We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little out of the way, but good value for money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sant Joan Despi
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A little out of the way, but good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel is some way from the centre of Barcelona and from the airport, but there is a tram to city centre (about 40 mins) and bus to the airport (40 mins ) and each only costs around 2 euros.
Hotel is clean and very comfortable with good restaurant and bars and despite being close to the freeway, the room was quiet. Reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Overall, a good experience and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3289_fo, Front Office Manager at Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your comment about your staff and hotel. We are glad you had a good stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    413
    158
    41
    18
See reviews for
432
145
32
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights (Mon-Thurs) having booked the night before as a last minute trip. Room cost an average of €50/night so I was a little worried what I'd get for such value, but I shouldn't have.

Firstly it was very easy to get to (L77 bus from the airport for or tram stop Hospital Sant Joan Despi / TV3) and both only cost €2 so very cheap to get in and out of the city.

The foyer was tidy, well lit and inviting, and my room was spacious, clean, comfortable and had everything clearly laid out. The staff spoke very good English, were helpful, charming and gave me help with everything from forgetting an EU adaptor to directions for the tram and the best places to eat and drink in the city.

The hotel was everything I wanted and if I come back to Barcelona again I'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3289_fo, Front Office Manager at Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are glad you had a good stay in our hotel and we will transfer your comment to your staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormiston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

As a family we stayed at this hotel, last May. Its not very central but the buses are pretty easy to jump on and off. Rooms clean, hotel staff friendly. Breakfast was good, but wasn't included in our price. Games for kids and the pool outside too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaAppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3289_fo, Director de Recepción at Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We thank you for your commentary. We are glad you had a good time in our hotel, and we hope to see you soon in Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hote is located in a quiet area. Far from Barceona Downtown. Rooms are very big and clean. Hotel staff is friendly. Breakfast was very good. Two blocks away from al you can eat Chinese restaurant with lots of food. Mero station is close by and you can go to downtown in less than 20 minutes. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is definitely not the best Novotel that I've stayed.
I should say that Novotel Sant Joan Despi is more of an Ibis kind of hotel - cheap furniture, very basic bathroom, old and far from "snow white" towels. Wi-fi at our room didn't work at all, but the reception staff said only: "Yes, we have such problem in some rooms". Well, we paid for the room with wi-fi... hmmm...
Breakfast was OK, with a good choice of hot and cold meals.
When travelling next time via El Prat Barcelona I doubt that we choose this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KoYany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Novotel Sant Joan Despi is a great hotel. As per all Novotels, the setup is similar which is a good thing. Rooms are decent as expected, a nice pool which works for all age groups and a great restaurant which had a breakfast better than other Novotels I have visited.

The location is not central but by no means inconvenient. If you have a car, there is a private car park which costs but to be honest, there is plenty of free parking on the road outside the hotel and the area is safe so you won't mind parking there either.

There isn't much going on locally but getting into Barcelona is simple. A 5min walk to the tram stop which with one change onto the Metro system will have you in Las Ramblas within 30mins.

My main issue was the wifi internet and that's what stops me giving this 5 stars. At no point did we get any decent internet at this hotel. Sometimes the connection would randomly drop and other times when it did connect, it was very slow. At first I thought it was the room, but I had the same issue in the lobby and also heard other guests complain about it. I know its free but if a service is included, it should be of a standard that allows you to use it properly.

Apart from that one concern, a great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisGuyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3289_fo, Director de Recepción at Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your comment. We transfer your message to our maintenance staff. We take your advice very seriously to improve every day our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I just got back from a lovely week at this hotel, with my family. The service was very good, as was the breakfast. It takes about 40 minutes to get in to the city centre via tram and metro. Also the L77 bus gets you to and from the airport for 2 euro each. We had a problem with our air con in the room which was fixed within half an hour. The maintenance guy is awesome and all the staff are very efficient. The petrol station right next door is a mini market which sells beer and wine and the supermarket oppsite the tram stop is really reasonably priced. We ate out in the local area most nights, which was ok if you're not bothered about top cuisine. The area is very quiet but has nice parks and is nice for walking or jogging around. The only drawbacks we found were very minor. The pool is small and only open from 10am and there's no gym. We had a great time, thanks to all the staff.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Adz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h3289_fo, Director de Recepción at Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you soon in Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Joan Despi
Novotel Barcelona Cornella
#3 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#195 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#157 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Porta Barcelona
#2 of 3 in Sant Just Desvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Sercotel Barcelona Gate Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sant Joan Despi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi

Property: Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi
Address: Carrer de la TV3, 2, 08970 Sant Joan Despi, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Joan Despi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sant Joan Despi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 161 airconditioned and soundproofed rooms. Located next to the AP2 B23 motorway, 3 km outside of Barcelona and the Avenida Diagonal, it is easily accessible on the T3 tram line (at Sant Marti de l Erm) and on bus routes 78 and 157 as well being just 15 km from the airport. The hotel features the Claravia restaurant, a bar, meeting rooms, play area for children, outdoor swimming pool, a terrace area, private parking and WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi Hotel Sant Joan Despi
Novotel Sant Joan Despi
Sant Joan Despi Novotel
Novotel Barcelona Sant Joan Despi Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing