We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget, Basic Alternative”
Review of Esplugues Hotel

Esplugues Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplugues Hotel
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Budget, Basic Alternative”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is a good budget alternative. Depending on the rate you get, €20-50 per night is very good value for money. It is not old and can be compared to the Ibis standard. So when you are looking for something more simple where you can sleep, change and shower this hotel is a good choice. For the rate and compare to a hostel you get your own bathroom and shower. So if you’re on a budget and prefer a bit more private a hotel on this level is to go for.

You get what you pay for so think about a few things you have to accept. Most of the time its very quite. But unfortunately the doors and walls aren't the best so bring earplugs if your sensitive. Don't expect to get a good morning sleep. Staff can be very noisy and load 8am on a Saturday morning (so was the case during my stay) when cleaning or preparing other rooms. This is something that the owner and staff can easily improve on by thinking of how load and disturbing it can be for the guests. Again I put my earplugs in and think about how much money I save and get into a good mood and falls to sleep pretty quickly.

When it comes to location you need to be aware. Again comparing costs with hostels and hotels in Barcelona you pay so much more when you stay central. You have to look at your priorities. A 30-40 minute commute for your own shower (privacy) might be a good choice.

The TRAM T3 stops not far away from the area (5 min walk) and there is a night bus you can take who stops on the other side of the highway (B23) You can easily get a T10 ticket at the tram stations automatic service. T3 takes you south to Sant Feliu De Llabregat or into Barcelona and the roundabout Plaça de Francesc Macià where you can change to the a bus who takes you central or where you’re going.

It is perfect if you spend your time in the south west of Barcelona. (Esplugues De Llobregat area) The reason why I stayed here was that I spent time with my friends who lives in the area. Its close to B23 who connects to Av. Diagonal.

Friendly and helpful staff. Reception have staff 24/7. Option for breakfast for only about €7-8. Very clean and with proper towels. Remember you get what you pay for. But a room at this hotel for only €20-50 for a single room per night is a great deal. (Review written October 2013)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
11
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antequera
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I arrived at the hotel by taxi just after midnight to a very friendly welcome from the night receptionist. After check in he spontaneously volunteered to look up directions and then confirmed the address of the company with which I had an appointment later that morning and gave me the bus route information. In the event I took a taxi to save time but his help was appreciated.
The Esplugues Hotel has laminate flooring throughout which gives it a very clean, neat and orderly appearance. And indeed it is. The bedroom was fairly basic but certainly adequately sized with a writing table, bedside cabinet, built in wardrobe, telephone, wall mounted flat screen TV and air conditioning. A nice touch was a small basket of sweets on the table. The bathroom could best be described as spick and span with a good sized proper bath and a very effective powerful shower, much appreciated after a long journey. There was also a huge balcony overlooking the street but I didn't discover that until daylight.
The hotel has a small bar beside reception, and in the same area a decent buffet breakfast is available, offering a good selection of cereals, breads, croissants, muffins and fruit etc.
There was negligible traffic noise as the hotel is on a quite side street.
Overall this hotel is certainly good value for money.

Room Tip: If arriving at El Prat a taxi from the airport costs in the region of 25 euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERTinSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The staff where very friendly and helpful and this was excellent. On the downside the room was too small however it did serve it purpose. There was little or no noise from the street or in the hotel. A bonus of free wi-fi. Air conditioning was effective. Large bathroom, strong water pressure, there is everything you need.
Very large garage (I had a big car). Excellent for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and my parents.

This hotel is much better than people have suggested!

It is very basic... but so is the price! You don't pay for a 4* hotel and you don't get one!

What you do get:

Super clean bedrooms.
Close enough to restaurants and bars - good food - lots of local atmosphere. And not as expensive as Barcelona centre.
The staff on duty were always friendly and helpful - they pointed us in the direction of the bus to the city centre/the metro, explained how to buy tickets, suggested places to eat, drew us maps - brilliant service.
There is a bus stop about five minutes walk away - the staff told us how to get there. A couple of euros each for an hours worth of travel anywhere in the city using the trams/metro/buses.


Hairdryers are available from the reception. We didn't opt for breakfast as it seemed very overpriced for what it was - there are plenty of bakeries/cafes/patisseries near by to get something.

If you want to explore Barcelona... and you need a cheap but comfy place and you're brave enough to ask for directions then do stay at Hotel Esplugues.

I should probably mention that we did get stuck in the lift - but a very sweet old man on reception came to our rescue... there were four of us in the lift....after a very hearty delicious meal in a nearby restaurant.... oh and we had a lot of ice cream from the nearby ice cream palour!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LILLY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I stayed in Esplugues while attending a conference in fira gran, Chose it for the price. nice clean hotel and comfy room.

Tram station La sandra 15 min walk away connecting to metro and the city centre.Too many interchanges and at least 40 min journey time oneway.

Taxi difficult to get and expensive.

Staff friendly, limited English speaking skills.

No wifi. they offer it but it doesn't connect. some network issues.

For holiday maker many similar value hotels available in the city and this wouldn't be an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esplugues de Llobregat
0.2 mi away
NH Porta Barcelona
NH Porta Barcelona
#1 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
469 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Cornella
Ibis Barcelona Cornella
#1 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Sant Joan
Hesperia Sant Joan
#203 of 514 in Barcelona
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi
0.2 mi away
NH Barcelona Sant Just
NH Barcelona Sant Just
#2 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
534 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abba Garden Hotel
Abba Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Esplugues de Llobregat
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplugues Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplugues Hotel

Property: Esplugues Hotel
Address: Ignasi Iglesias, 83, 08950 Esplugues de Llobregat, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Esplugues de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esplugues de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Esplugues Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Esplugues Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplugues Hotel Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing