We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,621)
Filter reviews
4,621 results
Traveller rating
1,481
1,970
701
302
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,481
1,970
701
302
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant el patio havana bar villa pool pizza martini bar villa buffet john lennon hotel section a la carte restaurants churros main pool the main hotel donuts tea garden fish water ballet
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 4,621 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We went to Brisas Guardalavaca with my wife and friends in early November. Staff was very attentive and polite. Food was delicious, great choice of fish and seafood. Amazing sand on the volleyball court. I took kiting lessons from local instructor Yoan Alberto Batista. He was very knowledgeable: his tips helped me to improve the kite launch/waterstart techniques. I would definitely recommend him to anyone coming to Cuba Guardalavaca beach to learn the kiteboarding.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuriy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Quality Manager at Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Yuriy L,
Thank you very much for your amazing review. We appreciate your comments about our resort; we will extend your suggestions to all the staff. We love that you, your wife and your friends enjoyed your holiday in our resort!!!
Brisas Guardalavaca really hopes you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the resort from November 10-17 , the resort was very clean , rooms were fantastic ( stayed in a villa) food was good , especially at the specialty restaurants , beach was good. Only complaint was the entertainment and the bars , drinks were terrible and watered down. Overall a good trip .

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Quality Manager at Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Sharon A
Thank you very much for your lovely comments!!! The staff will be pleased to know you had a good time; your positive comments encourage us to work hard and provide you with the best of the services.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

A lot of the guests we got to know during our 2 weeks loved this hotel but not me. This maybe be down the fact they dropped on really nice rooms (villa end) in great locations, we didn't. We were originally put in the hotel with a patio door that hardly opened and as the hotel reception lobby area was closed we had to walk to the villa reception to sort it. After numerous visits to reception to try and sort it( Never visited reception as much on a holiday) we were offered a room at the villa end which unfortunately we accepted. This room had no hot water, no water pressure no working fridge and was full of mozzies and cobwebs which were not cleaned at all during our 2 weeks. Talking to lots of people we were the only one that never had towel art or anything from our cleaner ( we did wonder if this was because we had complained about the patio door on the first room)
The food in the main buffet restaurant was terrible, after reading the reviews before leaving i didn't expect a lot but not that bad. The breakfast was okay. The ala carte restaurants were a lot better, just would have loved the food a bit warmer. The soft drinks were a roulette game of what it was going to taste like. The bars at the villa end closed by 10.30 which is pretty earlier for a holiday hotel and even more so when the main hotel lobby area was closed in refurb too!
The waiters around the pool seem to have they favourites. We wont be returning to this hotel but i know lots will so maybe we just dropped unlucky :(

Room tip: Villa end quieter, no entertainment
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Public Relations Manager at Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Amanda B,
First of all thank you for your comments! We are really sorry to hear you did not have a very nice experience whilst in our resort. We wonder if you ever got to complain in our Public Relations office, normally we deal with all the complaints there and correct everything while guests are in house so they do not leave disappointed from our premises. We do have to add though, that the 24 hours bar is and has always being located outside the Hotel building and the refurbishment process did not affect this facility in any way. We wish you came back and could change your opinion about Brisas since this is not a common review. Should you change your mind and decide to return, please, contact us at: rpublic@brisas.gvc.tur.cu and advise us. We will be pleased if you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Everything was great, especially the beaches - they were fantastic. The food however was not great, and this unfortunately means we will probably not return. However having said this, the holiday was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jonnyx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Quality Manager at Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear jonnyx10,
We will extend your suggestions to all the staff. We are happy to know that you spent a great holidays in our hotel. We appreciate your comments about our resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed our beaches.
Brisas Guardalavaca really hopes you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

On arrival.

A warm greeting with Cuban music playing and a refreshingly cool drink handed to you as you get off the coach. Check-in was pretty hassle free.
No information about meal times or the layout of the hotel etc offered or available.

Room.
This review is for the hotel room and not an apartment.

We had a twin Seaview room on the 4th floor and to be honest, the view was outstanding. However the room wasn’t so good. The decor was from the late seventies and everything looked like it should have been thrown away 20years ago.

Due to the adjoining doors between rooms (lockable) you can hear everything that goes on next door and I mean everything! The bathrooms decor was the same and the shower had the very little pressure, so much so, that you had to do a silly dance to get your body wet.

The maids did an excellent job trying to keep it looking clean but, as the saying goes, you can’t polish a turd.
On the plus side. The beds were comfy, the air con was good and the room had a flat screen TV, though I wouldn’t know if it worked because we never turned it on. The view from the balcony was our TV.

There is a fridge in the room but it isn’t stocked, it does however have 1 bottle of water! This is the only bottle you get for your all inclusive. Once it’s drank you can get it filled with tap water behind the bar or, you can buy 5litre bottles for 2 peso, not expensive but you wouldn’t expect to pay for water in a all inclusive hotel. I hope this is an environmental drive to cut down on single use plastic bottles and not just a way of taking a few extra pounds of you.

Our room also had an hair dryer, ironing board and iron. It also had plenty of plug sockets
The safe costs 14 peso per week.
3/10

Food.

The dining hall is large with plenty of seating. The food is edible with a moderate selection, though the choice didn’t differ much each day so by the end of the holiday we were very bored with the food. There was virtually no salad option in the salad section! If you’re a meat eater then you will be in heaven.
The al a cart restaurants were okay and worth a visit. You are allowed 6 over the 14 nights. This breaks up the boredom of the food in the main dinning Hall..
You can also book a romantic, private meal on the beach. This costs 15 peso pp and I would highly recommend it.
There is a 24 hour snack bar, serving pizza, burgers, chips and sandwiches.
4/10

Drink

There are plenty of bars with a good selection of local drinks and a few brand names. Some of the bars close at 22:45 but the disco is open late and there is a 24 hour bar by the pool. The Havana bar on the 3rd floor is worth a visit, it has every type of rum imaginable.
The downside is, the bars often run out of tonic water and tequila and though advertised, you cannot get a moito. Shame, seen as though they were invented in Cuba. I was tipping around a peso every other drink and the staff appeared to be happy with that. Someone who has been to Cuba 7 times said that’s about right.
8/10

Pool, beach and gardens.

The gardens are extremely well maintained with beautiful palms and other local fauna. The pools are clean and large. There is ample sun loungers and space.
The beach area is the jewel in the hotels crown. White sandy beach with crystal clear warm sea. The beach is raked daily and is free from litter however, there’s always some inbred retard who ignores the “no food or plastic plates” rule for the beach and thinks it’s ok to discard them and allow them to blow into the sea!
You have a choice of free pedlos, canoes and windsurfing, all worth a go.
Watch out for the resident shark, sorry, I mean jack the lad! He slowly swims up to you and passes pleasantries, he then offers to sell you drugs. When you say no, he then proceeds to tell you how poor he and his family are and asks for items of clothing and toiletries. Apparently he’s been patrolling the waters just 10 meters from the shoreline for around 3 years! Armless but not what you want when you trying to have a swim.
Towels are supplied by the hotel but be careful, they have a tendency to walk! The hotel charges 20 peso for each missing towel!
10/10

Staff.
All very very polite and friendly, from the gardener to the hotel reception staff, all brilliant, hard working and assets to this ageing hotel. Apparently the pay is very low, so a few tips are always appreciated.
10/10

Entertainment.

Something for everyone, pool games throughout the day and live music and dancers every night. The hotel has a good games room boasting a table tennis and pool table.
10/10

WiFi.
The hotel will sell you a WiFi card for 1.5 peso, this gives you 1 hour of data. The coverage is very limited and the speed is a little like the old dialup! Remember to turn your WiFi off when not in use to save your minutes.
3/10. Should be free and better coverage.

During our stay the whole of the hotel had no running water for 12 hours. This meant no flushing toilets, no water to wash your hands etc. I did wonder how the staff managed to maintain basic hygiene with no hot water, I did also wonder how they managed to wash the dishes and cooking areas between breakfast, lunch and evening meal! The plates were being brought out 4-5 at a time leaving people stood around waiting for something to put their food on.
Also by the end of our fortnight, only 1 of the 4 lifts were in working order.

Summary.

Beautiful location with outstanding beaches. Very well kept gardens with good pools. Food and drink ok. Staff are fantastic. However the hotel rooms let everything down, it reminds me of the hotels I stayed in as a kid, some 30 years ago and like me, they haven’t aged very well. I will certainly visit Cuba again but, would I stay in this hotel again? NO! Brisas needs Its 4* rating reviewed to a possible 2*
If I was scoring just the staff, pool, beach’s and Cuba it would be 10/10, but I’m scoring the whole package and therefore I can only give 4/10
When you walk through the villages you see just how basic the Cubans homes are, so the hotel rooms are maybe a high standard to them. However what you pay to holiday here, you can go to the Dominican or other Caribbean islands and get a better standard of room.
Don’t forget your mosquito repellent!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews