We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Abba Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abba Garden Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I needed somewhere to stay where I could work in the afternoon and stay for one night. They offered a free shuttle bus to the IESE in the morning which was great and the driver offered me a free lift to the airport in the afternoon. No tea or coffee facilities in the room. The coffee from the bar was disgusting and there was one English TV channel. Breakfast was absolutely fine. I wouldn't come here for a usual business trip or a romantic weekend. However as I was on a budget for a quick overnight trip to the IESE this was ideal.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    130
    119
    44
    26
See reviews for
78
81
22
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Came with 5 friends for the Barcelona match against Deportivo and had a pleasant stay. It's close to the ground and the metro is near enough if you want to go further out. It has a pleasant bar with tv and the breakfast is more than adequate and to clear your hangover the hot-tub, steam room and sauna come in handy. Overall it's very much value for money.
Steve-Wigan

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevew1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have been here for three hours and have been profusely insulted, ignored, and then got the "I told you so" attitude from every employee I've encountered. The bar that closes at 11:30pm actually won't serve you after 11. The front desk attendant refuses to help you with ANYTHING. The bar staff is rude and annoyed. The rooms are tiny, an there is a monotonous foghorn noise that NEVER seems to stop. The photos on the website are deceiving. There is nothing around the hotel and getting to the city center from here is didficult. If you want to be treated like a decent human being, DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christyd333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Esplugues de Llobregat hotels

Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I'm currently staying in this hotel as part of Mobile World Congress in Barcelona and the only thing I can recommend is to never stay here if you are a business traveler who may need to do some work from the hotel!

On the positive side the hotel is clean, has a pretty good breakfast and the staff are helpful. The food in the bar was also pretty good on the night I ate there so that seems OK.

However, there are some major problems from a business point of view.

1. The hotel advertises FREE WIFI on its main page of the website - it is true there is wifi available in the hotel but what they dont tell you is that it is limited to MAX of 250 kb/sec download and about 0.1 kb/sec upload so unless you are doing a quick web page browse it is virtually unusable. My work VPN would not even connect as it kept timing out its so poor. The other annoying part is that you need to keep collecting username/passwords from reception as they are single use and expire every 24 hrs.

There is a 'premium' Wifi option but that is not much better and even more frustrating is that it is again a username/password combination which can only be used on one device at a time. Not really much use in these days where you may have a laptop, phone, tablet - you'll need to purchase 3 Wifi connections per day at €9 per connection.

2. The room comes with a desk and chair so you would think, great I can work from here but guess what, even though there is phone socket on the desk there is no phone and the phone that is in the room is on the bedside shelf and doesnt work when plugged in by the desk. I rang reception to confirm and they seemed surprised that you would want a phone on the desk! So the options are either work at the desk and shout across the room to the phone or go to the phone and sit on the edge of the bed (BTW there is no power point by the bed so got to hope you dont need power by the phone!)

Considering they are charging almost €200 per night (inflated because of Mobile World Congress) the place has got pretty dreadful business facilities.

Some of the other reviews have mentioned the location and it is true its a good bit outside the city center and is at the top of a hill and a 10-15 min walk from the nearest metro but not a lot the hotel can do to fix that so I wouldnt fault them too much for those issues but they certainly can fix the internal facilities they provide within the hotel.

Overall if you are on a personal vacation and want a place a little outside the city maybe on a good rate its not a bad choice but if you want to try do some work here forget it and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D&LCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElisendaMolina, Gerente at Abba Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear D&LCork,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review of your stay at abba Garden Hotel, we really appreciate it as it helps us achieve our aim to improve everyday.
Regarding the quality of our wifi, we will consider your comments and we will inform the company provider of the service, this is the first time we acknowledge that the premium service is not effective. It is possible that the hugh amount of people using the service during the Mobile Congress has affected the service.
In reference to not having a phone on the desk, is a suggestion that will be considered for the future since the desk was originally designed to work only with the computer.
Thank you again for your comments.
abba Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

I have not long returned from the hotel after weekend break to watch the football with my 8 year old son. I had to admit that I was a bit concerned prior to going having read some of the reviews, however I need not have been worried at all.

The staff were all extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Jon in particular was brilliant, so much so that I tipped him personally at the end of our stay, and being tight have never tipped anyone before so it says something!

Yes it is away from the centre, however that is part of the appeal as it makes it quieter, and with the transport system it is easily accessible and cheap to get there. It is all part of the experience of being abroad and didn't make the weekend less enjoyable, in fact made it more exciting.

It is up a hill, but when on a break we just leave 10 minutes extra and with the warm weather took a leisurely stroll. I had an 8 year old with me and we did it a few times and he didn't complain once, just chatted away. Probably not great for elderly residents but for us it wasn't an issue.

I've read about 40 minute walks to find places to eat/supermarkets, however we turned right at bottom of hill, walked about 15 minutes to local town and found two really nice restaurants, a couple of large supermarkets, numerous small traditional bars, and even a small convenience shop run by lovely Indian guy which was open Sunday morning when everywhere else was closed.

We didn't use the pool as not heated, and it was January, however spent a few hours in the garden relaxing in the sun, then time in the Jacuzzi, which was empty of other guests.

The rooms were, large, clean, with a good range of TV channels to keep my lad happy, the mini bar was expensive, but then aren't they all.

All in all a lovely hotel, I would definitely return. Perfect for a visit for the football, just don't expect things to be right on the doorstep.



  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The hotel was clean and well presented, it was just a bit too far from the centre and an uphill walk back from the underground station. Would be perfect if it was closer to the city centre. However, staying away from the city centre kept the cost down and the price of underground travel in Barcelona is relatively cheap compared to London! If you don't mind a bit of walking and travelling then it is fine!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

On a business trip I stayed three nights in this hotel. For me it was conveniently located as I had business meeting within 10 minutes walking. I also found it perfectly located for the evening running round on the hill top just behind the hotel.
The room (actually the entire hotel) was extremely clean, infrastructure (bed, chairs, bath room) is pretty modern. However I found it strange that there was no flat screen TV, but still an old fashioned small screen TV. I also struggled with the Internet connection in the room; with the laptop I could not connect at all, with the tablet it went better. In the lobby area the signals are better.
The restaurant/bar is relatively basic and I found the service to be slow. Breakfast buffet was very good, big choice.
If your main reason to be in Barcelona is not about visiting and sight-seeing the centre, then the hotel is ok. Otherwise you might better choose another, similarly priced, hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esplugues de Llobregat
El Raval
Abba Rambla Hotel
Abba Rambla Hotel
#290 of 521 in Barcelona
385 reviews
Abba Sants Hotel
#318 of 521 in Barcelona
546 reviews
Hotel Balmoral
#194 of 521 in Barcelona
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
#283 of 521 in Barcelona
1,303 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
3,606 reviews
NH Porta Barcelona
#2 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Garden Hotel

Property: Abba Garden Hotel
Address: C/ Santa Rosa 33-37, 08950 Esplugues de Llobregat, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Esplugues de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esplugues de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated on the northern edge of the city of Barcelona, near Avinguda Diagonal and Barcelona FC's famous stadium, Camp Nou. It is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break in tranquil and pretty surroundings. Stroll around the gardens of the Abba Garden Hotel, where you can lie back and soak up the sun during the day, and admire the sunsets in the evening. There is also an outdoor swimming pool, where you can enjoy a relaxing swim. Get more active in the hotels gym and then unwind in the on-site spa equipped with sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath. There is also a racquetball court, so you can play a quick game. Wi-Fi internet access is available throughout the hotel, so you can connect to the internet at any time, check your emails or simply surf the web. Grab a bite to eat in the snack bar in the evening - complete with terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abba Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Garden Barcelona
Hotel Abba Garden
Abba Garden Hotel Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing