We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chartridge Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$141
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Hotel(Amersham)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Amersham)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms(Berkhamsted)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Watermill Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Brewers Hotel(Chipperfield)
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Hill Farm(Chorleywood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
79
98
93
59
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
98
93
59
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverylovely groundsgreat wedding venuebirthday partystayed one nightbed and breakfastfull english breakfastplenty of parkingafternoon teayogurtconferencecanapesorangery
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting and ideal for celebrations and weddings. The public rooms are very good, and the gardens, on a hot evening, lovely.
The food was adequate at the party we were at, and at breakfast, but nothing special.
The rooms, as previously stated are a bit shabby, and ours was really tiny with a ridiculously small ensuite and not overly comfortable bed. However the cost was very reasonable, so you get what you pay for really.
With refurbished rooms throughout and perhaps a re-think of some of the smaller rooms like the one we had, this could be perfect. Although we would expect the prices to go up!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank echokent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent the last 2 nights here on our best friends wedding.
3 amazing days, beautiful venue and grounds. The staff were always on hand to help and acted professionally throughout. We would highly recommend this venue for future weddings.
The food was exceptional.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Theash87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and were very disappointed with our room. The bathroom was dirty, especially the toilet and we felt it needed a deep clean. The bed was very hard and the carpet and furniture had definitely seen better days.Breakfast was OK but not quite up to standard, ie no choice of eggs (scrambled only),no tomatoes. We would not stay here again even though the Staff were friendly and the outside grounds are stunning, definitely not worth what we paid. I think they are focussed on weddings and conferences and assume that people will fall into bed after a few drinks and not notice their surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Overall a wonderful day was had by all who attended my eldest sons wedding. There were one or two minor hiccups such as a shortage of dressed chairs both in the ceremony room and for the wedding breakfast, this thankfully was solved by the two ushers in the absence of the wedding coordinator, who despite the blurb in the brochure did NOT attend on the day!! Brochure reads:--(Our experienced wedding co-ordinator will be with you every step of the way, offering exceptional dedication to ensure your desires are met.) The food was of excellent quality and served relatively quickly to the 70 guests there was however a lack of vegetables , we were told that we could ask for more but by the time they came the rest of the food would have been cold, Shame, they need to get this balance correct in the future. The rooms are a bit tired to say the least, and need a major spend on them to both update and improve the experience of staying here. The whole building looks as if it has been somewhat patched up to keep going rather than invested in as a profitable business over recent years. Given the location ,the truly magnificent grounds and the potential grandeur of the building a cash injection I feel could only bring rewards. One other major gripe my wife has is that at the end of the evening a significant amount of the wedding cake bottom tier (which she made herself) was taken away and binned. Not sure why or if they cut the whole 13" diameter cake but we were told that there was none left to send to the various elderly relatives or friends who could not attend the ceremony. We knew there was some left as we saw it taken away, but did not expect it to be thrown in the bin. We did telephone and we were told that it would be looked in to, and they would ring us back. Unfortunately they never have, hence this review. Still Granny didn't get her cake did she!!!
Only small negative things I guess, but we will remember them if our other son marries.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MelodyDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Room was tiny, bed basically unmade, pillow cases inside out, windows disgusting and uncleaned, black mould and mildew around frames, drawers broken, TV not fixed to bracket and dangerous, peeling paint everywhere, hideous enormous mouldy damp patch on bathroom ceiling, bare concrete floor around toilet, paper thin walls meant listening to neighbour snores all night, breakfast looked off and no decaf available, only a machine, I gave up and left. Appalling place, carpets filthy, staff surly, dirty walls... The list goes on. It needs new management and closing for refurbishment. It would have been cleaner, quieter and more hygienic to sleep in the car.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. This room was put off for refurbishment and accidental reset on the computer system. It should not have been let to you and I apologise that you were allocated the room. We have in the past suffered from lack of investment and we are now rapidly progressing a reurbishment plan. I have employed two full time maintenance people who are working through a planned programme of decorating and repairs.
Please do contact me if you would like to speak to me directly.

Stephen

Stephen Quigley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews