We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings, off the beaten track” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chartridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chartridge Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Uckfield, UK
Level Contributor
415 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, off the beaten track”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stay away in hotels a lot and usually find it easy to write a review. But wasn't sure whether I liked this hotel or not!! I booked a single room on the day of my stay. It was good value at £40 last minute but I would not be happy to pay the normal £100. The location was remote (about 3 miles of windy and some steep narrow roads), which could be an advantage or disadvantage, depending upon the reason for your stay. The bedroom was quaint, a generous sized single bed. However, it was so hot on entering that I immediately felt ill. Soon rectified by turning the radiator off and opening the windows. The bathroom was shabby and very old fashioned, but clean. I had a continental breakfast served from 7am (couldn't hang on for the cooked breakfast). It was extremely basic, with packets of cereal, 2 fruits, yogurt and toast (cheap looking sliced bread). Good choice of fruit juice and nice coffee. I was quite amused by the portable radio in the corner of the room. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UckfieldSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    81
    78
    48
    25
See reviews for
35
82
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Booked here for a work trip. It was very good and superb value for money.
Staff were exceptional and took a huge pride in their work and the venue
Breakfast was amazing excellent food cooked to order and a great range of continental and cold options-shame the Hilton this week wasn't as good!!
I wpuld recommend for either conference or social venue.

Room Tip: Probably ask for ground or 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 224Lizzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed here on business everything really good everything was really good. Great staff great place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Margaret's at Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed at Chartridge for a lovely summer wedding.

The venue executed the wedding very well, the staff were welcoming, the food was good and they looked after us in the evening!

The garden's are great and are bigger than you think. There is even a pitch and putt right at the back of the grounds!

My girlfriend and I stayed in the old house, which is now 3 or 4 rooms. I would recommend this as the rooms seem to have extra character. It could do with refurbishment in the near future but was not too bad. Everything was clean and the bathroom was huge.

I do however have two criticisms. The bar is simply not sufficient in size or stock. This is not supposed to be a macho comment, it really is tiny and that is not good for a wedding day. There was no premium draft lager which I think is terrible. Some decent bottled beers were available.

My other criticism concerns breakfast. After a late night which involved drinking, I was not feeling 100% and didn't know how well breakfast would go down. I was pleased to see the cooked breakfast looked good so I asked for a tiny portion (I think I had a chipolata and some scrambled egg). It is a buffet breakfast but not self service. It went down very well and I decided to have some more. A queue had since formed so I joined and was exchanging comments about the lovely wedding and meeting people who I'd not met the day before. The girl behind the breakfast bar then confronted me, noticing I was at my second visit, I took this in good humour and reminded her that I only had a tiny portion before, thinking she would not really care (there were no notices regarding a strict one visit policy). The girl then snapped that "we have 60 people to feed". I left the queue embarrassed and irate. The newlyweds had arrived and I wasn't going to kick up a fuss over some breakfast so I left it there but it was one of the worst service experiences I've ever had. They made me look greedy in front of some of my friend's family who I'd never met. I had spent over £200 on accommodation and drinks and the place was trying to present itself as classy but were prepared to be rude, in public, to a customer over a plate of cooked breakfast.

I actually started this review with 3 stars but remembering just how bad the breakfast incident was I had to knock one off. I don't want to focus on one incident but it really was that bad.

Overall it was quite a nice stay, but avoid the single chipolata with a side of public humiliation.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the old house, we had Room 4 and it was spacious with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chesham hotels

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were sooooooooo impressed with all the staff, they couldnt do enough for us. we must give special thanks to helen-the duty manager and lisa who were so amazing. they couldnt do enough for us. the food was so good me and my best man had seconds. the bar wasnt to pricey and the grounds were outstanding

Room Tip: the beds in the old part of the building are so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george186222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I attended a wedding here in September 2011. The service was efficient and friendly but the food was awful! The wedding breakfast was poor and unimaginative and the breakfast the next morning was practically inedible! Also, many areas of the hotel are in need of refurbishment. However, the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareMethven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
295 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The reception desk was sometimes unattended though the staff when there were very helpful as were all the staff I encountered. The range of food at breakfast was very limited but they do offer a cooked breakfast which I enjoyed.

My room (number 35) was in the old part of the house – it was large as was the bathroom but both needed to be totally refurbished. Whilst paint covered all the correct surfaces and the room still had some original characteristics – when I washed my hands in the bowl the water leaked onto the surrounding wallpaper; the bath taps dated from circa 1960 or a bit earlier. The lampshades and curtains were similarly old and the curtains had broken rails. The bathroom had flooded in the past as the desk furniture in the bedroom was damaged, as was the cornice in the bathroom indicating water had come in previously from above. The soap and shampoo were extremely basic and cheap and the towels were old and “cost effective”; no flannel. The room had arm chairs that were clean and comfortable as was the bed.

The room had a door onto a balcony, very nice other than the approx 50 cigarette butts and some broken glass indicating there had presumably been a break-in. The room has a delightful view out onto the gardens which are kept in extremely good order; beautiful.

In the bar, wine by the glass was good - providing it is from a new bottle. The initial wine served to me and others had been opened a long time ago and gone off.

Summary; parts of the hotel have character and the gardens are excellent, the staff are good, the food is OK. Some parts of the hotel including the conference room we used need to be refurbished and to do that well would be very expensive but worth the effort and the end result would be an outstanding venue. I can’t comment on the price as my room was paid for by a company.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriousTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.7 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
9.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartridge Lodge

Property: Chartridge Lodge
Address: Chartridge Lane, Chesham HP5 2TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chartridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chartridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartridge Conference Centre Hotel Chesham
Chartridge Lodge Chesham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing