We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad food but place is very romantique”
Review of Mas Pau - CLOSED

Mas Pau
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very bad food but place is very romantique”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't like food at all but atmosthere and service are very good, the most disquasting is a gaspacco in the white chocolate

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Visit the Mas Pau restaurant last week with friends and I really don't understand some of the reviews. The authentic atmosphere was just perfect and Toni and his team did an amazing job. We really enjoyed the Summer tasting menu of 10 courses. If you love "cheese" you have to ask if they can add the cheese before dessert, it's not cheap (22 euro per person) but it's really good and the variety is enormous! Overall we had a wonderful evening

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nice dinner”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Very good dinner, I do not understand that people are complaining! Very good price/quality and yes it is not what you eat every day at home but that is why you go to a restaurant! Hotel is good and the service is very pleasant! More an old style hotel with friendly people! which is rare to find these days!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simone_wim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We expected more from Chefs with such an illustrious mentor”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in the Hotel and ate at the restaurant for 5 days in September 2012. We'd heard about elBulli and were curious to see what the fuss was about, so since elBulli had closed and I doubt anyone but the Prime Minister could get in anyway when it was open, we tried the next best thing (at least we thought).
The setting is in the countryside outside Figueres, the establishment has lovely grounds but there is a definate "rough suburban" feel to the surrounding housing estates. The restaurant itself is quaint in a country way, but far from sophisticated. The service and waiting staff were quiet, friendly and efficient. The food was in my opinion: more show than go. The bread tasted stale (but might just have been a bit dry), the food was very well presented and the flavours and textures followed the trend to deconstruct the ingredients and re-propose them in a different (often more fancy but not as tasty) form; but, as is often the case, when spending so much time focusing on one aspect of the preparation of food, the point was missed that you need to feed people, so after 3 courses we were left feeling as though we'd seen great art but needed a pizza to feel full. We'd recommend this restaurant as it's a lovely and novel dining experience and at a reasonable price (just bring a sandwich).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had the Primavera Menu, which consisted of a variety of small portions, some of which were not bad at all. However, that's not what one wants to write about a menu that costs 70€. We were met by a very cold host who showed us to our table without a smile or slightest sign of warmth. Perhaps he was having a bad day, or perhaps the drearyness of the imposing, fake posh surroundings were getting to him. There was a cathedral-size candlestand on our table, for what purpose I cannot imagine, and the stone walls of the place were crowded with old paintings, most of which looked as if they had been bought at auction. One portrait (about 4' by 3') of a 19th century, black-garbed dowager, hung particularly ominously well above eye level. There was a fist-size hole in the canvas, so one might assume it had been assaulted before hanging. In any case, I would like to nominate it as a candidate for the bonfires of Saint John later this month.
The menu started with a 'bonbon' filled with codfish cream, a passable little glass of leek and codfish soup, and (get this!) a piece of hard, fried codfish skin. Yeah, that was the beginning. Truly, it got better after that, but never reached recommendable status. Let me point out that our waiter was a darling man with a sense of humour. Frankly, he was the best the place had to offer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saraibcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mas Pau also viewed

Olot, Province of Girona
 
Olot, Province of Girona
Olot, Province of Girona
 
Olot, Province of Girona
Olot, Province of Girona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing