We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centre Esplai Hostel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Definitely not a hotel! The hotel was difficult to find and located in what appeared at night to be an unsafe area. One linen towel provided and no bar soap. There was an odor that I absolutely hated..smelled to me of vomit and I felt as though I was staying in an institution or dorm. While the staff was nice and it is pretty close to the airport, you won't catch me here ever again. If you do come, don't take the taxi from the airport..what a ripoff..30 euros!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shakira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    83
    85
    42
    48
See reviews for
75
67
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I wish we had not booked here. It felt like a prison, was too unsafe to leave the premises, and you are basically locked in at the rear gate after gaining parking admission. It is impossible to find an entrance into the building from the back lot, and you also then cannot get out either. The food line when the cafeteria is opened at 8 pm, is there to service the residents who actually live there as part of services for a mental facility for handicapped persons and their attendants. How could one have known this? Not a nice experience, even if it was free. As remote as could be from the airport

Room Tip: Pick a more suitable, real hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Underpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Prat de Llobregat hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have spent one night at Centre Esplai hostel. The good part is, first of all, the very nice staff at the reception (the lady's name is Cristina, like mine :-)), they were vey kind and the check-in was done in a few minutes. Also the premises are large and the room was very clean, with linen, towel and liquid soap available. Wifi with a good speed for free anywhere in the hostel (including the rooms!). However, the cons are the distance from Barcelona (take the bus 165 otherwise it will take ages to get to Plaza Espanya - and you must take another bus (nr. 9) from there to Catalunya Square) and the unbelieveable noise all through the night made by frogs and crickets - I barely could sleep - mixed with mosquitoes in the room and a bunch of italians speaking loudly in a room's balcony nearby. So, I recommend the place if you need to be close to the airport for an early flight, if not, try to stay in Barcelona or in somewhere less noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the the green area may be noisy, due to frogs and crickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaCris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very nice crew at this budget hotel. The price is very attractive and here you have everything you need near the airport. They don't offer transfer but you can go by taxi and probably also by bus to the airport. There is also a cheap restaurant available for a good buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tretjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was where we stayed on contiki for two nights. I thought this was a really nice hostel. The rooms were nice (two bunk beds) and a balcony and a real decent sized bathroom, free wifi and there was a cool grand stand room where u could watch tv ( the Spain vs France football game was on, June 2012)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

missed my flight and had to get to Centre Esplai to spend the night... i've read 'bout bugs, dirtyness and noise but i only found a HUGE staff (always ready to help me with any kind of questions) and peace (nobody bothered me more than 3 minutes : when some "kids" were making noise (and teachers didnt do anything with them), i only had to come downstairs to and the recepcionist calm them down).
For the taxi, i just phoned from the airport and they told me what to do:
if its between 6 am and 10 pm, you should take pr1 bus and stop at the police station
if its between 10 pm and 6 am, yo should take n17 bus and stop at the police station
if you need a taxi, you should call a special company at the 0034 93 1131006 and it will cost you 15 euros.
As for the towels, on my booking confirmation i was told to have no towels at all, so i decided to bring my own stuff.
In other words: we LOVED that place and one week later we went again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jelenhita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Had to spend a night on a transfer from Barcelona el prat and found this hostel which is suppose to be close to the airport, which technically is, but watch out, taxis charge you a minimum fare of 20€ to get from airport to there and than another 15€ back to airport. Bottom line, don't know how convenient is if you add up 35€ on your bill... Next transfer I would choose a hotel in the airport, less travel and same money at the end. Room were clean and was ok, big bathroom and for a hostel was well kept.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Prat de Llobregat
0.5 mi away
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
#3 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
2,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alfa Aeropuerto
0.8 mi away
Tryp Barcelona Aeropuerto Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Aeropuerto Hotel
#2 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
#1 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
1,174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Air Rooms Barcelona Airport by Premium Traveller
Air Rooms Barcelona Airport by P...
#4 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Cornella
Ibis Barcelona Cornella
#2 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre Esplai Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre Esplai Hostel

Property: Centre Esplai Hostel
Address: 08820 | Riu Anoia, 42-54, 08820 El Prat de Llobregat, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > El Prat de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in El Prat de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Centre Esplai Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 km from Barcelona's El Prat Airport, guests at Centre Esplai Albergue can reach the city centre in 40 minutes by bus and Metro. This hostel features an indoor swimming pool and accommodation with balconies.Set in a striking, colourful building, Centre Esplai Albergue has modern decor. Each air-conditioned room and dorm has Wi-Fi, and overlooks the hostel's grounds. There are either shared or private bathroom facilities.Guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast in the Centre Esplai's restaurant, which is open for lunch and dinner. There is also a lounge area.The Centre Esplai's 24-hour reception can arrange bicycle hire and guided tours of Barcelona and the Llobregat Delta. Garraf Natural Park is less than 20 km from the hostel, while the beaches around Castelldefels can be reached in 15 minutes by car.Hotel Rooms: 74 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Centre Esplai Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre Esplai Hostel Province Of Barcelona/El Prat De Llobregat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing