We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Latimer Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed two nights as guests for wedding on new years eve. Special arrangements made for the event therefore of a very high quality of service both in food and staff professionalism. Stayed in one of the cheaper rooms so fairly basic but equipped well and clean, Free wifi, TV, hair dryer, No fridge. Bathroom good, heated but tiled floor very cold for some reason I could not work out why.
All staff really good. Event catering staff/management very good and under excellent supervision of Italian looking manager. Reception staff also very pleasant and professional.
Event rooms were dressed really well and outstanding for the special occasion. Seems like an ideal hotel for corporate events in a nice quite location.
We could hear a baby crying now and then in one of the neighbouring rooms although not loud and actually heard the yapping of a small dog a couple of times but it did not cause us any inconvenience. Would use again and would try and make use of the swimming pool next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no children or babies next door if you need it to be really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haro z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, Front Office Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your New Year stay with us. I am delighted to hear that the wedding went well and you had a most enjoyable stay. Reading the review in detail I would say that we appear to be more than fairly good! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to enjoy our leisure facilites in full.

Kind regards

Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just enjoyed breakfast at this lovely hotel following a New Years Eve function in the local area. We had a lovely spacious room in the main reception area and although arriving back in the early hours we received a lovely welcome from the night team who offered us a night cap before bed. The room itself was quiet, we heard little of the late night revellers who had partied returning to their rooms. Breakfast was plentiful with great choices and the waffles were a hit with the kids! The staff have been excellent and advise that we can still stay and use the pool following check-out. Any apprehension we had on using this hotel was unfounded, we had a fantastic rate and will definitely return in the future. See for yourself you may be plesently surprised.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay away for the night as we were both working Christmas and new year. We found a great deal on late rooms so we booked, check in was quick and we went straight to our room, we went out in the afternoon and decided to relax before we go ready for dinner. There was lots of notice coming from the floor above but thought nothing of of as it was not late. We went for dinner but what a disappointment :-( the menu was very sparse and disappointing, we went back to the room and the noise had increased it sounded like a here of elephants were in the room above us, in the end we gave up and asked to be moved ( the gentleman on reception was lovely about it) and was given a quieter room, when we were moving our things the children ( 10.30pm at night) running around the hotel with no shoes or socks and banging on doors was unbelievable ( not the hotels fault)
I would only recommend this hotel if it was for 1 night and you are dining off site, nice hotel shame about the noise and lack if food. Z

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nuttytazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel this Christmas and I was really pleased. The staff were really pleasant and helpful, without being asked refunded the nights stay which we never made due to the adverse weather and the channel ferries being cancelled, I felt this to be a nice gesture given that it wasn't their fault. The breakfast was fantastic they provided just about every thing anyone could want. Comfortable rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Latimer place on 29th of December.

The drive up the hill and through the gates was beautiful. The big manor house in its full glory looking over the scenic sites of Latimer... Expectations were high upon this lovely site...

Check in was quick and simple, and into the room we went. The room was small but had what you needed.

*Positives*

Great Location

Friendly Staff

Food in restaurant

*Negatives*

Thin walls

Lots of children running around restaurant & corridors (unchallenged by staff)

*Suggestions for management*

+ Introduce adults only area or a quiet area where rooms are situated (have stayed at a few hotels where this works well).

+ Have a children's area in the Restaurant for kids who want to run around?

+ More deserts!!! :)


  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLovelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This place is terrible. Our room, in the main house, which was more expensive that the other buildings, was filthy: carpets, the throw on the bed, the curtains, even the phone had dust on it. The bed was old and sagged badly. There was little to no ventilation and the fans provided just succeeded in kicking up dust from the carpet. The wardrobe door was falling off. Probably the worst room I have ever had to stay in.
It is very much a conference centre and shows significant wear and tear in all the common areas.
The breakfast wasn't bad, but the event meal was poor.
We didn't voice our concerns whilst we were there as we were guests at an event, but the duty manager did make good on our costs when we contacted her.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, Front Office Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We have addressed the issues you raised with us and I am glad to hear that the duty manager refunded the costs associated with your stay. I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to meet your expectations, we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future, assuring you of a much more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a lovely stay in a nice quiet room. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly except for the polite but too-efficient receptionist who left us with several questions about breakfast etc. Food was good with reasonable choice. Downsides were that flush in our bathroom was a bit dodgy and some areas of the hotel need a bit of TLC. Basic things like the tea facility in the room could have been better. However, based on the bar, lounges, library, coffee points, friendliness of staff (particularly the gentleman on duty at breakfast), I would recommend this venue.

Pros: Lovely building and communal areas, useful coffee points and water dispensers, helpful staff, good food, absolutely lovely resident cat!

Cons: In need of tlc in certain areas. Our flush didn't work well. Kettle too large for sink - (had to fill it using the cups).

Room Tip: We stayed in a quiet room on first floor away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menina111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
475 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
792 reviews
5.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Amersham
545 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,857 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Latimer Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Latimer Estate

Address: Latimer, Chesham HP5 1UG, England (Formerly De Vere Latimer Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range: £68 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Latimer Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Latimer Estate has an intriguing story to tell. Known as one of Britain's most secret homes, the mansion house played an important part in military intelligence during World War II. Today, the hotel has undergone a £7m refurbishment to add 21st-century comfort and style whilst complementing the original character of the property. You’ll find a blend of bold modern spaces and elegant suites that set the tone for memorable events and unforgettable weddings alike. Enjoy a warm welcome in our recently-refurbished restaurant, bar and outdoor courtyard, where you’ll discover locally-sourced, seasonally-inspired menus. All set within contemporary spaces where natural elements combine with fine materials. Meanwhile our new artisan coffee shop Burr & Co. offers a selection of high-quality drinks and sweet treats for guests. When you want to take some time out to unwind, our collection of bedrooms await, with half of them refurbished to reflect the revival of British heritage design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Latimer Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer Place Chesham
Latimer Place Hotel Chesham
De Vere Latimer Estate Chesham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing