We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bruges hidden treasure”
Review of Danny Horseele - CLOSED

Danny Horseele
Price range: US$78 - US$314
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bruges hidden treasure”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Great company, great evening, overwhelming pieces of foodart accompanied by great wines. Could not wish anything better than what we had. Amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schilde, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The sweet taste of refinement”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Afternoon delight! It was a grey an rainy afternoon... that turned into a sparkling sun on a plate day! Japanese influences, interpretations of classic dishes that reduced our conversations to a silence that said it all... This is money well spent... time well spent... With only one regret... having to leave. A chef that still welcomes his guests in person... a staff and an ambience that make you feel at home. What more do you want.... money to come back?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DBL882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surpricing”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

After big name 'Hertog Jan' we went to the more unknown restaurant 'Danny Horseele'. The location is more romantic. The atmospheer was more relax. The food was excellent for more than half the price. I could say that I should take away one star from '2 stars Hertog Jan' and give it to Danny Horseele, who diserved one star.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, much better than first time”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Been to Danny Horseele for the second time (first time was about 2 years ago). We typically go there during "restaurantweek", which makes it a bit more affordable.
Previous time the food was good, the wine excellent, but as some other reviewers suggest, there were similar restaurants in the area (with one Michelin star) that probably were cheaper.
This time, you could really taste the difference between a 2-star (Danny Horseele) and a 1-star restaurant (we did quite some). Excellent menu, probably very fresh ingredients, lots of creativity in the combination of flavors and tastes, original and excellent assorted wine selection. In one sentence: "the perfect dinner".
We did some other 2 stars before (Jonkman, Pastorale) and 3 star (Karmeliet), and this was at least at the same level.
Service was good, and at the right level of interaction (meaning, not disturbing you all the time, but there when you need them).
Maybe we were more lucky this time than first time, maybe the chef finally recovered from his serious health problems (which I really hope), but anyway highly recommended.

BTW, we also liked the background music, but I understand that this is rather personal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MarcG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top of the bill”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I have eaten in about most MichelinStar restaurants in Belgium (the most are situated in West Vlaanderen) Danny Horseele is a great place to eat and has different menus (lunch and dinner) and also "à la carte" and what makes a great difference with most places : the chef come and explains the menu for that particular moment and checks afterwards to. He has a great "sommelier" (won some prices in France) and what he recommends is not always the most expensive wine but the most adequat for the menu of the day. Peacefull surroundings but always somebody close by if you have questions or needs. The food is fantastic over and over again. I live in Brugge so it is a short drive away and so I go on a regular basis. You get what you expect and more. It really is a complete experience. The chef is back in hospital for his illness but we all pray that he gets back soon and gets his kitchen back into the normal routine. Best of luck for his recovery.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danny Horseele also viewed

Lissewege, West Flanders Province
Lissewege, West Flanders Province
 
Lissewege, West Flanders Province
Lissewege, West Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing