We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas Pau

Mas Pau
Ranked #50 of 96 Restaurants in Olot
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Waitstaff
Vaucluse
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Very good dinner, I do not understand that people are complaining! Very good price/quality and yes it is not what you eat every day at home but that is why you go to a restaurant! Hotel is good and the service is very pleasant! More an old style hotel with friendly people! which is rare to find these days!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simone_wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We expected more from Chefs with such an illustrious mentor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in the Hotel and ate at the restaurant for 5 days in September 2012. We'd heard about elBulli and were curious to see what the fuss was about, so since elBulli had closed and I doubt anyone but the Prime Minister could get in anyway when it was open, we tried the next best thing (at least we thought).
The setting is in the countryside outside Figueres, the establishment has lovely grounds but there is a definate "rough suburban" feel to the surrounding housing estates. The restaurant itself is quaint in a country way, but far from sophisticated. The service and waiting staff were quiet, friendly and efficient. The food was in my opinion: more show than go. The bread tasted stale (but might just have been a bit dry), the food was very well presented and the flavours and textures followed the trend to deconstruct the ingredients and re-propose them in a different (often more fancy but not as tasty) form; but, as is often the case, when spending so much time focusing on one aspect of the preparation of food, the point was missed that you need to feed people, so after 3 courses we were left feeling as though we'd seen great art but needed a pizza to feel full. We'd recommend this restaurant as it's a lovely and novel dining experience and at a reasonable price (just bring a sandwich).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had the Primavera Menu, which consisted of a variety of small portions, some of which were not bad at all. However, that's not what one wants to write about a menu that costs 70€. We were met by a very cold host who showed us to our table without a smile or slightest sign of warmth. Perhaps he was having a bad day, or perhaps the drearyness of the imposing, fake posh surroundings were getting to him. There was a cathedral-size candlestand on our table, for what purpose I cannot imagine, and the stone walls of the place were crowded with old paintings, most of which looked as if they had been bought at auction. One portrait (about 4' by 3') of a 19th century, black-garbed dowager, hung particularly ominously well above eye level. There was a fist-size hole in the canvas, so one might assume it had been assaulted before hanging. In any case, I would like to nominate it as a candidate for the bonfires of Saint John later this month.
The menu started with a 'bonbon' filled with codfish cream, a passable little glass of leek and codfish soup, and (get this!) a piece of hard, fried codfish skin. Yeah, that was the beginning. Truly, it got better after that, but never reached recommendable status. Let me point out that our waiter was a darling man with a sense of humour. Frankly, he was the best the place had to offer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saraibcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

My wife and I and a friend spent 2 nights at Mas Pau as a stopover on our way to sw france after flying in to Barcelona. We couldn't have picked a better spot. Service was wonderful and dining on the terrace on a beautiful Catalan night was magical- the food was exceptional and the cheese tray was as good as it can get with at least 2 dozen selections. The menu and wine list were both reasonably priced. The pool was an oasis of tranquility. We'd recommend it highly.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joezwestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mas Pau also viewed

Olot, Province of Girona
 
Olot, Province of Girona
Olot, Province of Girona
 

Been to Mas Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing