We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Latimer Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Took this on a £29 break. Strange to stand behind others who were paying £49!! (felt almost guilty). Lovely setting, although not well sign-posted. Very quiet location clearly set up for corporate training and weddings, so accepting that it was good value for money.

Downsides:
-first room allocated in the `training block' had a very small bed (4ft) but reception were adamant that it was a double room. They eventually offered another room which had a proper double (and it was extremely comfortable).
-whilst there was a great `jacuzzi' style shower the heating was stuck on `scalding' which was a pity
- as there was a wedding on, the bar was in the `mews' and this was a little soulless, but served up a tasty bar snack.

Upside
- comfortable accommodation;
- free coffee on tap;
-quiet location;
-lovely old house;
-great breakfast (£7.50 extra).
-Late checkout at weekend 11:00am

Was offered membership of the fitness facilities (but didn't take it up)

Stay here again? - Yes

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    248
    164
    68
    30
See reviews for
104
269
18
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

We booked this hotel for a bargain price of £19 and for the money we can't really fault our stay. Friendly reception, peaceful location (nearby to Chorleywood & M25) with nice local pubs in Chenies up the road.

Room nice, big for the price, comfortable nights sleep.

Wish we'd arrived earlier to check out the pool, but unfortunately it was tea time when we arrived. A nice quiet pool table lounge too.

9.30 check out yes, but for £5 you can stay til 2pm so no complaints, just look out for the cheap breaks!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichBradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,028 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

09.30 Check Out!!!

Let’s start with the positives.

Latimer Place is a beautiful building set in spectacular grounds with lovely views, there is ample parking and the place itself sprawls over a vast area.

Reception was friendly and efficient.

The room was large, nice shower and large bed.

Negatives.

Our room was in the manor house a fair walk with lots of stairs just in the corridor then up two flights carrying two suitcases. (No offer of assistance with our bags)

The corridor in the newer part of the building smelt like hospital, did not bother me but upset my partner somewhat, he is hospital phobic.

The room albeit large with nice big windows overlooking the river was very dark. It is decorated in a contemporary style but in dark beiges and browns, the windows in the entire hotel were absolutely filthy therefore spoiling not only the amount of light but also the view.

The bathroom has one tiny bar of soap and one little bottle of shower gel. We were in an executive room and expected the usual touches i.e. nice toiletries, robes etc. There were none of these things.

There is no radio; the TV only has 4 channels.

There has obviously been some investment put into upgrading the rooms but none in the public areas. Most of the walls are marked dirty and generally tired looking.

The manor house is huge with several large rooms’ restaurant and bar. It has the potential to be stunning but it was just lacking soul, there was no atmosphere at all. The staff was efficient but not friendly and we felt almost like an inconvenience to them merely by our presence.

We did not have dinner in the hotel so cannot comment on the food but we did hear the raucous laughter coming from the restaurant from the many corporate groups that were there. Definitely not for a romantic meal.

Breakfast was served in a large conservatory again filthy windows, dingy tables, chairs and sad plastic plants. The food was usual basic, the fried eggs were all runny orange juice, cereal and hot buffet but nothing special.

The negative icing on the cake however is the ridiculously early check out time. We are business people and stay in hotels regularly in the UK as well as world wide. Never without exception have we had to check out at this time. When we asked why and if it would be possible for a later check out, we were told it was so they could have the room ready for the next guest????? And we would have to pay a surcharge if we wanted to stay later. We did not.

This hotel could be the perfect romantic get away. But they clearly are geared toward the corporate market and consequently make normal guests feel a bit of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

The great shower made up for a multitude of sins. Rooms cosy, clean and well equipped (we were in the Cormorant Centre). I wanted to like this place more, though. With no car you are a bit stuck - a fair ride from the station, which I expected, but also from anywhere else. I arrived in the dark and was allocated a room that turned out to be already occupied, a bit embarrassing. The room was changed to one in another centre elsewhere on the 'campus'. I dodn't really know how to find it and the signage leads down a dark tree-lined walk, pretty in the daytime but not somewhere I wanted to get lost in alone at night. All the buildings did not seem noticeably labelled with their names and when I got to the block we were staying in, there was no receptionist or security in evidence during the night hours, so again I eventually found my own way but this gave rise to a bit of an uneasy feeling.

Drilling was (still!) going on right under the window past 10pm. When I enquired for how long, reception said they had already had one call about it. It fortunately stopped quite quickly but began again about 8.30 in the morning so it was not the most restful place. Definitely ensure that the room you are given will be as quiet as possible at the point of checking in.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitScho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed for a family wedding and it is a lovely venue. Unfortunately as it is also a conference venue they didn't seem to appreciate that wedding guests may be older and less able to climb an open plan staircase to the v small room with a large case. No assistance or lift available! Wedding reception great and buffet breakfast fine. Staff mostly friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyawaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

The hotel is becoming more and more busy and the offer is less good. The free all day coffees are no longer available – you have to pay. The pool is very busy with either conference guests, or leisure guests on £10 a night rates, or the locals who pay £10 for the year [that’s what one told me] to use the facilities and you can see why it isn’t easy to get into the pool. Only 2 showers for all the women are not enough. The rooms are standard despite the impressive front to the house. Breakfast was tired. What once felt exclusive now feels plain over crowded.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Libertysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

I booked a room via lastminute.com when they were doing a special £10 promotion & stayed at Latimer Place in April. Basically you book a room in a certain area without knowing what hotel it is - once you pay, you find out the name of the hotel. I wasn't expecting much but was very pleasantly surprised!

We were upgraded to a newly renovated room in the main house at no extra charge as there was a conference on (you can ask for an upgrade apparently which costs an extra £15) & our room was absolutely lovely - big, nicely decorated & with fab views over the surrounding countryside. It really was great.

We took our bikes & cycled around the local villages - really lovely part of the world. We stumbled upon a fanatastic gastro pub with a great beer garden called the Bricklayers Arms in nearby Flaunden. It's expensive but worth it - very foody & won awards, etc.

We paid for breakfast the following day - good value at £7.50 each for the buffet with full English, pastries, cereal, fruit, etc. The staff were very friendly & accommodating.

I would happily pay £50-£60 to stay here. We had a great experience, made even better by the fact we got the room so amazingly cheap.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberryfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.8 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Latimer Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Latimer Estate

Property: De Vere Latimer Estate
Address: Latimer, Chesham HP5 1UG, England (Formerly De Vere Latimer Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Latimer Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Latimer Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latimer Place Chesham
Latimer Place Hotel Chesham
De Vere Latimer Estate Chesham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing