We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,693)
Filter reviews
4,693 results
Traveller rating
1,504
1,986
716
309
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,504
1,986
716
309
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant el patio havana bar villa pool pizza martini bar villa buffet john lennon hotel section a la carte restaurants churros main pool the main hotel donuts tea garden fish chicken
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 4,693 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Loved Brisas!! As others have mentioned the staff made our vacation. Not a single person seemed unhappy to be there and appeared to want anything but the guests' enjoyment. Must be amazing management - who were invisible. Were even offered drinks around the active pool, and with a bit more patience at the main hotel lobby bar (but if you are in a rush, get a drink from the bar with very reasonable wait times). We tip reasonably, but not up front - so the staff were neither reacting to tips nor demanding them. The entertainment team was very engaging. Special shout out to Cesar! The blacklight magic show was well done.

We are couple in their 50s with our 19 year old daughter and niece, and have been to Cuba a dozen+ times, in many different resorts and regions, but this is now our favorite! Brisas is older, but continually upgraded to make it feel modern. It has a very good location right on a very nice beach. Although there were no palapas (probably because of the hurricanes), there was enough shade from trees.The grounds are beautiful and everything is well maintained. Public bathrooms always clean and with TP!!!

Food: We've seen better food in our Cuba trips, but there was enough to keep us satisfied. Pasta bar at the buffet and fresh omelettes works for me for most meals/breakfast. Best assortment of sausages for breakfast that I have seen (still no traditional Canadian style breakfast sausages - although one was close). A la cartes: We went to the seafood - which was fun with some live singing, nice decor, lobster, and very flexible (arrived early - no problem, asked for garlic butter - no problem, ran out of tempura calamari, can they do shrimp tempura instead - no problem!). We also went to the International - nice self-serve appetizers with awesome cured ham and even smoked salmon, nice garlic shrimp and ok main course. You can have breakfast and lunch at the Cuban restaurant - right in front of the beach, near the active pool and 24-hour snack bar - it is a la carte and open right through until 2:30PM so you don't have to adhere to the buffet hours. And the staff there are terrific!

Pros: staff!!, location, beach, entertainment team, excellent drinks at main hotel bars, quiet AC, clean updated room

Cons: low shower water pressure, food at buffets is boring, no diet soft drinks, no response to email before arriving (but I asked there and was told to use reserva@brisas.gvc.tur.cu next time)

Room tip - Ocean-view rooms in the main hotel are louder than rooms in the villas because they face the active pool, 24-hour snack bar and the main stage for the evening shows. At the moment, 2nd floor in the main hotel is being renovated, so there will be early morning and daytime noise on first and third floors.

Room tip: Ocean-view rooms in the main hotel are louder than the villas They face the active pool, 24-hour snack bar and the main stage for shows.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Richard222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Quality Manager at Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Richard222
Thank you very much for your amazing review. The staff will be pleased to know you had a good time; your positive comments encourage us to work hard and provide you with the best of the services.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

They make you so welcome, what ever your problem they do their best to assist. We had to return to the hotel after a near miss at the airport, they did their upmost to settle our nerves and calm all of us down. We had to stay two more days.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank aries1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Quality Manager at Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear aries1940,
Thank you very much for your amazing review. We appreciate your comments about our resort; we will extend your suggestions to all the staff. We love that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort!!!
Brisas Guardalavaca really hopes you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

First the positive!
Rooms were large and spacious. (We were in the villa section.) A little spoiled with being on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the sea. Beds were comfy and pretty much everything was functional in our room.
There were a lot of little gems we only discovered on the last days of our stay like a classy little bar by the Italian restaurant. (El cappuccino)
Pools were clean well maintained. Grounds were well maintained. Room service was ok.
There was a churros machine by the buffet. Mmmmm! The shows in the evening were ok, with some better by the buffet durring supper.
Beach was beautiful with abundant long chairs.

Now for the downside ;
Check-in was painful. We were supposed to have our room by 3pm. Unfortunately after spending a white night, airport, flight and bus it would have been nice to have a small sieste before exploring the area. But we were told our room wouldn't be ready before 4pm. Long story short, we got our room by 5. Lobby clerk dindn't seem to give a... (fill in space).
Food at the buffet was a bit more varied than other cuban resorts. Again, this is Cuba, don't come here for the food.
The Brisas complex is vast. If your in the villas section, prepare to do a lot o walkin.
In the end I've heard this place was listed a as a 4.5 star!..... nope! I'd like to give it more n 3 but its not worth it.
Had to use a taxi. Was refered to a local called "Dunieski Frias". Good driver, polite and knew the area well. Safe driver.

Room tip: Villas section a whole lot quieter
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

I travelled with my husband and our two children 13 and 9 from Dec. 8 to the 15th. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Although the hotel is dated - we stayed in the Villas - a little further away from the main hotel, but quitter and the VIllas have their own bars, restaurants, reception , pool etc..
The beach was beautiful , hotel grounds are kept clean and the staff is pleasant. We have been to Varadero 3 times and Holguin was just as beautiful but defiantly more countryside . As for the hotel we never waited long for drinks or food. In fact after a few days the waiters/bartenders were ready with our favorites by the time we reached the bars, and never did we feel as if Tips were expected, although appreciated! Food is repetitive as any buffet , but we (picky eaters) were able to find food and be satisfied daily. There is also a restaurant on the beach (seafood a la carte at night) which serves breakfast if you want a change from the buffet. We ate at the International, Seafood, Italian and Buckanero Al a Cartes and enjoyed them all.. although International was probably our favorite.
We went on the Sun cruise, a catamaran ride lunch snorkeling and 20 min. swim with the dolphins.. absolutely amazing!!
We also took a horse and buggy ride into the village
agua en la montaña and into Guardalavaca - both worth a visit. There is a daily market at the hotel as well to visit. We also paid $80 pesos for the 4 of us to ride in a 54 chevy into Holguin City which I would recommend, the culture is amazing .

Take umbrellas there are none in the hotel. You must purchase the lock for the safe (I believe 2 pesos per day) and water can be purchased for $2.05 pesos (5litres) as there is only one bottle provided in your mini fridge. Wifi is $1peso per hour.. some days great, some days no connection. Hit or miss.
If you plan to bring gifts for the Cuban people, I would suggest toiletries for woman , razors for men, and clothing for children.. seemed to be on the most wanted list..
We would go back to this hotel, enjoyed the vacation , the beach, the people, the food .

Room tip: Hotel rooms are closer to the noise and nightly shows, can be loud.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisas H, Quality Manager at Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear wendy c
Thank you very much for your lovely comments!!! The staff will be pleased to know you had a good time; your positive comments encourage us to work hard and provide you with the best of the services.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Cuba is a beautiful place and Brisas has an amazing beach. We got put in the villa section when we first came but asked to be put into the hotel section after the 2nd day as the main restaurant and pool is there. Rooms are average but very clean! Staff are friendly - also do branded spirits on all Inclusive. Weather was great but can be iffy sometimes rain in the afternoon. Could do with an update very old fashioned but most of Cuba is so looks traditional. The American cars are great to see. There is nothing outside so it is a very chilling holiday. The animation team are great! Even if no one participated in things they still carried on! They are a big part of the hotel. Also loved the water show! Food is repetitive but every all inclusive is the same so do not listen to bad reviews. It’s average but a great place and a nice holiday to forget home life. WiFi is used in lobby but sometimes worked around main pool 2 hours was 3 pesos. You get a lot of moaners on here but obviously don’t travel a lot so give it a go and don’t be put off!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
14  Thank laurencraig10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews