We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Latimer Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

booked at last minute and was pleased with the rate of £49 but would rather pay more and have some comfort!
Room was very clean but the bed and pillows were rock hard and the bathroom was so small two people could not use it at once! Didn't use any of the facilities or have drinks or meals but based on comfort of the bed i would definatley not return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Latimer Place. It is a shame that you did not visit the bar and restaurant and see the lovely surroundings and take in the history of the house. Our beds are the highest quality Seely beds and usually receive great reviews with requests for their serial numbers. I am sorry that you did not find them comfortable.

I hope you visit us again and do have a wander around our venus.

Kind regards

Tessa Win
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    265
    173
    75
    35
See reviews for
113
287
21
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We had a really good stay here as a last minute booking. Breakfast was very good value. Good leisure facilities available, comfy warm room and good service from the staff. Location is another good factor as it is easy to get to from the M25 but nicely in the countryside.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank newman_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback posting on tripadvisor. A great summary of what we offer and the aim we wish to achieve, which we have delivered on this ocasion.

We hope you take the time to visit again.

Thank and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a work conference.

We started with a lunch that was very good for a buffet for 50+ people. Large choice of pudding from cheese board to ice cream to cheesecakes.

I stayed in the C block. Room was nice, but small. Pillows were not that comfy tho. Shower was amazing with many different gadgets and jets!! Plug by the bed which is a rare thing in a hotel nowadays!! Hairdryer provided but didn't use so cannot comment on the power.

Breakfast was very good and very filling!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I hope that you had a successful works conference here at Latimer Place. Thank you for your feedback on our facilities and the service we delivered to you and your co workers.

I hope you company selects Latimer again for their next event.

Kind regards

Tessa Win
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A nice comfortable stay. Nice room for a good rate through late rooms. Would stay again. Bathroom clean. Big car park that is free which is becoming rare in hotel car parks these days. Devere customer service always good in my experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We love to hear that we have fulfilled our aism, to offer great value for money and De Vere customer service.

Thank you for being an advocate of De Vere.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As a conference venue, this is the type of place I avoid using as they don't tend to cater well to hotel guests. However, it has proven me wrong.

Beautiful setting, well appointed rooms, great staff and very good food. The view from the room was amazing and I loved the place,

The only issues I had at all was the noise from conference guests over night, but you cant blame the staff for that and finally seating in the bar, very few places to sit and eat if you get a few guests not wishing to use the restaurant.

Will definitely use again

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arobajase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, Front Office Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I am so glad that you chose to stay with us. We are lucky to be in an area of outstanding beauty and I do hope that you had time to enjoy the grounds.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel to attend a seminar. It's one of the most relaxing places I've ever seen. I plan to stay again, but this time with my wife for a relaxing weekend. You can breath the fresh air, hear the birds singing, watch the river flow, see the squirrels running around and enjoy the nature.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akinarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I hope that your seminar at Latimer Place was a success. We are indeed in a most idyllic setting and I hope that you do manage to visit again for a relaxing stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed after a wedding reception, good room rate, room was on the small side and some redecoration required. Superb setting. Serving staff at breakfast were sullen and I'm still waiting for a coffee refill!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatsitallabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin2009, General Manager at De Vere Latimer Estate, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I do hope that the Wedding was a lovely day and enjoyed by everyone. I take your point on board with regard to the breakfast team and I am sorry that you did not receive the correct level of service. Your feedback will be communicated and addressed with the team.

Kind regards

Tessa Win
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
320 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
749 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
481 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,742 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Latimer Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Latimer Estate

Property: De Vere Latimer Estate
Address: Latimer, Chesham HP5 1UG, England (Formerly De Vere Latimer Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Latimer Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Latimer Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer Place Chesham
Latimer Place Hotel Chesham
De Vere Latimer Estate Chesham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing