We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chartridge Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms(Berkhamsted)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Amersham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Lodge Hotel(Aston Clinton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
78
97
93
58
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
97
93
58
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverylovely groundsgreat wedding venuebirthday partystayed one nightbed and breakfastfull english breakfastplenty of parkingafternoon teayogurtconferencecanapesorangery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

So the rooms seem a little "tired".
So I could only get a phone signal outside.
So I couldn't find the hotel wide free internet signal.
But at just £32 for a double room for the night - I'm not complaining.
Great value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamptonKex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed for two nights. The young staff were friendly and welcoming and the food served in the bar was good value, though limited. The restaurant was not open - it feels as if this place is really geared up to be a wedding venue rather than a hotel and is probably just ticking over between weddings. My room was large, comfortable and acceptably clean. The major fault was the continuous humming noise, day and night. The receptionist explained that it was a known fault, caused by the central heating boiler, but that there was no money in this year's budget to sort it out. Minor things - remote control only worked intermittently, all taps were very stiff. I would stay here again, as it's in a lovely rural situation and you're made to feel welcome - but it does need fixing.

Room Tip: Maybe don't stay in the main house to avoid the noise of the central heating boiler.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We came here because it was relatively cheap for the area and now we now why.
Rooms were in poor condition, we had to move because the bathroom and toilet had not been cleaned. Even in the next room the cupboards were dilapidated and the curtains would not close. The main restaurant on the Saturday was closed and so we had to eat in the Orangery which was lacking in any sort of atmosphere. Food looked microwaved? The bar area was small and had a very poor choice of wine. Even at breakfast they ran out of some of the basic items. The staff did their best but they were mainly very young people who did not seem to be able to cope. Outside the gardens were well maintained, but the out buildings and golf course seem to be run down, closed or not used.
The great pity is that this could be a superb hotel in a good location but obviously needs a fortune spending on it to modernise it.
I have stayed in much better discount hotels who charge half the price.

Room Tip: Check that the restaurant is open and the room you stay in is clean before you stay here.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We only stayed for one night after a formal dinner but found it perfectly acceptable. Yes we have stayed in better but we have also paid a lot more than we were charged here - we could not have bed & breakfasted in a guest house for this price. The hotel is corporate in feel but that reflects what I assume are its major markets. Our room was fine, breakfast was good and the setting is delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denmarcjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I would not recommend booking this "conference centre" it was a shambles from start to finish.

Myself and colleges all struggled for network signal across 3 different networks, we managed to make calls outside within the grounds but not in the building. Out of the 53 rooms in the main hotel we were allocated to stay in "the cottage" and believe me this was no quaint cottage. It had 4 rooms separate from the mail hotel, as single females travelling alone we wouldn't have chosen to stay on ground level in an old separate building with no signal or WIFI in "the cottage".

The cottage absolutely stank to high hell of musty old moth eaten furnishings, it made a charity shop smell fresh it was so stale smelling almost unbearable.

The bar: opens at 6pm - can't serve a chilled wine until at least 7pm as during the day the wine is left out at room temp and they don't start chilling drinks until they open and only have 1 small fridge. The bar doesn't accept card payments and has lipstick stained glasses.

The hotel manager said he felt "insulted" by our negative comments that were in fact just cold hard truths. Food was disgusting. No compensation offered in any form not a soft drink nothing. We were charged full price. No hot running water in the cottage or 2 main rooms.

I would never stay here ever again. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews