We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Time Favourite Hotel”
Review of Chartridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chartridge Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Mill Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All Time Favourite Hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in this lovely quiet character hotel and were amazed by the excellent friendly courteous management and staff. The hotel is surrounded by twenty seven picturesque acres of well kept gorgeous gardens, in the quiet scenic countryside of Chesham. Breakfasts range from full hearty to light, every morning. Afternoon cream tea served by request. Even in the midst and busyness of two weddings, the hotel staff offered to serve us a lovely tea in a quiet corner of the hotel. The in house Pub offers yummy food in a beautiful secluded garden. An easy drive from Heathrow and easy access to the train.

I asked our daughter, who was competing in the IWAS Junior World Championships (She won 2 Gold Medals and a Bronze Medal), to find us a good hotel online that was a reasonable distance from the track. She found Chartridge Lodge and we easily booked our rooms from Canada. What a great find!

After the International Track and Field Competitions, we explored London and as much of beautiful England as we could by day, returning to the tranquility of Chartridge at night, tucked into comfortable beds, waking rested, rejuvenated and ready for a new day. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite (between weddings). Wow, we enjoyed a huge private balcony sipping coffee and tea in the early morning as we listened to birds, sipping a glass of wine at night as the birds settled into the garden trees. We also enjoyed staying in the hotel's reasonably priced premium rooms, overlooking lovely gardens.

To Sam McKenna, Chartridge Lodge and Conference Centre's Manager. Thank you for your personal attention to our comfort. You and your lovely staff made our stay in England memorable. Can't wait for our next visit.
Warm regards,
Joanne Brockway

Room Tip: The premium rooms are reasonably priced and well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    82
    83
    48
    27
See reviews for
36
85
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Thanks to my wife, we spent a lovely tranquil night here over the Bank Holiday weekend. The whole experience was great, but star billing for me was the gym / sauna, which I had all to myself in a seperate building in the beautiful grounds. If you are looking for an "away from it all" break, then give it a try !

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happycoupleBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great clean spacious room,
Fantastic food with very nice staff.
Good value for money with excellent wifi can't really say much else apart from you won't be disappointed if you decide to stop here. Very nice 8/10 overall ..................

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here with about 20 guests the night before our wedding and had a fun, relaxing evening. Our wedding was perfect from start to finish. The venue is excellent for weddings with individual rooms for the ceremony, the wedding breakfast and the evening celebrations. The beautiful grounds provide fantastic photo opportunities. The staff were incredible, polite and professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. About 30 rooms were booked for the night of the wedding and all our guests had nothing but praise to say about the venue . The rooms could do with being refurbished but the price of bed and breakfast is really reasonable. The wedding planner helps with all the arrangements prior to the wedding in such a calm manner that any bride should be confident leading up to the wedding day that all arrangements will go according to plan. I have no hesitation in recommending the Chartrdge Lodge as an ideal wedding venue.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here, along with our 80 odd guests for 2 nights. What can I say it was fantastic.

We fell in love with this place as soon as we seen it. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel has character and above all the staff are some of the best I have ever met. I have no negative or constructive comments regarding customer service, every member of staff from the management to the bar staff, all phenomenal!!

I stayed in the cottage with my best man and ushers. (the cottage is great, full of character, with four separate rooms and a private garden) while the bridal party stayed in the main hotel.

We had our wedding on the 19th July. Our ceremony in the new and updated room, which was beautiful with the doors opening up onto the grounds. They organised all the decorations through a recommended supplier and the room looked fantastic.

The Canapes and drinks reception worked perfectly as most of our guests had time to walk round and enjoy the beautiful, well kept gardens.

We choose the BBQ menu for our wedding breakfast - by the end all of us had meat sweats as the food was not only beautiful but plentiful.

Everything about this place was great, I cannot recommend it enough.

We will be back not only for more parties and private functions but also a nice stay at the weekend very soon!!!

Room Tip: The cottage is quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonirish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting and ideal for celebrations and weddings. The public rooms are very good, and the gardens, on a hot evening, lovely.
The food was adequate at the party we were at, and at breakfast, but nothing special.
The rooms, as previously stated are a bit shabby, and ours was really tiny with a ridiculously small ensuite and not overly comfortable bed. However the cost was very reasonable, so you get what you pay for really.
With refurbished rooms throughout and perhaps a re-think of some of the smaller rooms like the one we had, this could be perfect. Although we would expect the prices to go up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echokent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent the last 2 nights here on our best friends wedding.
3 amazing days, beautiful venue and grounds. The staff were always on hand to help and acted professionally throughout. We would highly recommend this venue for future weddings.
The food was exceptional.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theash87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesham
5.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartridge Lodge

Property: Chartridge Lodge
Address: Chartridge Lane, Chesham HP5 2TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chartridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Chartridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartridge Conference Centre Hotel Chesham
Chartridge Lodge Chesham, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing