We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Interesting Location”
Review of Abba Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abba Garden Hotel
Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value, Interesting Location”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The rate we paid was on par with my expectations. The room still had a CRT TV (which I did not use), the bed was a bit hard but I've found that tobe the norm in Europe, the AC had not yet been converted from heating only (it was the first week of April).
The staff was very friendly, responsive and the breakfast was varied enough that we stuck to it the entire week.
There are some hiking trails in the hills behind the hotel which afford a beautiful view of Barcelona all the way to the ocean. You can even hear the fans in the Stadium where Barcelona FC plays. You can also walk to the University of Barcleona but most all restaurants, convention center and downtown require cab rides which for the most part were reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the hospital and towards the hills. You can sleep with the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    139
    123
    48
    26
See reviews for
85
89
23
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of a large group (along with the previous reviewer, Marietta Traveler). Our experience was slightly more positive than theirs. Our room was large and had the expected furnishings (king bed, built-in night stands, a small table and leisure chair, a desk with an office chair, television and refrigerator/mini-bar). Our room was clean and had a private balcony overlooking the pool and hillside behind the hotel. The bathtub/shower was a bit small for larger people but was functional. The built-in liquid soap dispenser is installed in an awkward spot and my husband scratched his shoulder on it. The water pressure was not great. Some of our friends had problems with their shower and I suspect the hotel is overdue for some maintenance upgrades. That being said, they processed our check-in/check-out very efficiently. When some family unexpected joined us late, the hotel staff went above and beyond to find a room for them to stay in. We noticed a number of other large buses loading and unloading during our four-night stay so I think this is a popular hotel for large groups. Unfortunately the two tiny elevators, one of which was not working when we arrived, made getting to our rooms a bit of a chore. Luckily it was working again by day 2.

We did have problems with Wi-fi being unreliable but I later learned they gave all of us the same code... that doesn't work well for 100 people with multiple devices. In the middle of the night when everyone else was sleeping, I was able to connect and check email.

The location of this hotel is a bit off the beaten path. A cab ride to central Barcelona was about $12eu. The metro is accessible via a 15-min downhill walk (meaning a 15-min uphill walk upon return).

When I return to Barcelona I will likely look for something a little more convenient but if you're looking for a value option, this is a solid choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had stay in Abba in Burgos which was great and was expecting the same here. Not so much... We checked in to find our room was dirty and missing furniture! Moved furniture in the hall and headed down to get a different room. Staff was actually irritated about my request to change. Finally got replacement room, move my luggage my luggage up one floor only to find the room occupied!!! Now I head back to front desk to get my third room. Had to ask they handle luggage this time since it was moving two floors down.
Room was marginal at best... dirty carpets, noisy sink drains, overall old furnishings. Free wifi was a joke as it rarely worked in the room. Hotel bar would not give you a wine glass for your wine if wanted to sit and enjoy in the lobby...only in paper coffee cups...really??? Would never recommend nor return to this hotel. Everyone in our large group had a variety ofissues with the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: There isn't a good room..find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariettaTravelers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pere C, Manager at Abba Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for your review, we are working to improve rooms furnitures, about the bar service we like to inform is not usual to get your own drinks from outside the hotel and drink it on the bar ( bar is a bussines) we offer a paper glass to drink it on the lobby or in your room, but of course not in the bar.
Thanks again fot oyur review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Esplugues de Llobregat hotels

Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel was clean, breakfest was sufficient and the staff was helpful. I came to Barcelona for a conference. The hotel is located quite near to the Catalonian Conference Center. You go downhills to the conference and uphill back to the hotel. The nearest metro stop is near the Conference Center.It is close enough and gets you to the railway station and the main street. There are no shops or kiosks nearby, so if you want to buy snacks you have to bring them with you from the city.

Room Tip: The upper floor, street side, windows will give you a view to the city and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pere C, Manager at Abba Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear costumer,

Many thank for your review, we are happy to satisfy your expectations, for the next time we like to inform, we have shuttle service, from the hotel to conference center and metro station from monday to friday, you can book it at reception.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Rooms were clean and fully functional but old. Beds were ok and there wasn't any disturbing street noise at night (none at day either what I can think of). Breakfast was chaotic, you had to wait 15-20 minutes to get in to the breakfast area (too many guests). The food itself was ok.

Staff was ok, except the bartender who clearly didn't want to serve anything else than beer and coffee.

The number one problem with this hotel is it's location. Located on a hill quite far away from the Metro station, the walk home wasn't that much fun. And there aren't any restaurants nearby so you need to take the Metro downtown if you're hungry and want something more exotic than dining at the hotel.

All in all, this hotel is ok. Rooms were _clean_ and we _did sleep well_ at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evililonneberga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Not sure how this place is still in business. I speak spanish and even then I got the worst service Ive experienced in a long time! Breakfast quality is bad, beds are old, and your going to be far from everything thats good in Barcelona. Find something more central for the same or better price.

Helpful?
1 Thank mgarcia34
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pere C, Manager at Abba Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest.
Thanks for your review, We regret not having met expectations you were waiting, we are working on improving and we thank you sincerely, we hope that the next time your expectations are met.
Thanks again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esplugues de Llobregat
El Raval
Abba Rambla Hotel
Abba Rambla Hotel
#279 of 514 in Barcelona
396 reviews
Les Corts
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
#278 of 514 in Barcelona
1,347 reviews
Abba Sants Hotel
#316 of 514 in Barcelona
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 514 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#127 of 514 in Barcelona
719 reviews
NH Porta Barcelona
#1 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abba Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Garden Hotel

Property: Abba Garden Hotel
Address: C/ Santa Rosa 33-37, 08950 Esplugues de Llobregat, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Esplugues de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esplugues de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated on the northern edge of the city of Barcelona, near Avinguda Diagonal and Barcelona FC's famous stadium, Camp Nou. It is the perfect place to spend a relaxing break in tranquil and pretty surroundings. Stroll around the gardens of the Abba Garden Hotel, where you can lie back and soak up the sun during the day, and admire the sunsets in the evening. There is also an outdoor swimming pool, where you can enjoy a relaxing swim. Get more active in the hotels gym and then unwind in the on-site spa equipped with sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath. There is also a racquetball court, so you can play a quick game. Wi-Fi internet access is available throughout the hotel, so you can connect to the internet at any time, check your emails or simply surf the web. Grab a bite to eat in the snack bar in the evening - complete with terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Abba Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Garden Barcelona
Hotel Abba Garden
Abba Garden Hotel Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing