best that will be found in the East of Cuba.

Kind regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This review is late but I thought I would write it anyway.

I have been to PP three times - March 2011 as a group (no children), April 2012 as just a couple, and April 2013 as a group/family with two young children. I can say that I have been here under almost every type of traveler (missing only the solo status). I love this place and would not hesitate to go back.

The grounds are large but it never takes more than a couple minutes to get anywhere from anywhere due to the way it is laid out. The ground are well maintained, the rooms are a good size and cleaned daily. Service is impeccable, food is great for what cuba has as resources. The pool is massive and there are lots of lounger and shaded areas. The beach is beautiful and again, lots of loungers.

Each year there are improvements and upgrades and attention paid to the details. You can tell the management really listens to their visitors and tries their best to keep improving the hotel. The hotel has a very loyal clientele. Many go back many times, just to several dozen times or more. I have family members that go back year after year and when they walk into the front lobby they happily sigh "We are home!"

If you want to nit-pick and purposely try to find fault, you will. And at the same time you will be ruining your own vacation. Go to Cuba, enjoy their Caribbean sun, surf and sand; feel at home with their welcoming hospitality and sincere service; sit back and just enjoy your vacation!

Room Tip: If you like being at the beach every day, request a room close to beach. If you prefer to be close to the main building, ask for such. Regardless, however, all rooms are not that far from anything at all!! As for first or second story rooms - we've had both and never had bug problems in any room!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tableforfourplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dairon S, Quality Specialist at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Tableforfourplease, Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Our Management and Staff thank you very much for your lovely comments and support, we really appreciate it. It´s so nice to know you had a lovely vacation with us. We will be happy to have you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hello all,

This was our 5th time at Playa Pesquero! Always top notch service , ignore all the negative reviews. Check in was quick and smooth. Smiles all around and excellent service , a welcoming drink was given to us on our arrival.

Our room was in the 5600 block, and was kept extremely clean and our maid Barbara gave us excellent service.

The mini bar was kept full most days and a quick call to reception and service personnel came within 10 minutes for re-stocking when we needed something.
I watched staff chase birds out of the food areas , food was covered with saran wrap 99% of the time, great choices of food at all times. Try the pizza at the beach its actually good for an afternoon snack.

Beer garden was excellent as usual, Mohito bar was excellent as well. Romantico once again was the best a la carte on the site folowed by the Sea food on the beach.

Special thanks to Jose Luis for setting up our Aniversary dinner at the Seafood restaurant on June 1st, 2014.

Waiters on the beach were always around serving us with any needed drinks, and were very apreciative recieving a 1 cuc tip.

The boys at the water sports were once again fantastic and were always ready to serve when needed.
Speciel Thanks to Yunior at the Katamaran, he is the best for sailing fun, DON'T forget to tip these guys! Needed items in Cuba, toothpaste , toothbrushes, deoderant theses things are expensive and not readily available , and try to spread the wealth around to the gardners, security personel, ect they work hard as well.

Hey Europeans are you guys afraid to tip in Cuba I watched a guy give a 0.50 cuc are you kidding, also, many europeans & Brits have complained about how the Canadians and Quebecers get great service thats because we are not afraid to tip a little when served. Not all the Brits were bad BTW, most are very fair with the tipping , the 0.50 tip was from a german , is the deutshmark down ???? Most Brits here are repeat customers like myself. One of the people from Wales I met mentione she loved our Canadian Accent.... I told her we had no accent she was the one with the accent. we both paused and laughed.

I would strongly reccomend this place to anyone! Thanks Playa Pesquero and your wonderful staff.

Jose we are comming back in January , be ready for us LOL. Great times with our Cuban Freinds.

Roger

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ROGER044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dairon S, Quality Specialist at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear ROGER, Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Our Management and Staff thank you for your lovely comments and support, we really appreciate it. We will be happy to have you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews