We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fab place”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

You could not wish for better or friendlier staff, they were totally amazing!
Hot, sunny, clean, what more could you ask for, a little piece of heaven.
We didnt encounter any mozzies and they had emptied the water fountain near the resteraunt to make sure of this.
Evening entertainment was good, the water show a must to see.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank karcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear karcat from Middlesbrough,
A little piece of heaven is what we wish to be for all our guests, so we are very happy to have accomplished that for you!
Thank you for posting your review!
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,618
    2,063
    676
    218
    131
See reviews for
1,464
2,769
211
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited Cuba for a short break in April for one week with the family. We booked this hotel an a whim as it was so cheap! We payed just £600.00 and to be honest the place was faultless. First of all I would like to raise your attention to the political side of Cuba; Cuba is a communist state which means the countries fortune is distributed equally throughout the people. As cuba is communist it gives the hotel group little budget to develop the hotel and ultimately makes the rooms very basic but this can't be lived with for such a cheap price.

On arrival we was greeted by several members of staff with umbrellas and cocktails; yes you did read correctly, umbrellas were handed out as it was raining. The hotel is generally small and we stayed on the Luna side; this side has more basic rooms but you are nowhere near the entertainment so you can get a good night sleep. The room was tiled and consisted of one double and one single bed, TV, umbrella station and the bathroom had basic complementary toiletries. The room had tea / coffee and refrigeration facilities. Please note our. Block never had a working lift. The pools were clean as well as well as the public areas.

The staff were pleasant but they do rely on tips. The beach is one on the most beautiful I have ever seen and it had a consistency of talk powder. All the restaurants were nice but avoid the fish one.

Sol rio de Luna mares 10/10 brilliant value for money

Room Tip: The nicer rooms seem to be on the mares side; but you would be at risk of hearing the entertainment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Robert L from Manchester,
Thanks for your review. We are really happy that you liked it here and feel satisfied with your holidays !
Have a great day !
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Without labouring the point this us a good hotel for Cuba. We had a couple of issues promptly sorted out by staff and much to our satisfaction. It's near to the national parks for activities and diving centre is you want a go. Too far from Havana to be practical, but we went to Santiago for a day trip. Guide was great but be prepared for a long bus ride. Santiago is great to look at all the old architecture but there are few shops and a lot of people trying to get you to buy black market cigars. Worth a look though. Although it's two in now the feel of hotel is of one and the walk is a short one.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sospanfawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sospanfawr from Wrexham,
We are happy you found us to be a great place to stay!
Thanks and warm regards,
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I'll break my review down:

Food at the main buffet area:
Boring after a couple of days, extremely busy and lacks imagination.

A la Carte restaurants:
Italian - Terrible throughout.
Mexican - Starters are a joke, but main Dish not bad. Below Average
French - The Best one. - Average
Mediterranean - Average.

Overall the food is boring and some of the salads and starters are horrific.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Entertainment is terrible, its like being in Benidorm, some very annoying guy on the Mic shouting to get kids and adults to dance to 10 year old music. Also at times, there is music coming from the Bars, Entertainment and Beach at the same time and it becomes noisy pollution. Not pleasant when you are trying to have dinner.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Service from staff is excellent however! They attend quickly and efficiently to your needs which was brilliant. Hotel seems pretty clean, although the rooms are old and some of the wall plugs are dangerous.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Toilets in the hotel are rubbish, no locks, no paper to dry hands.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You have to get up at about 7am every day to get a sun bed, as the staff don't enforce the rules around the pool concerning dropping your towel then going to bed for 4 hours.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Having read previous reviews on here about this hotel saying how wonderful it is, it was a let down and disappointing.

Overall if we hadn't have done any excursions we may as well have been in a cheap resort in Spain.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmarab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear mmarab2013 from London,
We regret the fact that we were not able to fulfill your expectations. Anyhow, we appreciate all opinions as they help us to improve our services. Thank you.
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Myself and my Wife went to Cuba for two weeks all inclusive in June we took an upgrade on our room and requested sea view so glad we did as the view from the balcony was nothing short of breath-taking. The hotel was lovely the room was a good size and the bed was so comfy the room also had good air conditioning and the room was spotless. The staff are so nice and friendly and they have an excellent DJ on site too called DJ Adrian all the entertainment staff were also excellent always trying to get you involved. Our room was at the Mares side which is a lot livelier than the Luna side which is the quiet side of the hotel there are two pools one at Luna and other at Mares the entertainment put on by the staff was also great, there are three restaurants on site Mediterranean, French and Mexican which we thought were really nice you also get the opportunity to have Lobster for 18 Cuban Convertible Pesos which is around £11 the breakfast buffet is good lots to choose from. The buffet in the evening is also good plenty of choice for everyone highly recommend the shrimp's which are more like giant prawns and the calamari is so good too, there is also food served at the beach and also at the Luna side there is a 24 hour snack bar the drinks are also very good one of the best all inclusive's that we have had the bar is open 24 hours plenty of choice for drinks personally I recommend the Santa De Cuba dark 5 year old and the Havana Club 7 year old the beach is right on your doorstep and the white sands and blue water is simply superb best beach that I have been on I was confused when some people were saying it's more like a two star than a four star absolute nonsense in my book yes the furniture is a little dated but you just need to remember where you are as you are not in the Beverly Hilton you are in Cuba. We also recommend the day trip to Santo De Cuba, Holgiun Cigar Factory and the overnight stay in Havana with a trip to Tropicana is nothing short of superb, you also need to get a ride in a classic car which is some experience so please give this lovely hotel a try you will not be disappointed keep up the good work folks VIVA CUBA!

Room Tip: take a room with sea vie you will not be disappointed the sea view room is at the Mares side which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear John S from Edingbourgh,
Thank you kindly for your review! We appreciate it a lot.
Hoping to see you again!
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a week with friends lovely food and lovely beach very friendly staff and helpful the hotel needs a bit of refurbishment. Air - con wasn't very good but would go back as staff was so lovely and the rooms was clean and tidy .must do the trip and swim with the dolphins also paradise island is a must do

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Leigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hola Leigh J from Plymouth,
We are glad you enjoyed a lovely holiday with your friends in our resort!
Thank you for choosing to return. It will be a pleasure to count you among our returning guests family.
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just arrived home today from an excellent holiday. Our family consists of 2 adults and 3 children aged between 13-10. When we originally booked this holiday we could not get a family room so we booked 2nr rooms. We emailed the hotel before we left and requested 2 rooms next to each other, which the hotel sorted out for us. On arrival the keys to your rooms are given to you as you get on to the coach. This way, you do not have to wait in the reception especially after a long flight which was very welcomed. The resort is split into two areas Mares and Luna; the main activities happen in the Mares side, this is also where the majority of the food is served. The Luna side is much quieter but still has a bar and a 24hr food service and is not far to walk to the activities.


Rooms

We had 2nr rooms in block 7 on the third floor. The rooms are very good and are serviced every day. Most of the rooms have sea views which are absolutely stunning, as most of the blocks are next to the beach, the setting is idyllic.

Food

We have stayed in many all inclusive resorts and this is without a doubt one of the best, you have always a choice of fish, pasta, salads and meats. The meat and fish counter are freshly cooked in front of you, as is the pasta. In summary it would be hard to find anything better. Others have commented that the food gets 'samey' and whilst this is true to an extent, we are yet to find an all inclusive hotel that this does not apply to.
There are also 4 a la carte restaurants; French, Italian, Mexican, Mediterranean. All of which are of an acceptable standard but the French in particular was fantastic and we visited twice.
On a Monday evening, a special meal is prepared for guests as a one off invitation during your stay. This is also a high quality meal, not to be missed.

Service

The Cubans are unbelievably friendly and the service you get from these guys is top class. They look after you very well and nothing is ever too much trouble.

Trips

We went on 2 trips: firstly the dolphin trip is a must! This was one of the best trips that we have ever done, the price is much cheaper than in Florida. The second trip was to a carnival in Holguin and again a very good evening trip (although this only happens for 3 days each year).
All the water sports were part of the package and as such we used the canoes and had many trips out on the mini catamarans and pedaloes.

Tipping

We tended to tip at every meal as the service was so good and the maid service was also very efficient and was deserved of a tip at the end of the holiday. Additionally we also gave money to the water sports guys.

In summary we would recommend this hotel and especially Cuba as the service you get is superb!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rob161269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Rio de Luna y Mares, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hola rob161269,
We are very happy that you liked Cuba and Sol Rio de Luna y Mares.
Thank you for recommending us !
Ricardo Moreno
General Manager
director.general.srm@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guardalavaca
368.8 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
443.2 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Rio de Luna y Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Rio de Luna y Mares

Property: Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Address: Ctra. de Guardalavaca | Playa Esmeralda, Guardalavaca 84170, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Guardalavaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guardalavaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Rio de Luna y Mares 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four -Star All Inclusive Resort with 464 rooms. Located beachfront in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province, where visitors will be amazed by the dazzling superposition of blues and greens from the sea, sky and costal shrubbery. This hotel complex is surrounded by extensive green areas and offers a wide variety of services and attractions. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons and tourist groups.Guest Rooms464 rooms: 308 Standard, 108 Standard Ocean View, 30 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 Junior Suite, 4 Suite, 8 Family Suite Ocean ViewDining7 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet), 6 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Holiday Gems, Cancelon, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Rio de Luna y Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Hotel Guardalavaca
Sol Rio De Luna y Mares Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing